×
Country : United States Label : Profound Lore Genres and styles : Death Metal Year : 2020
Of Feather and Bone

Sulfuric Disintegration

· by Francis Dugas

One would have thought that the hardcore scene would take advantage of the toxic political context of the last few years. However, in the world of extreme music, it’s instead death metal that seems to be undergoing a rejuvenation, as young bands abandon aseptic productions and technical prowess to concentrate on the hideous, primal, and menacing side of the genre. 

Appearing in the 2010’s, Of Feather and Bone is a worthy representative of this trend, inspired by the more organic and natural death metal of the old school. Their previous album, Bestial Hymns of Perversion, was an ultra-“cavernous” death metal, based on a deafened production that left little room for subtlety and detail. In exchange, the listener was immersed in oppressive, unhealthy, and mysterious atmospheres. For Sulfuric Disintegration, their third album, Of Feather and Bone lets some lights into the cave. This clarity allows the listener to discover what they could only have guessed at before. Despite the noise and the density of the proposal, the production, now precise and detailed, allows the nuances to express themselves and highlights the musicians’ performances, especially that of the drummer, who occupies a lot of space. 

Horror films, however, have taught us that it’s often what’s left to the imagination that’s most frightening. Thus, if this new record arouses interest because of an impeccable production and several solid passages that sometimes take the band to the limits of black or war metal, we wonder if the band hasn’t lost a bit of its singularity by trying, in a way, to standardize itself. Fortunately, they’re still far from aseptization. With Sulfuric Disintegration, Of Feather and Bone continues their ascent.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Profound Lore Genres et styles : death-metal Année : 2020
Of Feather and Bone

Sulfuric Disintegration

· par Francis Dugas

On aurait pu croire que la scène hardcore tirerait profit du contexte politique toxique des dernières années. Or, dans le monde des musiques extrêmes, c’est plutôt le death metal qui semble subir une cure de rajeunissement alors que de jeunes formations délaissent les productions aseptisées et les prouesses techniques pour se concentrer sur le côté hideux, primitif et menaçant du genre. 

Apparu dans les années 2010, Of Feather and Bone est un digne représentant de cette tendance qui s’inspire du death plus organique et naturel de la vieille école. Son précédent album, Bestial Hymns Of Perversion, proférait un death metal ultra- « caverneux », reposant sur une production sourde qui laissait peu de place à la subtilité et aux détails. En échange, l’auditeur se trouvait plongé dans des atmosphères oppressantes, malsaines et mystérieuses. Pour Sulfuric Disintegration, leur troisième album, Of Feather and Bone ouvre les lumières de la caverne. Cette clarté permet à l’auditeur de découvrir ce qu’auparavant il ne pouvait que deviner. Malgré le boucan et la densité de la proposition, la production, désormais précise et détaillée, permet aux nuances de s’exprimer et de mettre en valeur l’exécution des musiciens, notamment celle du batteur qui occupe beaucoup d’espace.

Les films d’horreur nous ont toutefois enseigné que c’est souvent ce qui est laissé à l’imagination qui fait le plus peur. Ainsi, si ce nouveau disque suscite l’intérêt en raison d’une production impeccable et de plusieurs passages solides qui mènent parfois le groupe aux limites du black ou du war metal, on se demande si la formation n’a pas perdu un peu de sa singularité en cherchant, en quelque sorte, à se standardiser. Heureusement, nous sommes encore loin de l’aseptisation. Avec Sulfuric Disintegration, Of Feather and Bone poursuit son ascension.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre