×
Country : Canada (Quebec) / Japan Label : Mothland Genres and styles : Experimental / Krautrock / Rock / Shoegaze Year : 2020
Yoo Doo Right / Acid Mothers Temple & the Melting Paraiso U.F.O.

Acid Mothers Temple / Yoo Doo Right Split 7’’

· by Louise Jaunet

After a 42-date North American tour in 2018, the legendary explorers of Acid Mothers Temple and the apprentice shoegazers of Yoo Doo Right are reuniting to seal their friendship on this short release, the proceeds of which will be donated to Protégeons Montréal-Nord Ensemble and Camp Unist’ot’en.

On side one, “Silver Points and Lines” opens with a hypnotizing cosmic frequency ride, followed by an epic, interstellar jam that only Japan’s AMT have the secret to. Since the ’90s, the collective of variable geometry has seen nearly 30 members spread across Japan, forming a kind of family, called a “soul collective”, around guitarist Kawabata Makoto.

On the B-side, the track “Speed Guru”, whose melodious and slightly oriental guitar is intermittently crushed through effect pedals, some crafted by the guitarist himself. This contrast forms an impressive sound barrier that borders, in concert, on the power of a plane in takeoff. Since forming in 2016, Montreal-based combo Yoo Doo Right has been generating a sound inspired by the improvised rhythms of krautrock and imagined as “a car crash in slow motion”, giving the illusion of being crushed by the centrifugal force of a wall of death. This shared mini-album precedes the release of a debut album entitled Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose, to be released on local label Mothland Records next fall, when Yoo Doo Right may well have a rendezvous with destiny.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) / Japon Label : Mothland Genres et styles : expérimental / krautrock / rock / shoegaze Année : 2020
Yoo Doo Right / Acid Mothers Temple & the Melting Paraiso U.F.O.

Acid Mothers Temple / Yoo Doo Right Split 7’’

· par Louise Jaunet

Après une tournée de 42 dates en Amérique du Nord en 2018, les explorateurs légendaires d’Acid Mothers Temple et les apprentis shoegazers de Yoo Doo Right se réunissent à nouveau pour sceller leur amitié sur cette courte parution dont les recettes seront versées à Protégeons Montréal-Nord Ensemble et au Camp Unist’ot’en.

Face A, le morceau Silver Points and Lines démarre en balade de fréquences cosmiques hypnotisantes, suivie d’un jam interstellaire épique dont seuls les Japonais d’A.M.T. ont le secret. Depuis les années 90, le collectif à géométrie variable a vu défiler près de 30 membres formant à travers le Japon une sorte de famille nommée « soul collective » autour du guitariste Kawabata Makoto.

Face B, le titre Speed Guru, dont le jeu de guitare mélodieux et légèrement oriental est broyé par intermittence à travers des pédales d’effet en partie traficotées par le guitariste lui-même. Ce contraste forme un impressionnant barrage sonore qui frôle en concert la puissance d’un avion au décollage. Depuis sa formation en 2016, le combo montréalais Yoo Doo Right propose un son inspiré des rythmes improvisés du krautrock et imagé en « un accident de la route au ralenti », donnant l’illusion d’être écrasé par la force centrifuge d’un mur de la mort. Ce mini-album partagé précède la sortie d’un premier album intitulé Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose, à paraître sur l’étiquette locale Mothland Records l’automne prochain, alors que Yoo Doo Right pourrait bien avoir rendez-vous avec son destin.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre