×
Country : Argentina / United Kingdom Label : Wonderwheel Genres and styles : Digital Cumbia / Downtempo Year : 2020
Chancha Via Circuito & El Búho

Pleamar

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Argentina’s Pedro Canale is Chancha Via Circuito, a decorated veteran of the digital cumbia revival, and El Búho (“The Owl”) is Rodney Perkins, a British-born peregrine (apologies for the ornithological reclassification) and, with Agustín Rivaldo, partner in the Shika Shika label. This EP on the worthwhile Wonderwheel imprint finds the two prominent producers of savvy tropical grooves embarked on four interesting excursions. 

“Oruga” and “Murga del Viento” are a couple of creaky, cryptic cumbia crawlers, shuffling across the floorboards of a haunted riverboat adrift down some tributary of the Amazon that God has surely forsaken. One imagines Werner Herzog and Gabriel Garcia Marquèz in the corner, playing cards with la Llorona herself. On a lighter note, the enchanting “El Mago Georges” moves like a nimble monkey through the sun-dappled rainforest canopy.

The final track, “Una Pulgada de Silencio”, places the earnest vocals of Argentine folk singer Gus Goncalves over a dragging, dub-soaked trip-hop beat and synths a bit similar to Andean pan flutes. Nice enough, but not quite in keeping with the truly evocative preceding tracks.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Argentine / Royaume-Uni Label : Wonderwheel Genres et styles : cumbia électro / downtempo Année : 2020
Chancha Via Circuito & El Búho

Pleamar

· par Rupert Bottenberg

L’Argentin Pedro Canale est Chancha Via Circuito, un vétéran décoré du renouveau de la cumbia numérique, et Rodney Perkins est El Búho (« Le Hibou »), un pélerin d’origine britannique (mes excuses pour la reclassification ornithologique) et, avec Agustín Rivaldo, partenaire du label Shika Shika. Sur ce mini-album paru sous la précieuse étiquette Wonderwheel, on retrouve les deux éminents producteurs de grooves tropicaux lancés dans quatre excursions intéressantes.

Oruga et Murga del Viento sont deux cumbias grinçantes et mystérieuses qui traînent sur le pont d’un bateau hanté à la dérive sur un affluent de l’Amazone que Dieu semble avoir abandonné. Dans un coin, on imagine Werner Herzog et Gabriel Garcia Marquèz jouant aux cartes avec la Llorona elle-même. Sur une note plus légère, le grisant El Mago Georges se déplace comme un singe agile à travers la canopée de la forêt tropicale ensoleillée.

La dernière pièce, Una Pulgada de Silencio, place la voix chaude du chanteur folk argentin Gus Goncalves sur un rythme trip-hop traînant, imprégné de dub et de synthés évoquant les flûtes andines. C’est assez joli, mais pas tout à fait en phase avec les morceaux précédents qui sont vraiment évocateurs.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre