×
Country : Germany / United States Label : Deutsche Grammophon Genres and styles : Classical Year : 2020
John Williams, Wiener Philharmoniker & Anne-Sophie Mutter

John Williams in Vienna

· by François Vallières

Composer John Williams needs no introduction. Although a celebrated musical architect and creator of moods for a staggering number of Hollywood films, he’s less well known for his concert music. The presence of John Williams – creator of two symphonies, a dozen concertos, chamber music, and vocal works – on stage as a composer of “intellectual” music is a major event. 

Throughout his career, Williams’ language has been strongly influenced by many predecessors – Gustav Mahler, Igor Stravinsky, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Sergei Rachmaninov, and Gustav Holst, to name but a few. It’s therefore no surprise that a multitude of symphony orchestras around the world perform his music. It was in response to an invitation from the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra that the 88-year-old American went to Austria to conduct a concert exclusively devoted to his music for film. The composer concocted a program including his greatest hits (Star Wars, Indiana Jones, E.T.), as well as lesser-known works (Hook, War Horse, Close Encounters of the Third Kind). 

Music lovers and film-score aficionadoes accustomed to hearing Williams’ music performed by American orchestras with a very direct and powerful sound will be surprised by the dignified, polished, and intensely controlled approach of the Viennese. The VPO, considered by many to be the best in the world, gives readings here that are always very intense, very energetic, almost operatic, giving an extraordinary breath to this music which is, by its intrinsic nature, resolutely dramatic. To this clash of titans, we must also add the presence of violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, at the peak of her art on “Devil’s Dance” from The Witches of Eastwick, an extremely virtuoso arrangement by the composer especially for this concert. 

For the record, it should be noted that Williams did not originally program the famous “Imperial March” from Star Wars. It was at the request of the orchestra’s brass section that he changed his tune. The result, in this writer’s humble opinion, is the best version of this piece ever recorded.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Allemagne / États-Unis Label : Deutsche Grammophon Genres et styles : classique Année : 2020
John Williams, Wiener Philharmoniker & Anne-Sophie Mutter

John Williams in Vienna

· par François Vallières

Le compositeur John Williams n’a plus besoin de présentation. Célébrissime architecte musical et créateur d’ambiances pour un nombre effarant de films hollywoodiens, il est toutefois moins reconnu pour sa musique de concert. La présence de John Williams – auteur de deux symphonies, d’une dizaine de concertos, de musique de chambre et d’œuvres vocales – sur scène en tant que compositeur de musique « savante » relève de l’événementiel. 

Tout au long de sa carrière, le langage de Williams a été fortement influencé par moult prédécesseurs, tels que Gustav Mahler, Igor Stravinski, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Sergei Rachmaninov, Gustav Holst, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Ce n’est donc pas une surprise qu’une multitude d’orchestres symphoniques à travers le monde interprètent sa musique. C’est pour faire suite à une invitation de l’Orchestre Philarmonique de Vienne que l’Américain de 88 ans s’est rendu en Autriche pour diriger un concert exclusivement consacré à sa musique pour le cinéma. Le compositeur a concocté un programme incluant ses plus grands succès (Star Wars, Indiana Jones, E.T.) ainsi que des musiques moins connues (Hook, War Horse, Close Encounters of the Third Kind). 

Les mélomanes et amateurs de musique de film habitués à entendre la musique de Williams interprétée par des orchestres américains au son très direct et puissant seront surpris par la sonorité noble, polie et intensément en contrôle des Viennois. L’Orchestre Philarmonique de Vienne, considéré par plusieurs comme étant le meilleur du monde, nous livre ici des lectures toujours très intenses, très énergiques, presque opératiques, ce qui donne un souffle extraordinaire à cette musique qui est, de par sa nature intrinsèque, résolument dramatique. À ce choc des titans, il faut aussi ajouter la présence de la violoniste Anne-Sophie Mutter, au sommet de son art dans la Devil’s Dance tirée des Sorcières d’Eastwick, arrangement extrêmement virtuose effectué par le compositeur spécialement pour ce concert. 

Pour l’anecdote, il est à noter que Williams n’avait originellement pas programmé la célébrissime Marche impériale tirée de Star Wars. C’est donc à la demande des cuivres de l’orchestre qu’il changea son fusil d’épaule. Il en résulte, à mon humble avis, la meilleure version jamais enregistrée de ce morceau.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre