Country : United States Label : Alpha Classics Genres and styles : Classical / Contemporary / Modern Classical Year : 2022

Patricia Kopatchinskaja – Le monde selon George Antheil

· by Frédéric Cardin

What a fascinating artist George Antheil is! An American well rooted in the creative Europe of the early 20th century, his often percussive (no matter the instrument), mechanical and propulsive music is a sort of sonic evocation of Italian futurism in the visual arts. Like the artists of this school, Antheil loved technological modernism, fast cars, planes, movement, feverish and even destructive energy. In his music, one can also sense Cubism with its angular lines, its sudden reversals like so many sharp, improbable angles of faces painted by Braque or Picasso. Antheil knew the great names of his time, but he had particular elective affinities with other originals, iconoclasts even, of his present or of the past, hence the idea of this album, which traces a limited but adequate portrait of the musical universe that inspired the man called “The Bad Boy of American Music”.

Beethoven is first in line. Antheil had this to say about the Sonata No. 7, Op. 30 No. 2 for violin and piano :

The first theme, what a noble theme, as noble as the true love of a man for the woman he marries. Here comes the second theme, in the dominant, a lighter key. This is the mistress. The mistress always appears only some time after the wife and she is in a lighter key. But don’t worry, in the reprise, the theme of the mistress will be just as boring as that of the wife, in the same key. But now comes the development. This is where the wife learns of the existence of the beloved and makes a scene of all the devils. Here they are: on the left hand, the wife, on the right hand, the mistress. People say that this is a counterpoint. I call it a catfight. What a wonderful master, this Beethoven!

Antheil was as good a writer (journalist) as he was a composer. It will come as no surprise to learn that he was also a friend and admirer of contemporaries such as Morton Feldman and John Cage, whose two short pieces (Piece, and Extensions 1 in the case of Feldman) and Nocturne (Cage), for violin and piano, are included.

Of course, the highlight of the show (for it is one thrill ride under Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s fingers – Pat Kop!) is Antheil’s Sonata No. 1, which premiered in 1923. Yet admired nowadays by those ‘in the know’, Antheil is rarely featured on recordings, let alone concerts. This is a pity because as this furiously energetic sonata demonstrates, it has everything it takes to seduce an audience eager for strong sensations and modernism that knows how to shake things up while remaining emotionally accessible. A true schizophrenic rollercoaster, this Antheil sonata oscillates constantly between episodes of violent frenzy, ironic humour and mysterious, menacing calm. The last movement, in particular, is a concentrate of sonic fury, both frightening and totally exciting! It has to be heard to be believed.

There was probably no more appropriate artist to play this music. Pat Kop is used to slicing, even eviscerating, scores like a forensic scientist does to a body. But, like an unlikely cross between Drs. Frankenstein and Moreau, she reconstructs her victims as she sees fit, completely stripped of their fat. All that remains is the skeleton and the muscles. She didn’t have to worry too much in the case of the Antheil Sonata, for the natural frugality of the work already did the job, but in the case of Beethoven, she will certainly make enemies with this totally stripped-down but oh-so-innovative version of the Op. 7 Sonata. Never, I think, has Beethoven sounded so abrasive but essential, so gritty but true. One almost catches her pitch-distorting it here and there, to make it even more visceral. This rereading will not be for everyone’s taste, but if you have the slightest sense of exploration, you’ll come away delighted, albeit exhausted.

The pieces by Cage and Feldman, all contemplative placidity, are sublimated by the almost mystical timbral stripping down imposed by the violinist. The pianist Joonas Ahonen is a true genius, if only to be able to follow the lady in all her delirium, and with remarkable aplomb.

Latest 360 Content

Suoni: regarding Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason “Blackbird” Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: regarding Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason “Blackbird” Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Convulsing – Perdurance

Convulsing – Perdurance

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Botanist – Paleobotany

Botanist – Paleobotany

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Nino Carlos &  Friends – Placenta

Nino Carlos & Friends – Placenta

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Alpha Classics Genres et styles : classique / classique moderne / musique contemporaine Année : 2022

Patricia Kopatchinskaja – Le monde selon George Antheil

· par Frédéric Cardin

Quel artiste fascinant que George Antheil! Étatsunien bien ancré dans l’Europe créative du début du 20e siècle, sa musique souvent percussive (peu importe l’instrument), mécanique et propulsive à souhait est une sorte d’évocation sonore du futurisme italien en arts visuels. Tout comme les artistes de cette école, Antheil aimait le modernisme technologique, les voitures rapides, les avions, le mouvement, l’énergie fébrile voire destructrice. Dans sa musique, on peut sentir aussi le cubisme avec ses traits anguleux, ses revirements brusques comme autant d’angles aigus, improbables, de visages peints par Braque ou Picasso. Antheil a connu les grands noms de son époque, mais il avait des affinités électives particulières avec d’autres originaux, iconoclastes même, de son présent ou du passé, d’où l’idée de cet album qui trace un portrait restreint mais adéquat de l’univers musical qui inspirait celui qu’on appelle ‘’The Bad Boy of American Music’’. 

Beethoven, le premier. À propos de la Sonate no 7, op. 30 no 2 pour violon et piano, Antheil disait ceci : 

Le premier thème, quel thème noble, aussi noble que le véritable amour d’un homme pour la femme qu’il épouse… Voici que vient le deuxième thème, à la dominante, une tonalité plus claire. C’est la maîtresse. La maîtresse apparaît toujours un certain temps seulement après l’épouse et elle est dans une tonalité plus claire. Mais n’ayez crainte, dans la reprise, le thème de la maîtresse sera tout aussi ennuyeux que celui de l’épouse, dans la même tonalité. N’est-ce pas comme dans la vie ?… Mais voici maintenant le développement. C’est là que l’épouse apprend l’existence de la bien-aimée et lui fait une scène de tous les diables. Les voici : à la main gauche, l’épouse, à la main droite, la maîtresse. On dit que c’est du contrepoint. Moi, j’appelle ça se crêper le chignon. Quel merveilleux maître, ce Beethoven !

Antheil était aussi bon écrivain (journaliste) que compositeur. On ne sera pas surpris de savoir qu’il tissait également des liens d’amitié et d’admiration avec des contemporains tels Morton Feldman et John Cage, dont on retrouve respectivement deux courtes pièces (Piece, et Extensions 1) et Nocturne, pour violon et piano. 

Bien sûr, le clou du spectacle (car c’en est un sous les doigts de Patricia Kopatchinskaja – Pat Kop!), c’est la Sonate no 1 d’Antheil, créée en 1923. Pourtant admiré de nos jours par ceux et celles ‘’qui savent’’, Antheil est rarement mis au programme d’enregistrements, et encore moins de concerts. C’est dommage, car comme le démontre cette sonate furieusement énergique, il y a tout ce qu’il faut pour séduire un public avide de sensations fortes et de modernisme qui sait bousculer tout en restant émotionnellement accessible. Véritable montagne russe schizophrénique, cette sonate de Antheil oscille constamment entre épisodes de frénésie violente, de pointes d’humour ironique et de calme mystérieux et menaçant. Le dernier mouvement en particulier est un concentré de furie sonore rarement entendu, à la fois effrayant et totalement tripant! Il faut l’entendre pour le croire.

Il n’y avait probablement pas d’artiste plus appropriée pour jouer cette musique. Pat Kop a l’habitude de découper au scalpel, voire éviscérer, les partitions comme un médecin légiste le fait avec un corps. Mais, tel un mélange improbable entre les docteurs Frankenstein et Moreau, elle reconstruit ses victimes comme elle le veut, complètement évidées de leur graisse. Il n’en reste que le squelette et les muscles. Elle n’avait pas à trop s’en faire dans le cas de la Sonate de Antheil, car la frugale âpreté naturelle de l’oeuvre faisait déjà le travail, mais dans le cas de Beethoven, elle se fera assurément des ennemis avec cette version totalement dénudée, mais ô combien innovante, de la Sonate op. 7. Jamais, je crois, Beethoven n’aura sonné aussi abrasif, mais essentiel, aussi grinçant, mais vrai. On la surprend presque à le faire fausser ici et là, afin de le rendre encore plus viscéral. Cette relecture ne sera pas pour tous les goûts, mais si on a le moindrement la fibre exploratoire, on en ressortira ravis, bien qu’exsangues. 

Les pièces de Cage et de Feldman, tout en placidité contemplative, sont sublimées par le dépouillement timbral quasi-mystique que leur impose la violoniste. Le pianiste Joonas Ahonen est un véritable génie, ne fut-ce que pour pouvoir suivre la dame dans tous ses délires, et avec un aplomb remarquable.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre