×
Country : France Label : aufnahme + wiedergabe Genres and styles : Experimental / Industrial Year : 2020
Black Egg

Supreme Offering

· by Geneviève Gendreau

“In a time where rigour is just an economic concept, we affirm our desire, without concession, persistently, in the words of Coil, and obstinacy.” This group’s Little Manifesto does not go down without a fight. Pretending to the throne of Coil, a legendary group if ever there was one, is no small matter. You can feel their attraction to Coil’s “lunar music”, which characterized the band’s final period. Magick, a pillar of the esoteric doctrine developed by Aleister Crowley, is also a common reference. It fuses occultism, expression of desire, and discipline. Black Egg, guided by a thirst for the absolute and the perfect, perpetuates untimely traditions.

The solo project created in 2012 by the Frenchman USHERsan has become a collaborative grouping with multiple heads, some changing and others constant. The group shapes an exploratory and transformative aesthetic, wishing to transfigure life rather than stage it. In this way, it reappropriates the notion of rigour. That of aesthetic performance, through unstoppable formalism and ritualization. Erotic, through the evocation of sexual games. Musical, through a search for perfection, going so far as to produce 73 versions of the riverine “The Charge of the Dark Goddess”, which concludes the album.

The vocalises, solar chants, and recitation of the vampish Ymaltzin subordinate the effusions, rales, and veiled or disillusioned cries of the male voices. The musical collective brings an impressive richness. Glitches, drones, samplings, guitar, bass, drums, percussion, and voices perform an assured and liberated orgiastic delirium. Note: Friedemann Kootz handled the mastering. He’s known for his collaboration with the gothic duo behind the remarkable projects Haus Arafna and November Növelet.

Through its repetitive and hypnotic pieces like mystical incantations, Black Egg invites us to a cosmic and carnal celebration.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : France Label : aufnahme + wiedergabe Genres et styles : expérimental / industriel Année : 2020
Black Egg

Supreme Offering

· par Geneviève Gendreau

« À une époque où la rigueur n’est qu’un concept économique, nous affirmons notre volonté, sans concession, avec persistance, selon les termes de Coil, et obstination. » Le Little Manifesto de ce groupe n’y va pas de main morte. Se réclamer de Coil, groupe légendaire s’il en est, n’est pas une mince affaire. On sent bien cette attraction pour la « musique lunaire » de Coil caractérisant l’ultime période du groupe. La magie, pilier de la doctrine ésotérique élaborée par Aleister Crowley, est également une référence commune. Celle-ci fusionne occultisme, expression du désir et discipline. Black Egg, guidé par une soif d’absolu et de perfection, perpétue des traditions intempestives.

Le projet solo créé en 2012 par le Français USHERsan est devenu un regroupement collaboratif aux multiples têtes, certaines changeantes et d’autres persistantes. Le groupe façonne une esthétique exploratoire et transformatrice, souhaitant transfigurer la vie plutôt que la mettre en scène. Ainsi, il se réapproprie la notion de rigueur. Celle de la performance esthétique, par un formalisme et une ritualisation imparables. Érotique, par l’évocation de jeux sexuels. Musicale, par une recherche de perfection allant jusqu’à produire 73 versions de la pièce-fleuve The Charge of the Dark Goddess qui conclut l’album.

Les vocalises, le chant solaire et le récitatif de la vamp Ymaltzin subordonnent les effusions, râles, cris voilés ou désabusés des voix masculines. Le collectif musical apporte une richesse impressionnante. Glitches, drones, échantillonnages, guitare, basse, batterie, percussions et voix exécutent un délire orgiaque maîtrisé et libre. À noter : Friedemann Kootz est au matriçage. Il est reconnu pour sa collaboration avec le duo gothique derrière les remarquables projets Haus Arafna et November Növelet.

Par ses pièces répétitives et hypnotiques comme autant d’incantations mystiques, Black Egg nous invite à une célébration cosmique et charnelle.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre