×
Country : France Label : Warner Classics Genres and styles : Baroque / Classical / Neoclassical Year : 2020
Camille & Julie Berthollet

Nos 4 saisons

· by Réjean Beaucage

We like “renewed” interpretations and “revisited” works, even “rewritten” (or “recomposed”, like Brian Eno’s alterations of Max Richter’s Four Seasons or Pachelbel’s Canon). Because each new reading reveals something of the original. And as with The Rite of Spring (of which The Bad Plus did a magnificent trio version) or the Ninth (of which you may know the interpretation by the Camerata Cassovia ensemble, accompanied on drums by Massimo Aiello), there are more than 1000 recordings of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Moreover, it is a work of the Baroque period, so many details are left to the taste of the performer; ornamentation, dynamics and even tempi are likely to be personalised by the soloist of the day, and this is what makes this or that version good or bad.

Camille and Julie Berthollet are stars of classical music in France, and Paris-Match readily refers to them as the “prodigy sisters”. In order to stand out from the crowd when playing this super-familiar work, they had to go overboard, and that’s what we’re given here: a accelerated version in which virtuosity becomes somewhat flashy, and some movements will not displease fans of cello metal à la Apocalyptica. The first four concertos in the collection are axe-carved, some movements being really rough, while others, such as the Adagio molto from “L’Automne”, show a restraint of exquisite taste. In short, a rollercoaster version that is perhaps, after all, more faithful to the idea of what a year should be like, with well-defined seasons, rather than a long grey period followed by three summer days?

The multi-instrumentalist sisters (Julie is a violinist, violist and pianist, Camille a violinist and cellist) are also singers, and they offer in addition four songs very freely inspired by the concertos of the “red priest”. It’s excessively mawkish and, frankly, one wonders what it’s doing next to Vivaldi, with whom it shares absolutely nothing. It’s a really strange choice, all the more so because after these pop songs, we come back to Vivaldi and the strings of the Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse for three movements taken from concertos of L’estro armonico. The whole thing ends with a remix in which Laurent Marimbert adds rhythm box behind the largo theme of “Spring”. If only it would make it move faster…

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : France Label : Warner Classics Genres et styles : baroque / classique / néoclassique Année : 2020
Camille & Julie Berthollet

Nos 4 saisons

· par Réjean Beaucage

On aime bien les interprétations « renouvelées » et les œuvres « revisitées », voire « réécrites » (ou « recomposées » comme, justement, Les quatre saisons de Max Richter ou le Canon de Pachelbel passé dans le tordeur par Brian Eno). Parce que chaque nouvelle lecture révèle quelque chose de l’originale. Et comme pour Le Sacre du printemps (dont The Bad Plus a fait en trio une version magnifique) ou la Neuvième (dont vous connaissez peut-être l’interprétation de l’ensemble Camerata Cassovia accompagné à la batterie par Massimo Aiello), il existe plus de 1000 enregistrements des Quatre saisons de Vivaldi. De plus, il s’agit d’une œuvre de l’époque baroque, alors de nombreux détails sont laissés au goût de l’interprète; ornementations, dynamiques et même tempi sont susceptibles d’être personnalisés par le ou la soliste du jour, et c’est ce qui fait le bonheur, ou le malheur, de telle ou telle version.

Camille et Julie Berthollet sont des stars de la musique classique en France et Paris-Match les qualifie volontiers de « sœurs prodiges ». Pour se démarquer en jouant cette œuvre archiconnue, il fallait faire dans l’excessif, et c’est ce qu’on nous donne ici : une version de course dans laquelle la virtuosité devient quelque peu tape-à-l’œil et dont certains mouvements ne déplairont pas aux amateurs de Cello Rock à la Apocalyptica. Les quatre premiers concertos du recueil La confrontation de l’harmonie et de l’invention sont ici taillés à la hache, certains mouvements étant vraiment rugueux, tandis que d’autres, comme l’Adagio molto de « L’Automne », témoignent d’une retenue d’un goût exquis. Bref, une version en montagnes russes qui est peut-être, après tout, plus fidèle à l’idée que l’on se fait de ce que devrait être une année, avec des saisons bien découpées, plutôt qu’une longue grisaille suivie de trois jours d’été…

Les sœurs multi-instrumentistes (Julie est violoniste, altiste et pianiste, Camille est violoniste et violoncelliste) sont aussi chanteuses, et elles offrent en sus quatre chansons très librement inspirées des concertos du « prêtre roux ». C’est mièvre à l’excès et, franchement, on se demande un peu ce que ça fait à côté de Vivaldi, avec qui ça ne partage strictement rien. Un choix vraiment très étrange, d’autant plus qu’après ces chansons pop, on revient à Vivaldi et aux cordes de l’Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse pour trois mouvements extraits de concertos de L’estro armonico. Le tout se termine avec un remix dans lequel Laurent Marimbert ajoute de la boîte à rythme derrière le thème du largo du « Printemps ». Si au moins ça le faisait arriver plus vite…

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre