Yoo Doo Right and the Quest for the Firebird

Interview by Louise Jaunet

Additional Information

With two EPs in the bag in addition to a split released last year with Japanese legends Acid Mothers Temple, Yoo Doo Right concretizes its cosmic epopee with a long-awaited first album under the cryptic title Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose. As true romantic warriors, the trio demonstrates on this album a mastery of the striking force of Can and NEU! as well as the art of hermetic phoenixology of the Berlin school – Tangerine Dream, Ash Ra Tempel – while remaining as relevant as their contemporaries 10 000 Russos, or Gnod and their album JUST SAY NO TO THE PSYCHO RIGHT-WING CAPITALIST FACIST INDUSTRIAL DEATH MACHINE. To better understand what’s behind the deterministic title, PAN M 360 met with guitarist Justin Cober and bassist Charles Masson, who welcomed us at their small workshop, Mile End Effects, not far from the Godspeed! headquarters, where condos are growing like bad weeds. Located in an old building said to have been used as a weapons factory during WWII (and possibly haunted by a ghost from that same era), Cober set up his own workshop to build a completely different form of electric weaponry: effects pedals.

Crédit: Delphine Snyers, Justin Cober

PAN M 360 : Your first EP was released in 2016, but before that, there’s not much information about the band. So, first thing first, when did the three of you meet each other, and when did you start playing together?

Charles Masson: About 10 years ago, Justin was living in Toronto and I was in Montreal. A show was set up for my band in Toronto and I immediately clicked on Justin’s band called New Wings. We kept contact after that. About six or five year later, Justin moved to Montreal and brought his new friend John, who’s from Edmonton and was living in Montreal to study. We started playing together and started the band right away. Three month later, we were playing our first show.

PAN M 360: Where did you play your first show?

Charles Masson: It was in a DIY venue in Pointe-Saint-Charles called Bad Lunch. It was with two jazz bands. It was on the last floor of a house, in a tiny mezzanine, it was very small and very strange but it was a very nice first show. DIY spaces are what we prefer.

PAN M 360: Your music tends to create a sort of wall of sound on stage by using amps from the ’70s and effect pedals, almost reaching the dangerous level of 140 dB. What made you want to reach this heavy volume?

Justin Cober: I mean, it’s transcendental, really. When you’re actually able to feel the vibrations of this ball of fury coming from a stage, it’s so overwhelming. It’s quite magical.

Charles Masson: We got so used to it while practicing at these high volumes. We created textures that won’t come out as much as we would have liked when you turn the volume down. Our songs are created for high volumes, it’s hard to compromise about that. Somebody said, finally, a Yoo Doo Right album – we can finally turn the fuck down.

Justin Cober: I would kind of quote Kevin Shields, when he was talking about My Bloody Valentine’s stage volume. He was basically saying that, when they were first rehearsing, they were playing at volumes that enters you into this kind of trance state. By the end their rehearsals, they would all be laughing in a state of euphoria. That’s a very apt description of how it feels. When we’re playing sometimes, we finish a song and we kind of sit back, take a few breath and we’re all just laughing. It feels really good. We’re all pretty soft-spoken people, so I think it’s really cool to be that much of a force, it’s like a voice outside of our own. Having your eyeballs vibrating inside your head… Hearing certain frequencies at such devastating volumes is just a ton of fun. If that’s not magic, I’m not sure what is.

PAN M 360: Your music is notably influenced by the German krautrock movement from the ’70s and its rhythmic patterns. What did you find interesting in this period of German culture?

Justin Cober: A lot of it has to do with the sociopolitical climate of Germany in the late ’60s. In North America and particularly on the West Coast of the United States, there was this whole hippy movement that was born out of a rejection of their parents’ view point of the world. But in Germany, it seemed to be a lot more of a rejection of what their parents stood for. If they weren’t actively engaged in the Nazi mindset, they were at least complicit in a lot of that. As they were rebuilding the structures of Germany, and the bombed-out cities, they also decided to rebuild a cultural identity. It was ferociously political and anti-fascist. There were a lot of interesting collectives which could be considered domestic terrorists, they were just hellbent on rebuilding Germany in a way their parents couldn’t. That for me really stuck out. I feel history tends to repeat itself. We have constantly found ourselves in situations where people are being commodified and oppressed. I really appreciate this feeling that was found in krautrock. And it’s also very good music.

PAN M 360: How do you think the German psychedelic movement differs from the American countercultural movement?

Justin Cober: For better or for worse, the counterculture movement in the USA was very much an aesthetic thing. When you look now, all the anti-capitalist hippies grew up in their own big corporations and are still fucking up the world. A lot of it had to do with the very thin veil of image and aesthetic whereas in Germany I think it was a lot deeper than that, it meant a lot more than just putting flowers in people’s hair, listening to The Byrds or whatever.

PAN M 360: Their message was indeed much more political. Amon Düül even once said that he wanted to perform for free in factories at some point, for example.

Justin Cober: Even in the way all that music sounds, it can be very harsh and industrial. There is that sort of statement being made in a sonic way. It’s almost like two tectonic plates shifting and grinding against each other. It’s like creating this primordial rebirth of culture and mentality.

PAN M 360: Your album title Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose is a strong statement, particularly for artists. In a way, this reminds me of Julian Cope saying that Krautrock was an “Explore-the-god-in-you-by-working-the-animal-in-you Gnostic Odyssey”. Do you identity with this statement?

Justin Cober: In a way, yes. The idea is about building a life for ourselves that we don’t need to escape from, finding purpose and meaning in endeavours that aren’t necessarily considered to be viable financially in terms of a carrier. Or considering whether or not you’re a productive member of society under very specific capitalistic means. We’re trying to find value and fulfillment in our communities and in our personal endeavours that make us wake up in the morning. You’re finding purpose in yourself, not by working for someone else and doing something you absolutely hate, being exploited and valued for your monetary worth. It’s a very good quote and it very much connects to the album, I guess.

PAN M 360: What does it look like for each one of you to build a life that you don’t need to escape from?

Charles Masson: I’ve been unemployed for the last two years and I’ve been trying to make my way out of this situation by creating my own little company, possibly a little grocery store. You have to be able to take some steps back to see what is attracting you to your actual life endeavours.

Justin Cober: Injecting as much purpose and intention into what you’re doing as an extension of who you are as a person, and finding a way to be able to do that. Charles and I are in a very privileged position in a sense that we have been able to work towards something that we love to do. It’s a very nice place to be. Good for you if you have the means to try and follow what you think your purpose is in life. A lot of people don’t have that. There is no delusion there, but we’re trying to promote this idea that people are worth a lot more than their day jobs or the worth placed on them in a capitalist sense. Passions and feelings are more valuable than the paycheques they bring in despite obviously needing to exist in this framework that we exist in.

PAN M 360: In the video for the title song, you used the movie Cosmic Zoom by Eva Szasz. It well illustrates the lyrics that are about someone trying to find something bigger than themselves, during a moment of insanity where they lost touch with reality. Would you like to elaborate?

Justin Cober: The lyrics are about somebody who thinks that they are basically an ambassador for humans on our planet to some extraterrestrial community. It’s very much born out of their mental illness. They just wait to be beamed up, but they increasingly grow more paranoid that people are going to find out their secrets.

PAN M 360: You also say that this person has been chosen to solve the problems of our species. To you, what would be the problems that this person has to face?

Charles: The rambling of people who don’t know shit.

Justin Cober: How many hours do you have? Fuck, I don’t think we need to count the ways so to speak. There are so many problems that we face and that we have always faced. There is a bit more immediacy. Every time I meet another dilemma that our species and every other species of this planet encounters, my thought processes are like little rivers that all go into the same big ocean that is our ending doom. We are so fucked. There are so many things we have to face and it’s heart-breaking to think about it. The solutions are driven by the exact same thing that are getting us into this predicament. The ground we sit on is based on this idea of oppression and harming people to gain for ourselves.

Charles Masson: In the name of growth.

Justin Cober: The moment our care for others was over ridden by this idea of growth and what it means to be successful, it’s when we became doomed, we enslaved people and animals. How do you take a step back and realize that it is at the basis of these problems that we face? The commodification of life is fucked up, it’s hard to think about it. A lot of people don’t think about it, because they would rather not and I understand that.

PAN M 360: Another way to see it is that if something doesn’t work out biologically in nature, nature tends to get read of it. So, if our species has to disappear, it could be according to nature’s rules.

Justin Cober: There is this amazing George Carlin quote: “Mother Earth, the planet, is gonna be here, its gonna be fine. We’re the ones who are fucked. The planet is gonna sneeze us off like a bad cold”. The planet is probably gonna be here. If its inhabitable for us is another story. Maybe that could be the best thing. Maybe our species dying is like the Earth overcoming cancer and going into remission.

PAN M 360: To finish on a lighter note, after finding your purpose, what is the next step for Yoo Doo Right?

Justin Cober: We’ll keep just jamming.

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Yoo Doo Right et la quête de l’oiseau de feu

Interview réalisé par Louise Jaunet

renseignements supplémentaires

Avec dans son sac deux EP en plus d’un split sorti l’an passé avec les légendaires japonais d’Acid Mothers Temple, Yoo Doo Right concrétise le récit de son épopée cosmique sur ce très attendu premier album au titre cryptique Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose. Tels de véritables guerriers romantiques, le trio démontre sur cet album qu’il maîtrise aussi bien la force de frappe d’un CAN ou d’un NEU! que l’art de la phénixologie hermétique de l’école de Berlin de Tangerine Dream ou d’Ash Ra Tempel, tout en restant aussi pertinent que ses contemporains 10 000 Russos ou Gnod et son album JUST SAY NO TO THE PSYCHO RIGHT-WING CAPITALIST FACIST INDUSTRIAL DEATH MACHINE.

Pour mieux comprendre ce que cache ce titre à la vision déterministe, nous sommes partis à la rencontre du guitariste Justin Cober et du bassiste Charles Masson qui nous ont tous deux accueillis dans le petit atelier de Mile End Effects, non loin du quartier général de Godspeed, où les condos poussent d’ailleurs comme de la mauvaise herbe. Situé dans une vieille bâtisse qui aurait servi d’usine d’armement pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale (et possiblement hantée par un fantôme de cette même époque), Justin Cober s’y est établi pour construire lui même en solitaire une tout autre forme d’artillerie électrique cette fois pacifiste : des pédales d’effet.

Crédit photos: Stacy Lee

PAN M 360 : Votre premier EP est sorti en 2016, mais avant cela, il n’y a pas beaucoup d’informations sur le groupe. Alors, tout d’abord, quand est-ce que vous vous êtes rencontrés tous les trois et quand avez-vous commencé à jouer ensemble ?

Charles Masson : Il y a environ 10 ans, Justin vivait à Toronto et j’étais à Montréal. Un concert a été organisé pour mon groupe à Toronto et j’ai immédiatement accroché sur le groupe de Justin, New Wings. Nous sommes restés en contact après ça. Environ six ou cinq ans plus tard, Justin a déménagé à Montréal et a fait venir son nouvel ami John, qui est originaire d’Edmonton et qui vivait à Montréal pour étudier. Nous avons commencé à jouer ensemble et avons aussitôt fondé le groupe. Trois mois plus tard, nous donnions notre premier concert.

PAN M 360 : Où avez-vous joué votre premier concert ?

Charles Masson : C’était dans une salle de concert DIY à Pointe-Saint-Charles appelée BAD LUNCH. Nous étions avec deux groupes de jazz. C’était au dernier étage d’une maison, sur une toute petite mezzanine, c’était très petit et très étrange mais c’était un très beau premier concert. Les salles improvisées sont ce que nous préférons.

PAN M 360 : Votre musique a tendance à créer une forme de mur du son sur scène en utilisant des amplis des années 70 et des pédales d’effets, atteignant presque le niveau risqué de 140 dB. Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé à vouloir atteindre un volume aussi élevé ?

Justin Cober : En réalité, c’est vraiment quelque chose de transcendant. Lorsque vous êtes réellement capable de sentir les vibrations de cette boule de rage provenant de la scène, c’est tellement renversant. C’est assez magique.

Charles Masson : Nous nous sommes tellement habitués à ça en pratiquant à ces niveaux de volume sonore importants. Nous avons créé des textures qui ne ressortent pas autant que nous le voudrions lorsque l’on baisse le volume. Nos chansons sont créées pour des volumes sonores élevés, il est difficile de faire des compromis sur ce point. Quelqu’un a dit : enfin un album de Yoo Doo Right, on peut finalement baisser le volume.

Justin Cober : Je reprendrais les mots de Kevin Shields quand il parlait du son sur scène de My Bloody Valentine. Il disait en gros que lors des premières répétitions, ils jouaient à un volume qui les plongeaient dans une sorte d’état de transe. A la fin de leurs répétitions, ils riaient tous jusqu’à être dans un état d’euphorie. C’est une description très juste de ce que l’on ressent. Parfois, lorsque nous jouons, nous terminons une chanson et nous nous asseyons, nous prenons quelques respirations et nous rions tout simplement. Ça fait vraiment beaucoup de bien. Nous sommes des personnes plutôt réservées, alors je pense que cela peut être vraiment intéressant de créer une telle force, c’est comme une voix extérieure à la nôtre. Avoir ses orbites qui vibrent à l’intérieur de sa tête… Entendre certaines fréquences à des volumes aussi ravageurs, c’est juste une tonne de plaisir. Si ce n’est pas de la magie, je ne sais pas ce qui peut l’être.

PAN M 360 : Votre musique est notamment influencée par le mouvement allemand krautrock des années 70 et ses schémas rythmiques. Qu’avez-vous trouvé d’intéressant dans cette période de la culture allemande ?

Justin Cober : Cela a beaucoup à voir avec le climat socio-politique de l’Allemagne à la fin des années 60. En Amérique du Nord, et en particulier sur la côte ouest des États-Unis, il y avait tout ce mouvement hippie qui était né d’un rejet de la vision du monde de leurs parents. Mais en Allemagne, c’était plutôt un rejet de ce que leurs parents représentaient. S’ils n’étaient pas activement engagés dans la mentalité nazie, ils étaient au moins complices en grande partie. En reconstruisant les structures de l’Allemagne et des villes bombardées, ils ont aussi voulu reconstruire une identité culturelle. C’était férocement politique et antifasciste. Il y avait beaucoup de collectifs remarquables que l’on pouvait considérer comme des terroristes nationaux, mais ils étaient tout simplement déterminés à reconstruire l’Allemagne d’une manière que leurs parents ne pouvaient imaginer. C’est ce qui m’a le plus marqué. Je pense que l’histoire a tendance à se répéter. Nous nous trouvons constamment dans des situations où les gens sont contraints et opprimés. J’apprécie vraiment ce sentiment que l’on retrouve dans le krautrock. Et c’est aussi de la très bonne musique.

PAN M 360 : Comment le mouvement psychédélique allemand se démarque-t-il du courant contre culturel américain selon vous ?

Justin Cober : Pour le meilleur ou pour le pire, le mouvement de la contre-culture aux États-Unis était principalement une affaire d’esthétique. Quand on regarde maintenant, tous les hippies anticapitalistes ont fini par créer leurs propres grandes compagnies et continuent à foutre la merde dans le monde. Cela avait beaucoup à voir avec le mince voile de l’image et de l’esthétique alors qu’en Allemagne, je pense que c’était beaucoup plus poussé que cela, cela signifiait beaucoup plus que de mettre des fleurs dans les cheveux des gens, d’écouter les Byrds ou que sais-je encore.

PAN M 360 : Leur message était effectivement beaucoup plus politique. Amon Düül a même déclaré un jour vouloir se produire gratuitement dans des usines à un moment donné, par exemple.

Justin Cober : Même dans la façon dont toute cette musique se présente, elle peut être très brutale et industrielle. Il y a cette sorte de prise de position qui est faite d’une manière audible. C’est presque comme deux plaques tectoniques qui se poussent et se brisent l’une contre l’autre. C’est comme créer cette renaissance originelle de la culture et de la conscience.

PAN M 360 : Le titre de votre album Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose est une affirmation très forte, en particulier pour des artistes. D’une certaine manière, cela me rappelle Julian Cope qui disait que le krautrock était une « Odyssée gnostique du genre “Trouve le Dieu qui t’habite en libérant tes démons” ». Est-ce que vous vous reconnaissez dans cette expression ?

Justin Cober : D’une certaine manière, oui. L’idée est de se construire une vie dont on ne cherche pas à se sauver, de trouver un but et un sens à des projets qui ne sont pas nécessairement considérés comme viables financièrement en termes de carrière. Ou de se demander si l’on est ou non un membre productif de la société dans un contexte capitaliste très spécifique. Nous essayons de trouver de la valeur et de la satisfaction dans nos communautés et dans nos projets personnels qui nous font nous lever le matin. Vous trouvez un but en vous-même, pas en travaillant pour quelqu’un d’autre et en faisant quelque chose que vous détestez absolument, en étant exploité et valorisé pour votre valeur monétaire. C’est une très bonne citation et elle donne tout à fait son sens à l’album, je suppose.

PAN M 360 : A quoi cela ressemble-t-il pour chacun d’entre vous de construire une vie dont vous n’avez pas besoin de vous enfuir ?

Charles Masson : Je suis au chômage depuis deux ans et j’essaie de me sortir de cette situation en créant ma propre petite entreprise, peut-être une petite épicerie. Il faut être capable de prendre du recul pour voir ce qui vous attire dans vos projets de vie concrets.

Justin Cober : Insuffler autant de volonté et d’intentions dans ce que vous faites comme une extension de qui vous êtes en tant que personne et trouver un moyen de le faire. Charles et moi sommes dans une posture très privilégiée dans le sens où nous avons pu travailler sur quelque chose que nous aimons faire. C’est un sentiment très agréable. Tant mieux pour vous si vous avez les moyens d’essayer de suivre ce que vous pensez être votre but dans la vie. Beaucoup de gens n’ont pas cela. Il n’y a pas d’illusion là-dessus, mais nous essayons de promouvoir l’idée que les gens valent beaucoup plus que leur travail ou la valeur qui leur est accordée dans un sens capitaliste. Les passions et les sentiments ont plus de valeur que les salaires qu’ils rapportent, même s’il est évident que nous sommes obligés d’exister dans ce contexte.

PAN M 360 : Dans la vidéo de la chanson titre, vous avez utilisé le film Cosmic Zoom d’Eva Szasz. Celui-ci illustre bien les paroles qui évoquent une personne qui essaie de trouver une chose plus grande qu’elle-même pendant un moment de folie où elle a perdu le contact avec la réalité. Voulez-vous nous en dire plus ?

Justin Cober : Les paroles parlent de quelqu’un qui pense être un ambassadeur pour les humains de notre planète auprès d’une communauté extra-terrestre. C’est en grande partie le résultat de sa propre maladie mentale. Cette personne attend d’être téléportée, mais elle devient de plus en plus paranoïaque à l’idée que les gens vont découvrir ses secrets.

PAN M 360: Vous dites aussi que cette personne a été choisie pour résoudre les problèmes de notre espèce. Pour vous, quels seraient les problèmes auxquels cette personne doit faire face?

Charles Masson: Les caprices des gens qui ne connaissent foutrement rien.

Justin Cober : Combien d’heures avez-vous ? Putain, je ne pense pas que nous ayons besoin de faire le calcul si l’on peut dire. Il y a tellement de problèmes auxquels nous sommes confrontés et auxquels nous avons toujours été confrontés. Il y a une plus grande urgence. Chaque fois que je rencontre un nouveau dilemme auquel notre espèce et toutes les autres espèces de cette planète doivent répondre, les processus de ma pensée deviennent comme des petites rivières qui se jettent dans un même grand océan qui est notre condamnation finale. Nous sommes dans la merde. Il y a tellement de choses auxquelles nous devons faire face et ça me brise le cœur d’y songer. Les solutions sont guidées par les mêmes facteurs qui nous ont mis dans cette situation critique. Le sol sur lequel nous sommes basés est fondé sur cette idée d’oppression et de nuire aux gens pour s’enrichir.

Charles Masson : Au nom de la croissance.

Justin Cober : Le moment où notre souci des autres a été supplanté par cette idée de croissance et par ce que cela signifie de réussir, c’est là que nous avons été condamnés, nous avons asservi des gens et des animaux. Comment prendre du recul et réaliser que cette idée est à la base des problèmes auxquels nous sommes confrontés ? La marchandisation de la vie est merdique, c’est difficilement concevable. Beaucoup de gens n’y pensent pas, parce qu’ils préfèrent ne pas y penser et je le comprends.

PAN M 360 : Une autre façon de voir les choses est que si quelque chose ne fonctionne pas sur le plan biologique dans la nature, celle-ci a tendance à s’en débarrasser. Donc, si notre espèce doit disparaître, cela pourrait être selon les lois de la nature.

Justin Cober : Il y a cette incroyable citation de George Carlin : “La Terre Mère, la planète, va être là, elle va bien se porter. C’est nous qui sommes foutus. La planète va nous expulser comme un mauvais rhume”. La planète va probablement être là. Si elle est habitable pour nous, c’est une autre histoire. Peut-être que ce serait la meilleure solution. Peut-être que la disparition de notre espèce est comme la Terre qui surmonte un cancer et entre en rémission.

PAN M 360 : Pour terminer sur une note plus légère, après avoir découvert votre dessein, quelle est la prochaine étape pour Yoo Doo Right ?

Justin Cober : Nous allons simplement continuer à jammer.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre