Country : Hungary Label : Harmonia Mundi Genres and styles : Avant-Garde / Contemporary Year : 2022

Anna Prohaska/Isabelle Faust – Kurtag : Kafka Fragmente

· by Frédéric Cardin

It is a singular experience to plunge into the musical universe of György Kurtág, the Hungarian composer who celebrated his 96th birthday last February. One finds oneself absorbed in a Dadaist maelstrom of sounds, textures, and kaleidoscopic emotions of profound originality. At once hyper avant-garde but not cerebral, Kurtág has made his music a Big Bang parallel to that of the Second Viennese School (Schoenberg-Webern, and those who followed including Pierre Boulez). A Singularity in orbit around, or rather with, the equally unique astral entity that was Ligeti (another György)!


György Kurtág – Photo: Andrea Felvégi, Bridgeman Images

Kafka-Fragmente was begun in 1985 when Kurtág was fascinated by short sentences and fragments from Franz Kafka’s texts intended only for private use (diaries, letters to friends, etc.). The composer detected a central theme, a vital leitmotif: that of wandering. Thus Kurtág put down on paper, almost without thinking too much about it, idealistic, motivic, and melodic spurts that ended up being grouped together in a cycle of lieder of 40 pieces, on average very short (between 20 seconds and one or two minutes), but some of which go on to four, and even seven minutes. These constitute what is called ‘the path’, both in the literal sense of a path physically traversed in a labyrinth and in the figurative sense that the walker is in fact someone who is searching or questioning him or herself. You will have quickly understood that this staging conjures up a whole host of images of detours, sudden stops, uncertainty, accelerated straight-line flight and sharp turns. The imaginary walker is assailed by excitement, hope, perplexity, doubt, and discouragement.

Kurtág’s genius is to have reduced the musical material to a kind of ultra-concentration, like a writer of haikus that are particularly precise in their economy and immense in their depth. First of all, through the instrumentation: a voice (Anna Prohaska, sublime and in perfect control of the astronomical difficulty of the score) and a violin (Isabelle Faust, an indispensable travelling companion, transcendent and exercising a blinding technical clarity). Then, above all, in the use of motifs and sound fragments of great economy which interweave, juxtapose, link and respond to each other in every way imaginable in terms of contemporary musical techniques, but always with extreme delicacy. Spun sounds, snarled musical lines, discordant noises, anxious canons, and even some references to Eastern European folk music are conveyed.

The result is an emulsion of ideas that the two performers have to exchange with diabolical skill through nanometrically narrow interstitial spaces. But it is here, in this quantum mechanics of music of the infinitely small, that Kurtág achieves the total reversal of the creative explosion: a complete and infinite universe of meaning and significance is thus created, starting from almost nothing.

Oh, don’t be fooled: Kafka-Fragmente op. 24 is not an easy listen. And the veil of understanding may not be lifted with just one first listen. But as with Alice’s hole, if your search leads to discovery, the world thus revealed will be overwhelming, for better or for worse.

For music lovers who want to compare, a 2006 version with Juliane Banse (a soprano more scintillating than Prohaska’s fleshy tone) and Andras Keller on the ECM label is a must.

Latest 360 Content

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Joel Ross – nublues

Joel Ross – nublues

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

A Very Elegant Marriage of Strings and Jazz

A Very Elegant Marriage of Strings and Jazz

Marc-André Hamelin – New Piano Works

Marc-André Hamelin – New Piano Works

OSM | Variations on a Theme With Louis Lortie et Eun Sun Kim

OSM | Variations on a Theme With Louis Lortie et Eun Sun Kim

Alex Southey – God’s Green Earth

Alex Southey – God’s Green Earth

Galan Trio – Kinesis vol. 2

Galan Trio – Kinesis vol. 2

Vanessa Marcoux – Cendres

Vanessa Marcoux – Cendres

Waxamillion – Steezy

Waxamillion – Steezy

Single of the Day – ChabiFönK Experience – Pandora Project

Single of the Day – ChabiFönK Experience – Pandora Project

CRAWL – Damned

CRAWL – Damned

Chelsea Wolfe – She Reaches Out to She Reaches Out to She

Chelsea Wolfe – She Reaches Out to She Reaches Out to She

Didem Başar: Music, space, time Continuum

Didem Başar: Music, space, time Continuum

On the credibility of Bob Marley One Love

On the credibility of Bob Marley One Love

Taverne Tour Day 3: Last Waltzon Tears It Wide Open

Taverne Tour Day 3: Last Waltzon Tears It Wide Open

Taverne Tour Day 3: Ducks Ltd. is Mirror-Polished Pop

Taverne Tour Day 3: Ducks Ltd. is Mirror-Polished Pop

Bela Fleck – Rhapsody in Blue

Bela Fleck – Rhapsody in Blue

Flutist Aram Mun wins McGill Concerto Competition

Flutist Aram Mun wins McGill Concerto Competition

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : Hongrie Label : Harmonia Mundi Genres et styles : avant-garde / musique contemporaine Année : 2022

Anna Prohaska/Isabelle Faust – Kurtag : Kafka Fragmente

· par Frédéric Cardin

C’est une expérience singulière que de plonger dans l’univers musical de György Kurtág, compositeur hongrois qui a fêté son 96e anniversaire le 19 février dernier. On se retrouve absorbé dans un maelstrom dadaïste de sons, de textures et d’émotions kaléidoscopiques d’une profonde originalité. À la fois hyper avant-gardiste mais pas cérébral pour autant, Kurtág a fait de sa musique un Big Bang parallèle à celui de la Seconde école de Vienne (Schoenberg-Webern, et ceux qui ont suivi dont Pierre Boulez). Un Singularité en orbite autour de, ou plutôt avec, l’entité astrale tout aussi unique que fut celle de Ligeti, un autre György!


György Kurtág – Photo : Andrea Felvégi, Bridgeman Images

Kafka-Fragmente a été amorcé en 1985 alors que Kurtág qui est alors fasciné par de courtes phrases et des fragments provenant de textes de Franz Kafka destinés uniquement à usage privé (journaux intimes, lettres à des amis, etc.). Le compositeur y décèle un thème central, un leitmotiv vital : celui de l’errance. C’est ainsi que Kurtág couche sur papier, presque sans trop y penser, des giclées idéelles, motiviques et mélodiques qui finissent par se regrouper en un cycle de lieder de 40 morceaux, en moyenne très courts (entre 20 seconde et une ou deux minutes), mais dont quelques-uns vont jusqu’à quatre, et même sept minutes. Ceux-ci constituent ce que le compositeur appelle ‘’le chemin’’, dans le sens aussi bien littéral d’un sentier parcouru physiquement à travers un labyrinthe, que figuratif où le promeneur est en vérité quelqu’un qui se cherche ou s’interroge. Vous aurez vite compris que cette mise en scène convoque tout un tas d’images de détours, de brusques arrêts, d’incertitude, de fuite accélérée en ligne droite et de virements secs. Le promeneur imaginaire est assailli autant par l’excitation, l’espoir, la perplexité, le doute, le découragement. 

Le génie de Kurtág est d’avoir, tel un auteur de haïkus particulièrement précis dans leur économie et immenses dans leur profondeur, réduit le matériau musical à une sorte d’ultra-concentration. Par l’instrumentation d’abord : une voix (Anna Prohaska, sublime et en parfaite maîtrise de l’astronomique difficulté de la partition) et un violon (Isabelle Faust, indispensable compagne de route, transcendante et d’une aveuglante clarté technique). That’s it, comme dirait les Hongrois. Puis, surtout, dans l’utilisation de motifs et de fragments sonores d’une grande économie et qui s’imbriquent, se juxtaposent, s’enchaînent et se répondent de toutes les manières imaginables en termes de techniques musicales contemporaines, mais toujours avec une extrême délicatesse. Sons filés, lignes musicales ébrouées, bruits discordants, canons anxieux, et même quelques références à la musique folklorique d’Europe de l’Est.

Le résultat est une émulsion d’idées que les deux interprètes doivent s’échanger avec une diabolique habileté à travers des espaces interstitiels nanométriquement étroits. Mais c’est là, dans cette mécanique quantique d’une musique de l’infiniment petit que Kurtág opère le renversement total de l’explosion créatrice : est ainsi créé un univers complet et infini de sens et de signification. 

Oh, ne vous faites pas d’illusion : Kafka-Fragmente op. 24 n’est pas une écoute facile. Et la levée du voile de la compréhension risque de ne pas être faite avec une seule première écoute. Mais comme avec le trou d’Alice, si votre recherche mène à la découverte, le monde ainsi révélé sera bouleversant, pour le meilleur et pour le pire.

Pour les mélomanes qui voudraient comparer, l’écoute d’une version de 2006 avec Juliane Banse et Andras Keller sous étiquette ECM s’impose. 

Tout le contenu 360

 Madame Autruche – Sm58 (prochaine chance la meilleure fois) 

 Madame Autruche – Sm58 (prochaine chance la meilleure fois) 

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

Le niveau supérieur de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie

Le niveau supérieur de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre