×
Country : United States Label : Blue Note Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / Funk / Hard Bop / Jazz Year : 2021

Makaya McCraven – Deciphering the Message

· by Alain Brunet

Blue Note, surely one of the most renowned brands in jazz, has given virtuoso percussionist and visionary composer Makaya McCraven access to its archives (especially from the ’50s and ’60s) as the basis for his new album, Deciphering the Message. So what is the link between the Chicago visionary and this archive? The approach is that of a musician and beatmaker at the same time, that is to say, re-reading old recordings and making new music with his team, composed of guitarists Jeff Parker and Matt Gold, bassist Junius Paul, trumpeter Marquis Hill, saxophonists Greg Ward and De’Sean Jones, vibraphonist Joel Ross.

Thus, this established generation of hip cats draws on Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, Kenny Dorham, Horace Silver, Hank Mobley, Wayne Shorter, not to mention the MC Pee Wee Marquette. McCraven proceeds in the same way as on his previous albums: drawing loops from the archives, rearranging, superimposing new basslines, new keys, and hip-hop beats on the hard bop and funk swing of 60 years ago. This is reminiscent of the acid jazz acts of the 90’s, such as Jazzmatazz & Guru, US3, DJ Premier, Buckshot LeFonque (Brandford Marsalis), Groove Collective, Ronnie Jordan, Brand New Heavies, Donald Byrd and the subsequent, even more hip-hop treatments of JDilla, A Tribe Called Quest, Madlib, Digable Planets and others Pharcyde.

McCraven’s added value is not as innovative as his previous proposals, as if the electro-acoustic beatmaker and jazzman had been intimidated by the historical recordings he drank from. The results are not as substantial as In The Moment (2015), Universal Beings (2018) or his more justified and successful re-creation of Gil-Scott Heron’s I’m New Here. That said, let’s also remember that the groove is there, the musicianship is there, the coolness is there. Don’t miss these more expert considerations and take the trip from today to yesterday. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Blue Note Genres et styles : funk / hard bop / jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2021

Makaya McCraven – Deciphering the Message

· par Alain Brunet

Blue Note, sans conteste l’une des marques les plus réputées du jazz, a donné au percussionniste virtuose et compositeur visionnaire Makaya McCraven l’accès à ses archives (années 50 et 60, surtout) pour en en ériger les fondements de son nouvel album, Deciphering the Message . Quelle est alors le lien entre le visionnaire de Chicago et cette banque d’archives? La démarche est celle d’un musicien et beatmaker à la fois, c’est-à-dire relire de vieux enregistrements et en faire de la nouvelle musique avec son équipe composée des guitaristes Jeff Parker et Matt Gold, du bassiste Junius Paul, du trompettiste Marquis Hill, des saxophonistes Greg Ward et De’Sean Jones, du vibraphoniste Joel Ross.

Ainsi, cette génération désormais confirmée de hip cats puise chez Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, Kenny Dorham, Horace Silver, Hank Mobley, Wayne Shorter , sans compter le MC Pee Wee Marquette. Ainsi, McCraven procède de la même manière que sur ses albums précédents : extraire des boucles à partir des archives, les réarranger, y superposer de nouvelles basses, de nouveaux claviers, y superposer des beats hip hop au swing hard bop ou funk d’il y a 60 ans. Voilà qui n’est pas sans rappeler les pratiques acid jazz des années 90, soit Jazzmatazz & Guru, US3, DJ Premier, Buckshot LeFonque (Brandford Marsalis) , Groove Collective, Ronnie Jordan, Brand New Heavies, Donald Byrd ou encore les traitements subséquents, encore plus hip hop, des JDilla, A Tribe Called Quest, Madlib, Digable Planets et autres Pharcyde.

Alors? La valeur ajoutée de notre “beat scientist” autoproclamé ne s’avère pas pas aussi innovante que celle de ses propositions précédentes… comme s’il avait été un tantinet intimidé par ces enregistrements historiques auxquels il s’est abreuvé. Convenons que cet album ne déclenche pas les wow de ses deux albums précédentsm In The Moment (2015), Universal Beings (2018) ou sa re-création, mieux justifiée et mieux réussie, de I’m New Here de Gil-Scott Heron. Cela dit, convenons également que le groove est là, le musicianship est là, la coolitude est là. Ne boudez pas votre plaisir pour ces considérations pointues et faites le voyage d’aujourd’hui à hier.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre