×
Country : Brazil Label : Shika Shika Genres and styles : Downtempo / latino / Psychedelia Year : 2020
Numa Gama

Botanas: Numa Gama

· by Rupert Bottenberg

The Shika Shika label periodically releases these little EPs by individual artists, the Botanas series – the word means “snack”. Following not that long after this past spring’s Me Redesenho, released via Brazil’s Voodoohop label/collective, Carioca producer Numa Gama’s contribution to the series is something worth chewing on for a bit. 

The raw materials for the EP’s two basic tracks were gathered during a stay in Amatlán de Quetzalcóatl, a mountainous sanctuary of folkloric significance not far from Mexico City. Enriched with guitar and ngoni, and moreover very wisely applied synth work, once back in Rio, the results constitute a potent pair of aural experiences, complementary yet memorably distinct. A sense of elevation and altered perspective attend them.

The titles “Can You Hear It?” and “They’re Calling” suggest a connectivity (and imply otherworldy inspiration). That connection becomes apparent with the EP’s third and fourth tracks, the “Crossfader Remix” by Barda and Barrio Lindo (Shika Shika co-director Agustín Rivaldo), and Numa Gama’s own ambient blend. Both splice and weave the two original tracks together, revealing new facets of each, though each to a very different purpose.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Brésil Label : Shika Shika Genres et styles : downtempo / latino / psychédélique Année : 2020
Numa Gama

Botanas: Numa Gama

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Le label Shika Shika publie périodiquement des EP d’artistes individuels comme celui-ci dans la série Botanas – le mot signifie « casse-croûte ». Après Me Redesenho, sorti au printemps dernier sous le label du collectif brésilien Voodoohop, la participation du producteur carioca Numa Gama à cette série mérite d’être soulignée.

La matière première des deux pistes qui constituent ce mini-album a été enregistrée lors d’un séjour à Amatlán de Quetzalcóatl, un sanctuaire montagneux, important sur le plan folklorique, situé non loin de Mexico. Rehaussés à la guitare et au ngoni, et en particulier par un excellent travail au synthé, réalisé à Rio, les résultats, aussi complémentaires que distincts, s’avèrent une formidable réussite. Il s’en dégage même une impression d’élévation et de perspective renouvelée.

Les titres Can You Hear It? et They’re Calling évoquent une connectivité (et impliquent une inspiration d’un autre monde). Cette connexion devient apparente avec les troisième et quatrième pièces du EP, le Crossfader Remix de Barda et Barrio Lindo (pseudo du  codirecteur de Shika Shika Agustín Rivaldo) et la propre mixture ambiante de Numa Gama. Bien que l’une et l’autre aient des visées différentes, ces deux pièces réunissent les deux titres originaux et en révélent de nouvelles facettes.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre