×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : The Good People Genres and styles : Alternative Rock / Electro-Punk Year : 2020
The Poors

Drop the Mic

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Montreal’s dukes of distorted disco, aRTIST oF tHE yEAR, have made an artform out being cleverly obtuse, because, well… technically speaking, you can’t go overboard if overboard is where you started. The principle has served them well for a decade and half.

They’re no strangers to a certain amiable belligerence, and it’s there in bulk on the fourth single from AOTY subsidiary project The Poors, a ridiculously catchy act of auditory vandalism. The previous jams – “City Boys”, Hood”, “Masters of Make Believe” – enticed with inventive, grooving electro-rock, but it feels like a set-up now, leading the listener into a dark alleyway where the bass guitar on “Drop the Mic” beats the shit out of them.

Behind that abusive bass is what seems like a sleazy, four-way make-out session between glam rock, electroclash, stoner boogie and seditious punk. It’s kinda hard to pinpoint, however, when one is in a fetal crouch on the floor, getting kicked in the head by the low end.

Though it concludes with a decisive crunch, “Drop the Mic” isn’t a mic-drop for The Poors. Once recovered, the listener may be pleased, if a little wary, to know that a fifth single is on its way, with an EP to follow.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : The Good People Genres et styles : électro-punk / rock alternatif Année : 2020
The Poors

Drop the Mic

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Les sultans du disco tordu de Montréal, aRTIST oF tHE yEAR, ont créé une forme d’art ingénieusement débile parce que, eh bien… disons qu’il est difficile de dépasser les bornes quand on est au départ complètement largué. En tout cas, le principe leur sert bien depuis quinze ans.

Ils pratiquent une sorte d’hostilité sympathique qu’on retrouve en abondance sur le quatrième single du projet The Poors, sorte filiale d’AOTY, un acte de vandalisme auditif ridiculement accrocheur. Si les jams précédents – City Boys, Hood, Masters of Make Believe – étaient imprégnés d’électro-rock inventif et groovy, on a l’impression que Drop the Mic est un prétexte pour entraîner l’auditeur dans une ruelle sombre et lui donner une volée à coups de guitare basse.

Derrière cette basse abusive se cache ce qui semble être une partouze à quatre entre glam rock, electroclash, stoner boogie et punk séditieux. Il est cependant assez difficile de bien voir quand on est roulé en boule au sol pour se protéger des coups de pied à la tête qu’on reçoit par le bas.

Bien qu’il se termine de façon explosive, Drop the Mic ne constitue pas un « lâcher de micro » pour The Poors. Une fois remis de ses émotions, l’auditeur peut même être content, bien qu’un peu méfiant, de savoir qu’un cinquième single est en préparation et qu’un EP suivra.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre