PAN M 360’s Top 100 Albums of 2022 (Part 1)

· by Rédaction PAN M 360

With the pandemic seemingly winding down, there was a lot of music in 2022. We at PAN M 360 believe ourselves to not only be music reviewers and journalists, but music curators in this era where finding great sounds is much more complicated than ever.

So ? Here is the first part of our Top 100 albums Part 1 of 4. You will notice that there is no rating in this list, no order of style, no hierarchy of sounds, even no alphabetical order.

Why ? Because we sincerely think that music lovers do not need an hierarchical structure in our proposals and make up their own mind after trusting us. Hopefully you find some new great music to bring into the New Year… Happy Holidays !

Hatis Noit
Aura (June)
Erased Tapes
A Capella, Experimental, Ambient
Listen Here

Originally from Japan and based in London, Hatis Noit became a vocal artist after being deeply moved by the song of a Buddhist monk during a trip to Nepal. Self-taught, she will develop her voice inspired by the gagaku, opera, Bulgarian and Gregorian chants, as well as avant-garde and pop. Composing music that could be described as both dignified and savage, this half-human, half-animal voice sings with ecstasy: sometimes in choirs composed of her own voice, elsewhere in a solitary voice, lulled by ambient noises. Wonderful. (Isabelle Marceau)

Denzel Curry
Melt My Eyez See Your Future (March)
Loma Vista
Hip Hop

Listen Here

Having benefited from the contributions of a particularly eclectic team of collaborators—Robert Glasper, A-Track, JPEGMafia, Saul Williams, Kenny Beats, Thundercat, Slowthai and several others—Denzel Curry’s most recent opus is nevertheless surprisingly homogeneous. It is also his most introspective work to date. More solid than ever, the Floridian mc is inspired by the nu-soul of the nineties while having the eyes well directed towards the future. (Steve Naud)

Wilco
Cruel Country (May)
dBPM Records
Americana, Country, Indie

Listen Here

I’m rarely, if ever, disappointed by a new Wilco album. And when they returned to their country roots with their latest release, I was chomping at the bit for it.

A sprawling and solid album. “A Lifetime to Find”, “Many Worlds”, and “Country Song Upside-Down” stand out for me. (Thomas Moultrie)

Carbon 96 (Peder Mannerfelt)
Carbonated (July)
Peder Mannerfelt Produktion
Electronic, Techno

Listen Here

Sublimely dark, Carbon 96 is simply prophetic. Peder, in collaboration, here, with Ciarra Black, explore the limits of symphonic experimentation with Hyper Hunter and Club Soda. An avant-garde approach to so-called techno contemporary, in constant search of sounds to come out of his laboratory offering new perspectives, he gave us a two-part story. The first episode is cavernous and earthy. In an almost religious repetition to sink into a trance state, the industrial intensity develops a bewitching atmosphere. The second returns a completely different image. Spicy with jolts of shakers, dubstep beats and other sounds blunt, Zoë McPherson, revolutionizes techno, from Sweden. The Messiah PEDER MANNERFELT paves the way for a new era of sound. (Salima Bouaraour)

Tomáš Král, Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Jarosław Thiel
Kings in the North (October)
Aparté
Classical, Baroque, Opera

Listen Here

Czech baritone Tomáš Král adorns himself with various crowns on this album with accents by putting forward the lyrical music of composers who took as inspiration monarchs from the history of the Old Continent. The incarnation of the various characters endorsed by Král captures our attention in a striking way with its round and woody timbre, sometimes full of rage and sometimes full of tenderness: a performance that inspires reverence. (Alexandre Villemaire)

Tim Bernardes
Mil Coisas Invis​í​veis (June)
Psychic Hotline
Brazilian, Freak Folk, Alternative

Listen Here

Tim Bernardes, a São Paulo native, is an artist writing music in this lineage of Brazilian singer-songwriters, and his sophomore effort, Mil coisas invisíveis, is a strong showcase for his personable and compelling songwriting The album has a real laid-back vibe to it with the primary texture being voice and guitar. The opening number, “Nascer, Viver, Morrer,” sets the tone; a soft and pensive song about living and dying that Bernardes sings with the coolness of a poet.  It is a rewarding listen and feels somehow both timeless and of its time, a rare feat. (Varun Swarup)

Haru Nemuri
Shunka Ryougen (April)
TO3S Records
Punk, hardcore, J-pop, prog, jazz-fusion

Listen Here

Known under the pseudonym Haru Nemuri, the Japanese gifted Haruna Kimishima has all the assets of the greatest avant-pop figures, those capable of changing the course of things. We took in her incredible emotional charge at Pop MTL last September, coming modestly with a single beatmaker. If she had been known in the West, she would be touring with the excellent musicians she invites to her studio in this second album, a work that is both dark and solar, both visceral and cerebral. Mixed with punk poetry, J-Pop, rap, soul-pop, hardcore rock, electro, choral singing, western classical or even jazz-fusion, Shunka Ryougen‘ teaches us about todays Japanese culture… and turns us on. (Alain Brunet)

Moor Mother
Jazz Codes (August)
ANTI
Electro, Brutalism, Jazz, Ambient

Listen Here

The “jazz codes” (and also those of soul or hip hop) are here brilliantly digested by the producer and Afro-American Moor Mother and thus reinjected into her noisy and radical art, giving it a voluptuousness and a depth that are not, after all, incompatible with its apparent roughness. The great ones of yesterday and today are evoked, from Jason Moran to Mary Lou Williams through Sun Ra and Jelly Roll Morton, these quotations are interwoven in a perfectly singular art. Moor Mother has established herself as an artist of immense culture whose works are also solid reflections on the creative process and the cultural legacy of her ancestors and contemporaries. (Alain Brunet)

Ezra Collective
Where I’m Meant to Be
(November)
Partisan
Jazz, afrobeat, grime, latin jazz, dancehall, reggae

Listen Here

Ezra Collective is a fixture on the London groove jazz scene, and this album is digging deeply in the vocabulary of Afrobeat, dub, Latin jazz, grime/hip hop, reggae, dancehall and electro sounds that are meant to feed the legacy of previous generations. Nigeria and the West Indies are invited to this jazzy feast to which are invited high-flying Englishmen such as the rappers Kojey Radical and Sampa the Great, the filmmaker and artist Steve McQueen or the singers Nao and Emely Sandé. This music could not grow anywhere else than in London, at
the confluence of Anglo-West Africa, the West Indies and the West, where jazz was born from the mixing of cultures. (Alain Brunet)

The Smile
A Light For Attracting Attention (May)
XL Recordings
Rock, Electro, Prog Rock

Listen Here

The two main heads of Radiohead were not used to working together in their parallel projects, hence the interest of The Smile which reunites them with Tom Skinner of Sons of Kemet. A Light For Attracting Attention indeed attracts our attention and informs us of their recent works. Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboard), Jonny Greenwood (guitar, bass, keyboard) and Tom Skinner (drums). The realization of the album is of Nigel Godrich who is to Radiohead what George Martin was to the Beatles: external member, essential member. One recognizes Thom Yorke’s touch, his favorite themes and chords, one contemplates the vast palette of Jonny Greenwood, one appreciates the excellent drummer… and one cannot avoid seeing in it an extension of Radiohead. (Alain Brunet)

Fresh Pepper
Fresh Pepper (June)
Telephone Explosion Records
Alternative, Adult Contemporary, Cooking Jazz

Listen Here

It was just weird enough. Just interesting enough. And just cool enough. The musicianship was great, and it paid homage to an industry I both love and hate.

Yes, there was something about Fresh Pepper. Ever since I first heard and reviewed it this past summer, I haven’t been able to forget about it. It still kicks around in the back of my brain. (Thomas Moultrie)

Denise Rabe
Blame Me (September)
Cri Du Coeur
Electro, Techno, Industrial

Listen Here

The uniqueness of Denise Rabe’s work is illustrated through the subtle blurring of lines between experimental and purely dancefloor-oriented techno, as evidenced by her latest EP ‘Blame Me’ – featuring remixes by The Advent, TWR72 and Cri Du Coeur. DJ and producer, the German has played in the most famous clubs in her country and has collaborated with atmospheric industrial and abstract techno figures such as producer Rrose and Shxcxchcxsh. (Elsa Fortant)

Lydia Képinski
Depuis (April)
Chivi Chivi
Pop, Art-pop

Listen Here

A true autobiographical account, Depuis, the second studio album of the author composer and performer explodes with intensity and originality. Only by listening carefully the album that we can honor the rich texts full of poetry and self-mockery of the author.On the other hand, it is undeniably in spectacle that one can really appreciate the real talent as a performer of Lydia Képinski and the intoxicating and dancing power of different synth-pop sounds explored on the album.(Genevieve Gauthier)

Rebecca Delle Piane
Soltera EP (July)
mord
Electronic, Techno

Listen Here

After a remarkable EP on Symbolism (Ben Sims) the Italian continues his rise with the release of a six titles (+ three in digital) at MORD, must-have European techno label of the last ten years.

The DJ unveils powerful dark techno productions where the effects of dissonance create a feeling of liberating oppression, enough to bring out the evil one who lies dormant in each of us. (Elsa Fortant)

Loraine James
Building Something Beautiful For Me
Phantom Limb
Électro, ambient, experimental, psychedelic, minimalist contemporary music

Listen Here

Among the revelations of the last MUTEK festival in MTL, the Afro-British producer and composer Loraine James has created a superb album at the crossroads of American minimalism, ambient and electronic psychedelia. She pays tribute here to the African-American composer Julius Eastman (1940-1990), who died of premature wear and tear, in material and psychological misery, in poverty and drug addiction. This comprehensive rereading of his little-known work indirectly reminds us that Steve Reich was inspired by the drums of Burundi to imagine his famous rhythmic shifts… and that he was not the only one to think that way. Loraine James underlines this in broad strokes and relaunches the work of hisancestor to the tragic destiny of the misunderstood artist to the point of self-destruction. (Alain Brunet)

The Weeknd
Dawn FM (January)
XO / Republic Records
Hip Hop, Dance-pop, Synth-pop

Listen Here

Nearly two years after the release of After Hours, the pop and R&B star has returned to the charge with Dawn FM, a somewhat less dark opus than its predecessor. In this album infused with retro sounds, The Weeknd immerses its listeners in the heart of 103.5 Dawn FM, a fictional radio station hosted by the famous Jim Carrey. This project is without any doubt (another) superb display of the Torontonian’s immense talent. (Jacob Langlois-Pelletier)

The 1975
Being Funny in a Foreign Language (October)
Dirty Hit
Pop-rock, Indie Rock, Funk, Alternative

Listen Here

Manchester alt-pop darlings The 1975 returned in 2022 with their fifth studio album. Being Funny is The 1975 at their very best, with refined compositions and gleaming production.

Despite connecting with an immortal sense of youth, The 1975 continues to adapt, shape shift, and grow alongside their audience—not for soundbites and trending audio, but for the love of being part of the band. (Lyle Hendriks)

Miriodor
Elements (October)
Cuneifrom Records
Experimental, art rock

Listen Here

The 10th studio album for the group, originally from Quebec, which rhymes progressive rock and contemporary music. In trio format (Bernard Falaise on guitars, Pascal Globensky on keyboards and Rémi Leclerc on percussion). Five years after Signal 9, the group maintains the form admirably and digs the vein that has earned them so much of success internationally (Réjean Beaucage)

Wand
Spiders in the Rain (October)
Drag City
Psych rock, Alternative

Listen Here

If there’s one show you’ve definitely missed, it’s Wand’s coming to Montreal. It’s a shame because the band is simply excellent live. Composed of a clever mix of post-rock, long periods of jamming and just a little Syd Barret psychedelic, this is an act that must be seen in concert. Spiders In The Rain, the group’s first live collection allows an acceptable compromise mixing an excellent recording with the energy of a crazy show! (Louis Garneau-Pilon)

Yaadcore
Reggaeland (March)
Delicious Vinyl Island
Trap, R&B, Hip-hop, Jazz

Listen Here

Rory Cha, aka DJ Yaadcore, producer of the Reggae Aroma mixtapes and founder of the platform Dubwise Jamaica, shows an unexpected progression with this first album, or he vocally shares the limelight with collaborators Pressure Busspipe, I Wayne, Jah9, the Subatomic Sound System—with which he takes over the monumental “Police In Helicopter” from John Holt- Richie Spice, Sarah Couch and the late Lee Scratch Perry, sampled on “Play God.” His texts, already more thought out than many of his contemporaries ring true, on rhythms by well-informed German, Swiss, American and Jamaican directors current roots sounds. And unlike the many DJs and dancers who recently improvise singers, Yaadcore has a real vocal talent that makes this first album one of the most remarkable of 2022. (Richard Lafrance)

November Ultra
bedroom walls (April
Universal Music, Virgin Records
RnB/Soul, French Indie Pop

Listen Here

This trilingual balance – enriching in that the sounds of different languages ​​bring to the song – punctuated by muted piano, discreet electronic sounds and stripped folk guitar (where the magic happens), between opera and lullaby, and a few digressions with oriental accents, brings just the right amount of poetry, candor, pain, perhaps too, and flavor to our little world. (Anne-Sophie Rassolo)

FKJ
V I N C E N T (June)
Mom + Pop
RnB/Soul, Alternative

Listen Here

FKJ’s latest is a rich and vibrant project, with deep and complex arrangements blending seamlessly into irresistible musical tapestries. Every piece feels like it was placed lovingly and with the utmost thought, and yet V I N C E N T never becomes too complicated for its own good.

FKJ brings his distinctive style into the modern age with V I N C E N T, and it’s a beautiful thing to behold. (Lyle Hendriks)

Wiz Khalifa
Multiverse (July)
Taylor Gang, Asylum
Hip-hop, R&B

Listen Here

Multiverse as a whole is way funkier and poppy than anything else Wiz Khalifa has ever done. Including lots of guitar strings and old-school synth sounds and drums throughout the production, the album is not shy in sharing Wiz’s delicious rhymes and flows either. Falling deeper into the throwback funk riffs and 90’s style hip-hop noises, Wiz is truly the Snoop Dogg of our generation. (CCJ Gabriel)

Burna Boy
Love, Damini (July)
Atlantic Records
Afrobeats, Hip-hop
, juju, soul/R&B
Listen Here

Burna Boy’s success on the world’s stages is certainly no accident. The music of the Nigerian is simply excellent! Master of Afrobeats, the singer-songwriter and great performer offers a composite music of juju, hip-hop, dancehall, soul/R&B, superb orchestral mix with keyboards, guitars, horns, reeds and everything, an approach that stands out from the clichés of the Afrobeats movement. A brilliant and sensual artist, the magnetic Burna Boy is already a dominant figure in Africa, especially since his art naturally links with the Americas, the Caribbean and the West. We want more! (Alain Brunet)

Les Louanges
Crash (January)
Bonsound
French rap, Indie rock, Hip-hop

Listen Here

Les Louanges aka Vincent Roberge released his second album Crash last January. A mix of electro-pop and R&B that demonstrates that her is one of the most talented artists of his generation in French speaking America.

The 15 songs of “Crash” are as moving as they are catchy and bear witness to the singer’s ability to create an album without weak points, or even flaws (Arielle Caron)

Gone Girl (May)

Bonsound

Neo soul / R&B

Listen HERE

Gone Girl reveals Magi Merlin, the strongest neo soul singer to emerge from the Montreal scene, this recording has only 7 tracks but here, quality far outweighs quantity. The composer and beatmaker Funkywhat did a great job for the young soul/R&B singer, who is also open to other sounds, such as house or even dance-punk. Most observers applaud her extraordinary progress since her breakthrough two years ago. International success in the near future? It is allowed to believe it. (Djazia Idir)

Latest 360 Content

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Botanist – Paleobotany

Botanist – Paleobotany

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Nino Carlos &  Friends – Placenta

Nino Carlos & Friends – Placenta

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

LES 100 MEILLEURS ALBUMS DE 2022 SELON PAN M 360 (1ÈRE PARTIE)

· par Rédaction PAN M 360

Avec la pandémie qui semble se résorber, il s’est créé beaucoup de musique en 2022. Que faire pour trier le bon grain de l’ivraie? Nous, de PAN M 360, pensons que nous ne sommes pas que des critiques et des journalistes culturels, mais aussi des prescripteurs de musique à une époque où il est plus compliqué que jamais d’identifier les meilleurs sons en circulation. À la fois experts et sans prétention, doit-on ajouter.

Alors ? Voici le premier volet de notre Top 100 des meilleurs albums en 2022, plus précisément la première de 4 parties. Vous observerez qu’il n’y a pas de classement dans cette liste, pas d’ordre de styles, pas de hiérarchie de sons, même pas d’ordre alphabétique.

Pourquoi donc ? Parce que nous pensons sincèrement que les mélomanes n’ont pas besoin de telles structures hiérarchiques afin qu’ils se fassent leur propre opinion après nous avoir fait confiance. Souhaitons donc que vous débusquerez ici de l’excellente nouvelle musique à la veille de la nouvelle année !

Hatis Noit
Aura (juin)
Erased Tapes
A Cappella, expérimental, ambient
Écoutez ICI

Originaire du Japon et établie à Londres, Hatis Noit est devenue une artiste de la voix après avoir été profondément émue par le chant d’un moine bouddhiste lors d’un voyage au Népal. Autodidacte, elle développera sa voix en s’inspirant du gagaku, de l’opéra, des chants bulgares et grégoriens, ainsi que de l’avant-garde et de la pop. Composant une musique que l’on pourrait qualifier à la fois digne et sauvage, cette voix mi-humaine, mi-animale chante avec extase : parfois à travers des chœurs composés de sa propre voix (superposée), ailleurs en solitaire, bercée de bruits ambiants. Merveilleux. (Isabelle Marceau)

Denzel Curry
Melt My Eyez See Your Future (mars)
Loma Vista
Hip Hop

Écoutez ICI

Ayant bénéficié des contributions d’une brochette de collaborateurs particulièrement éclectique- Robert Glasper, A-Track, JPEGMafia, Saul Williams, Kenny Beats, Thundercat, Slowthai et plusieurs autres – le plus récent opus de Denzel Curry est pourtant étonnamment homogène. C’est aussi son œuvre la plus introspective à ce jour. Plus solide que jamais, le mc floridien s’inspire de la nu-soul des années quatre-vingt-dix tout en ayant les yeux bien braqués vers le futur. (Steve Naud)

Wilco
Cruel Country (mai)
dBPM Records
Americana, country, indie folk

Écoutez ICI

Je suis rarement, voire jamais déçu par un nouvel album de Wilco. Et lorsque Wilco revient à ses racines country avec leur dernier album, j’en suis ravi. Un album tentaculaire et solide. A Lifetime to Find, Many Worlds et Country Song Upside-Down se distinguent pour moi. (Thomas Moultrie)

Carbon 96 (Peder Mannerfelt)
Carbonated (juillet)
Peder Mannerfelt Produktion
Électronique, techno

Écoutez ICI

D’une sublime noirceur, Carbon 96 se révèle tout simplement prophétique. Peder, en collaboration, ici, avec Ciarra Black, explorent les limites de l’expérimentation symphonique avec Hyper Hunter et Club Soda. Voilà une une approche avant-gardiste de la techno dite contemporaine. À la recherche constante de sons à sortir de son laboratoire offrant de nouvelles perspectives, il nous a livré un récit en deux volets. Le premier épisode est caverneux et terreux. Dans une répétition quasi religieuse à sombrer dans un état de transe, l’intensité industrielle développe une atmosphère envoûtante. Le second renvoie une tout autre image. Épicée par des soubresauts de shakers, de rythmes dubstep et autres sons contondants, la musique de Zoë Mc Pherson, révolutionne la techno depuis la Suède. Ses productions sont riches de diversité stylistique, offrant ainsi une vue macroscopique de ce que le large spectre de la musique électronique recouvre, loin des clichés commerciaux. Le messie Peder Mannerfelt ouvre ainsi la voie à une nouvelle ère du son. (Salima Bouaraour)

Tomáš Král, Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Jarosław Thiel
Kings in the North (octobre)
Aparté
Classique, baroque, opéra

Écoutez ICI

Le baryton tchèque Tomáš Král se pare de différentes couronnes sur cet album aux accents royaux en mettant de l’avant la musique lyrique de compositeurs ayant pris comme inspiration des monarques issus de l’histoire du Vieux Continent. L’incarnation des divers personnages endossés par Král capte notre attention de manière saisissante avec son timbre rond et boisé, tantôt plein de rage et tantôt plein de tendresse : une performance qui inspire révérence. (Alexandre Villemaire)

Tim Bernardes
Mil Coisas Invisíveis (juin)
Psychic Hotline

Listen Here

Un Nick Drake brésilien avec un look de Frank Zappa ? Une énorme surprise ce second album de l’artiste paolista (de Sao Paolo) de 31 ans. Des ballades folk avec arrangements orchestraux somptueux et très originaux. Imprégnés d’influences bossa et tropicalia, mais résolument contemporaines. Tim Bernardes parle de ce pays compliqué et ses divisions tout en réfléchissant beaucoup sur la vie. Il joue plusieurs instruments et à réalisé un bon nombre des arrangements orchestraux. Un nouveau génie brésilien? Espérons l’entendre bientôt dans nos terres. (Michel Labrecque)

Haru Nemuri
Shunka Ryougen (avril)
TO3S Records
Punk, hardcore, J-pop, prog, jazz-fusion

Écoutez ICI

Connue sous le pseudo Haru Nemuri, la surdouée japonaise Haruna Kimishima a tous les atouts des plus grandes figures avant-pop, celles capables de modifier le cours des choses. On a encaissé son incroyable charge émotive à Pop Montréal en septembre dernier, venue en éclaireuse avec un seul beatmaker. Si elle avait été connue en Occident, elle tournerait avec les excellents musiciens qu’elle convoque en studio dans ce deuxième album studio, une œuvre à la fois sombre et solaire, à la fois viscérale et cérébrale. Mâtiné de poésie punk, de J-Pop, rap, soul-pop, rock hardcore, d’électro, chant choral, classique occidental ou même jazz-fusion, l’opus Shunka Ryougen nous instruit sur la culture nipponne d’aujourd’hui… en plus de nous séduire profondément. (Alain Brunet)

Moor Mother
Jazz Codes (août)
ANTI
Electro, Brutalism, Jazz, Ambient

Écoutez ICI

Les « codes du jazz » (et aussi ceux de la soul ou du hip hop) sont ici absorbés par la productrice et afro-américaine Moor Mother et ainsi réinjectés dans son art bruitiste et radical, lui conférant ici une volupté et une profondeur qui ne sont pas, somme toute, incompatibles avec sa rugosité apparente. Y sont évoqués les grands d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, de Jason Moran à Mary Lou Williams en passant par Sun Râ et Jelly Roll Morton, ces citations s’imbriquent dans un art parfaitement singulier. Moor Mother s’impose ici comme une artiste d’une immense culture dont les œuvres sont aussi de solides réflexions sur le processus créatif et le legs culturel de ses ancêtres et contemporains. (Alain Brunet)

Ezra Collective
Where I’m Meant to Be
(novembre)
Partisan
Jazz, afrobeat, grime, latin jazz, dancehall, reggae

Écoutez ICI
Ezra Collective est un incontournable du jazz groove ayant germé sur la scène londonienne, et cet album témoigne d’un vocabulaire empreint d’afrobeat, dub, latin jazz, grime/hip hop, reggae, dancehall et sons électros dont l’objet est d’alimenter le legs des générations précédentes. Le Nigeria et les antilles anglaises s’invitent à ce festin jazzy auquel sont conviés des Anglais de haute volée tels que les rappeurs Kojey Radical et Sampa the Great, le cinéaste et artiste Steve McQueen ou encore les chanteuse Nao et Emely Sandé. Cette musique ne pourrait pousser ailleurs qu’à Londres, au confluent de l’Afrique de l’Ouest anglo, des West Indies et de l’Occident où le jazz a est né de cultures métissées. (Alain Brunet)

The Smile
A Light For Attracting Attention (mai)
XL Recordings
Rock, électro, prog rock

Écoutez ICI

Les deux têtes principales de la Tête de radio n’avaient pas l’habitude de travailler ensemble dans leurs projets parallèles, d’où l’intérêt de The Smile qui les réunit à Tom Skinner, qu’on a connu au sein des Sons of Kemet. Sorti en mai dernier, l’album A Light For Attracting Attention attire effectivement notre attention et nous informe des récents travaux. Thom Yorke (chant, guitare, basse, clavier) , Jonny Greenwood (guitare, basse, clavier) et Tom Skinner (batterie). La réalisation de l’album est de Nigel Godrich qui est à Radiohead ce que George Martin fut aux Beatles : membre externe, membre essentiel. On reconnaît bien la patte de Thom Yorke, ses thèmes et accords préférés, on contemple la vaste palette de Jonny Greenwood, on apprécie l’excellent batteur… et l’on ne peut éviter d’y voir un prolongement de Radiohead, néanmoins inspiré et créatif pour l’enregistrement, plus cru et moins subtil sur scène. (Alain Brunet)

Fresh Pepper
Fresh Pepper (juin)
Telephone Explosion Records
Alternatif, adulte contemporain, jazz

Écoutez ICI

C’était juste assez bizarre. Juste assez intéressant. Et juste assez cool. Les musiciens étaient excellents, et ça rendait hommage à une industrie que j’aime et que je déteste à la fois. Oui, Fresh Pepper avait quelque chose de spécial. Depuis que je l’ai écouté et chroniqué l’été dernier, je n’ai pu l’oublier. Il me trotte encore dans la tête. (Thomas Moultrie)

Denise Rabe
Blame Me (septembre)
Cri Du Coeur
Électro, techno, industriel

Écoutez ICI

L’unicité de l’œuvre de Denise Rabe s’illustre à travers le brouillage subtil des frontières entre l’expérimental et la techno purement orientée dancefloor, comme le prouve son dernier EP Blame Me – avec des remix de The Advent, TWR72 et Cri Du Cœur. DJ et productrice, l’Allemande a joué dans les clubs les plus réputés de son pays et a collaboré avec des figures de l’industriel atmosphérique et de l’abstract techno comme le producteur Rrose et Shxcxchcxsh. (Elsa Fortant)

Lydia Képinski
Depuis (avril)
Chivi Chivi
Pop, Art-pop

Écoutez ICI

Véritable récit autobiographique, Depuis, le deuxième album studio de l’autrice compositrice et interprète détonne d’intensité et d’originalité. Ce n’est qu’en écoutant attentivement l’album que l’on peut rendre honneur aux riches textes empreints de poésie et d’autodérision de l’autrice. Par contre, c’est indéniablement en spectacle qu’on peut vraiment apprécier le véritable talent d’interprète de Lydia Képinski et le pouvoir enivrant et dansant des différentes sonorités synth-pop explorées sur l’album. (Geneviève Gauthier)

Rebecca Delle Piane
Soltera EP (juillet)
mord
Électronique, techno

Écoutez ICI

Après un EP remarquable chez Symbolism (Ben Sims) l’Italienne poursuit son ascension avec la sortie d’un six titres (+ trois en digital) chez MORD, label européen techno incontournable des dix dernières années. La DJ dévoile des productions dark techno puissantes où les effets de dissonance créent un sentiment d’oppression libératrice, de quoi faire sortir le malin qui sommeille en chacun de nous. (Elsa Fortant)

Loraine James
Building Something Beautiful For Me (octobre)
Phantom Limb
Électro, ambient, expérimental, psychédélique, musique contemporaine, minimaliste

Écoutez ICI

Parmi les révélations du dernier festival MUTEK à MTL, la productrice et compositrice afro-britannique Loraine James a réalisé un superbe album à la croisée du minimalisme américain, de l’ambient et du psychédélisme électronique. Elle rend ici hommage au compositeur afro-américain Julius Eastman (1940-1990), mort d’usure prématurée, dans la misère matérielle et psychologique, dans la pauvreté et la toxicomanie. Cette relecture de son œuvre méconnue nous rappelle indirectement que Steve Reich s’est inspiré des tambours du Burundi pour imaginer ses fameux décalages rythmiques… et qu’il n’était pas le seul à penser ainsi. Loraine James le souligne à grands traits et relance l’œuvre de son ancêtre au destin tragique, de l’artiste incompris jusqu’à l’autodestruction. (Alain Brunet)

The Weeknd
Dawn FM (janvier)
XO / Republic Records
Hip-hop, dance-pop, synth-pop, pop

Écoutez ICI

Près de deux ans après la parution d’After Hours, la star de la pop et du R&B est revenue à la charge avec Dawn FM, un opus quelque peu moins sombre que son précédent. Dans cet album infusé de sonorités rétros, The Weeknd plonge ses auditeurs au cœur de 103,5 Dawn FM, une station de radio fictive animée par le célèbre Jim Carrey. Ce projet est sans aucun doute une (autre) superbe démonstration de l’immense talent pop du Torontois. (Jacob Langlois-Pelletier)

The 1975
Being Funny in a Foreign Language (octobre)
Dirty Hit
Pop-rock, indie rock, funk, alt-pop

Écoutez ICI

Groupe chouchou de la scène alt-pop de Manchester, The 1975 revient en 2022 avec un cinquième album studio. Being Funny est le meilleur de The 1975, avec des compositions raffinées et une production étincelante. Bien que ses artisans soient liés à un sentiment de jeunesse immortelle, The 1975 continue de s’adapter, de changer de forme et de grandir aux côtés de leur public – non pas pour les extraits sonores et les tendances audio, mais pour l’amour de faire partie du groupe. (Lyle Hendriks)

Miriodor
Elements (octobre)
Cuneifrom Records
Expérimental, art rock

Écoutez ICI

Voilà le 10e album studio pour le groupe originaire de Québec, qui fait rimer rock progressif et musique actuelle. Miriodor refait ainsi surface en format trio, soit Bernard Falaise aux guitares, Pascal Globensky aux claviers et Rémi Leclerc aux percussions. Cinq ans après la sortie de Signal 9, le groupe maintient admirablement la forme et creuse le filon qui lui vaut tant de succès à l’international. (Réjean Beaucage)

Wand
Spiders in the Rain (octobre)
Drag City
Rock psychédélique, alternati
f
Écoutez ICI

S’il y a un événement que vous avez certainement manqué, c’est la venue de Wand à Montréal. C’est bien dommage parce que le groupe est tout simplement excellent en live. Composé d’un savant mélange de post-rock, de longues périodes de jam et juste un peu de psychédélisme à la Syd Barret, il s’agit d’un art qui se doit d’être vu et entendu en spectacle. Spiders In The Rain, la première collection en spectacle du groupe permet un compromis acceptable mêlant un excellent enregistrement avec l’énergie d’un spectacle déjanté! (Louis Garneau- Pilon

Yaadcore
Reggaeland (mars)
Delicious Vinyl Island
Roots reggae, trap, R&B, hip-hop, jazz

Écoutez ICI

Rory Cha, alias DJ Yaadcore, réalisateur des mixtapes Reggae Aroma et fondateur de la plateforme Dubwise Jamaica, affiche une progression inespérée avec ce premier album, ou il partage vocalement la vedette avec ses collaborateurs Pressure Busspipe, I Wayne, Jah9, le Subatomic Sound System- avec qui il reprend la monumentale Police In Helicopter de John Holt- Richie Spice, Sarah Couch et le regretté Lee Scratch Perry, échantillonné sur Play God. Ses textes, déjà plus songés et plus justes que beaucoup de ses contemporains, se couchent sur des rythmiques de réalisateurs allemands, suisses, américains et jamaïcains bien au fait des sonorités roots actuelles. Et contrairement aux nombreux DJs et danseurs qui s’improvisent récemment chanteurs, Yaadcore possède un véritable talent vocal qui fait de ce premier album l’un des plus remarquables de 2022. (Richard Lafrance)

November Ultra
bedroom walls (avril)
Universal Music, Virgin Records
Soul/ R&B, indie pop, variété française

Écoutez ICI

November Ultra, c’est la révélation de l’année dont la douceur s’est diffusée comme une traînée de poudre. Elle porte en elle toute la puissance et l’élégance des harmonies guidées par les émotions. Son emblématique Soft & Tender résume à lui seul son univers tendre et sa voix grave enclenche les larmes mais désarme les peurs. Pour tous ceux que cette année n’a pas épargné, elle a été ce pansement sur le cœur, avec un humour sans pareil lors de ses live, et une précision inouïe dans le placement de ses notes, et de son intention. L’équilibre trilingue (anglais, français, espagnol, du fait de ses origines) repose sur un ensemble de guitares folk dépouillées et de sons électroniques discrets, et de piano qu’elle a soigneusement mixés durant une année entière. Rien n’a été laissé au hasard, pour que Nova transperce 2022 et nos corps, depuis sa chambre rose. (Anne-Sophie Rasolo)

FKJ
V I N C E N T (juin)
Mom + Pop
Soul/R&B, alternatif

Écoutez ICI

Le dernier album de FKJ se veut un projet riche et vibrant, avec des guitares santanesques, des arrangements profonds et complexes qui se fondent parfaitement dans d’irrésistibles tapisseries musicales. Chaque morceau semble avoir été placé avec amour et avec la plus grande attention. Et pourtant, l’art V I N C E N T ne devient jamais trop compliqué. Pour le meilleur ! Ainsi, FKJ introduit son style distinctif dans l’ère moderne avec V I N C E N T, et c’est une belle chose à voir. (Lyle Hendriks)

Wiz Khalifa
Multiverse (juillet)
Taylor Gang, Asylum
Hip-hop, R&B

Écoutez ICI

Dans l’ensemble, Multiverse est beaucoup plus funky et poppy que tout ce que Wiz Khalifa a fait jusqu’à présent. L’album comprend tout plein de cordes de guitare et de sons de synthétiseurs et de tambours de la vieille école, mais il n’hésite pas non plus à partager les rimes et les flows délicieux de Wiz. En se plongeant dans les riffs funk et les bruits hip-hop des années 90, Wiz m’apparaît vraiment comme le Snoop Dogg de ma génération. (CCJ Gabriel)

Burna Boy
Love, Damini (juillet)
Atlantic Records
Afrobeats, hip-hop
, juju, soul/R&B
Écoutez ICI

Le tabac de Burna Boy sur les scènes du monde n’est certes pas l’effet du hasard. La musique du Nigérian est tout simplement excellente ! Maître-es afrobeats, le chanteur propose une musique composite de juju, hip-hop, dancehall, soul/R&B superbe mélange orchestral avec claviers, guitares, cuivres, anches et tout et tout, approche se démarquant des clichés de la mouvance afrobeats. Artiste brillant et sensuel, le magnétique Burna Boy est d’ores et déjà une figure dominante de l’Afrique, d’autant plus que son art se lie naturellement avec les Amériques, les Antilles et l’Occident. On en veut encore plus ! (Alain Brunet)

Les Louanges
Crash (janvier)
Bonsound
Rap kab, indie pop, hip-hop, soul-jazz, synth-pop

Écoutez ICI

Les Louanges, alias Vincent Roberge, sortait son deuxième album en janvier dernier. Crash est un mélange de synth-pop et de R&B qui démontre que notre homme est l’un des artistes les plus talentueux de sa génération. Les 15 chansons au programme sont autant émouvantes qu’entraînantes et témoignent de la capacité du chanteur à créer un album sans faiblesses, sans défauts apparents. (Arielle Caron)

Magi Merlin

Gone Girl (mai)

Bonsound

Néo soul / R&B

Écoutez ICI

Gone Girl révèle Magi Merlin, la plus solide des chanteuses néo soul à émerger de la scène montréalaise, cet enregistrement ne comporte que 7 titres mais ici, la qualité l’emporte largement sur la quantité. Le compositeur et beatmaker Funkywhat a fait du très bon boulot pour la jeune chanteuse soul/R&B, aussi ouverte à d’autres sonorités, on pense entre autres à la house ou même au dance-punk. La plupart des observateurs applaudissent ses progrès extraordinaires depuis son éclosion il y a deux ans. Succès international dans un avenir proche ? Il est permis de le croire. (Djazia Idir)

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre