×
Country : Germany Label : Capriccio Genres and styles : Modern Classical Year : 2021

Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919-1996) – Die Passagierin (The Passenger)

· by Frédéric Cardin

Do you like Shostakovich? You absolutely must listen to the music of his friend and colleague Weinberg, Mieczyslaw by name! The same vibrant energy, the same post-romantic/modern tonal language, with a few perfectly calibrated incursions into an atonality that serves only to magnify the drama, the same lyricism overflowing with melancholy, the same melodic inflections rooted in popular and folk music. All this, however, with a personality of the lesser-known that never fades before the posterity of the more famous.

This recording of the opera Die Passagierin (The Passenger) is an event. We are confronted with a major work, which I would even call essential, in the panorama of the 20th-century repertoire. 

“I will never tire of the pleasure that Weinberg’s La passagere offers me. I have heard it three times, I have studied the score, and each time I have realized even more strongly the beauty and grandeur of this music.”

Dmitri Chostakovitch

The opera, which is quite short, is in two acts and tells the story of Lisa, sailing to Brazil on a transatlantic ship with her husband Walter, in 1959. Lisa encounters a passenger who triggers the repressed memories of the Second World War years. The passenger strangely reminds her of Marta, a prisoner of Auschwitz, the camp where Lisa was a guard. Ghosts from the past reappear in her mind, her unacknowledged but oppressive guilt derails her mind, and her shared responsibility for the horror of that time is projected before the listener in dramatic flashbacks.

The plethora of orchestration (including three bassoons, six horns, saxophone, celesta, guitar, jazz drums, accordion, and more) never descends into unnecessary sonic orgy. Weinberg is a fine musical dramatist and uses his very broad palette as the source of a subtle and delicate, yet emotionally powerful, expressiveness. Here is a drama steeped in sarcasm as much as the dark lyricism of a master storyteller. A few flashes of light, even playfulness, also dot their harmonies here and there.

2010 version, produced in Bregenz:

The soloists are solid and convincing, the orchestra is splendid. You will certainly be interested in a video recording of this opera, made in 2010 in Bregenz and conducted by the dazzling Teodor Currentzis, also indispensable. But the purely audio recording treated here has the advantage of immersing the music lover in Weinberg’s discreet orchestral opulence and the personal drama that transpires in the voices of the soloists. An opera that must imperatively enter the natural repertoire of our lyric temples.  

As I said, it’s essential.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Allemagne Label : Capriccio Genres et styles : classique moderne Année : 2021

Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919-1996) – Die Passagierin (The Passenger)

· par Frédéric Cardin

Vous aimez Chostakovitch? Vous devez absolument écouter la musique de son ami et confrère Weinberg, Mieczyslaw de son prénom! Même énergie vibrante, même langage tonal post-romantique/moderne, avec quelques incursions parfaitement calibrées dans une atonalité qui ne sert qu’à magnifier le drame, même lyrisme débordant de mélancolie, mêmes inflexions mélodiques enracinées dans la musique populaire et folklorique. Tout cela, cependant, avec une personnalité du moins connu qui ne s’efface jamais devant la postérité du plus célèbre. 

Cet enregistrement de l’opéra Die Passagierin (La passagère) est un événement. Nous sommes confrontés à une œuvre majeure, que je qualifierais même d’essentielle, dans le panorama du répertoire du 20e siècle. 

Je ne me lasserai jamais du plaisir que m’offre La passagère de Weinberg. Je l’ai entendu trois fois, j’ai étudié la partition, et chaque fois j’ai constaté avec encore plus de force la beauté et la grandeur de cette musique.

Dmitri Chostakovitch

L’opéra, assez court, se déroule en deux actes et raconte l’histoire de Lisa, voguant vers le Brésil à bord d’un transatlantique avec son mari Walter, en 1959. Lisa croise une passagère qui fait exploser en elle les souvenirs refoulés des années de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La passagère lui rappelle étrangement Marta, une prisonnière d’Auschwitz, camp dans lequel Lisa était gardienne. Les fantômes du passé réapparaissent dans son esprit, sa culpabilité, non avouée mais oppressante, fait dérailler son esprit, et sa responsabilité partagée dans l’horreur de cette époque est projetée devant l’auditeur en flashbacks dramatiques.

L’orchestration pléthorique (entre autres : trois bassons, six cors, un saxophone, un célesta, une guitare, une batterie jazz, un accordéon, et j’en passe) ne sombre jamais dans l’orgie sonore inutile. Weinberg est un fin dramaturge musical et utilise sa très large palette comme la source d’une expressivité subtile et délicate, bien qu’émotionnellement puissante. Voici un drame bien trempé dans le sarcasme autant que le lyrisme ténébreux d’un maître raconteur. Quelques éclats de lumière, voire de ludisme, pointent également leurs harmonies ici et là.

Version 2010, montée à Bregenz:

Les solistes sont solides et convaincants, l’orchestre est splendide. Vous serez certainement intéressés par une captation vidéo de cet opéra, réalisée en 2010 à Bregenz et dirigée par l’ébouriffant Teodor Currentzis, également indispensable. Mais l’enregistrement purement audio ici traité a l’avantage de plonger le mélomane dans l’opulence orchestrale discrète de Weinberg et le drame personnel qui transparaît dans les voix des solistes. Un opéra qui doit impérativement entrer dans le répertoire naturel de nos temples lyriques. 

Essentiel.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre