×
Country : United States Label : independent Genres and styles : Garage Rock / Krautrock / Pop / Psychedelia Year : 2020
Dummy

Dummy (EP)

· by Rupert Bottenberg

There’s nothing stupid about the music of Los Angeles quintet Dummy, though it might leave a listener a little stupefied. The band makes no bones about what they’re building, splitting the difference between the sweet, steady analog pulse of Cluster and Harmonia, and The Velvet Underground’s warm, welcoming wall of jangling guitars. 

It’s a formula that’s familiar enough. In fact, “Slacker Mask” could pass for a Stereolab outtake, at least until it erupts into a squall of distortion in its final lap. The extended closing track “Touch the Chimes”, meanwhile, is unadulterated kosmische content.

Thing is, Dummy wasn’t born out of a gritty basement bar in West Berlin, nor some bat-cave of a loft in New York City. These are coastal California kids, and the longstanding local tradition of hazy, sun-dappled psych-pop carries through into these pieces, imbuing them with charm and colour uncommon among the efforts of their contemporaries.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Autoproduction Genres et styles : garage-rock / krautrock / pop / psychédélique Année : 2020
Dummy

Dummy (EP)

· par Rupert Bottenberg

La musique du quintette Dummy de Los Angeles n’a rien de stupide, même si elle peut laisser l’auditeur dans un état de stupéfaction. Le groupe ne s’en cache pas, la musique qu’il fait tient autant de l’univers de Cluster et Harmonia, avec ses douces pulsations analogiques, que de celui du Velvet Underground avec son mur de guitares ardentes.

La formule est assez familière. Slacker Mask pourrait même passer pour une pièce inédite de Stereolab, du moins jusqu’à ce qu’elle éclate en distorsion vers la fin. La longue dernière pièce Touch the Chimes quant à elle est de la kosmische musik la plus pure.

Dummy n’a pourtant pas vu le jour dans un bar souterrain de Berlin-Ouest, ni dans quelque sombre loft de New York, ses membres viennent de la côte californienne. Aussi la longue tradition locale de pop psychédélique brumeuse et ensoleillée se retrouve-t-elle dans ces pièces, ce qui leur donne un charme et une couleur à nulle autre pareille.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre