classique / Modern Classical / post-romantique

Barbara Hannigan, La voix… superhuman!

by Alain Brunet

Exploit. Prowess. Vision. Unprecedented. Extreme refinement. Superlatives are not enough to sum up this performance by Canadian soprano Barbara Hannigan, able to provide solid orchestral direction while magnificently interpreting La voix humaine, a text by Jean Cocteau (1889-1963) set to music by modernist composer Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), i.e. the nec plus ultra of French culture in the previous century. 

It could have been as simple as a technical feat: singing, playing a character and conducting an orchestra all at the same time are unprecedented. Yes, let’s face it, it’s been done before, but a form this accomplished  this virtuosic? Not likely.

From the outset, Hannigan conducted a post-Romantic work by Richard Strauss (1964-1949), composed in the twilight of his life at the end of the Second World War. Upset by the conflicts and by a Germany in perdition with dramatic consequences for its cultural facilities, including a Munich theater of which he was long artistic director, Strauss had taken refuge in Goethe’s writings, including The Metamorphosis of Plants, which is said to have inspired Metamorphoses TrV290,  a 26-minute continuous work for just over twenty instrumentalists, and whose purpose is to calmly and darkly express the cycle of life, even at the lowest level of existence.

We then have the opportunity to contemplate the relationship between the guest conductor and the OSM, very much in tune with the context  before the main course. Imagine an opera singer playing the role of this poor woman talking on the telephone to the man she loves so much, apparently on the other end of the line, communication occasionally interrupted by the technical problems inherent in the prehistory of the telephone – the late 20s. Throughout the drama, the woman abandoned by her lover multiplies her reproaches and supplications to the last degree of despair, while leaving some rubble of lucidity on the devastated site of her love drama. The soprano’s task, you will understand, is immense: with a symphony orchestra, she has to perform a major work lasting some forty minutes. Is that enough? Not at all.

Now imagine that, apart from this already complex task to honor, Barbara Hannigan conducts La voix humaine simultaneously with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. With complete fluidity! One imagines that a colossal amount of work had to be done to gracefully link the character’s gestures with those of the instructions given to the orchestra in real time. And it’s mission accomplished, in front of a stunned audience who applaud him wildly for long minutes at the end of this exceptional performance.

Given that she has been living in France since 2015, after a 6-year stay in Holland from 2009, and that her Canadian upbringing had already opened her up to bilingualism, Barbara Hannigan’s French is exemplary. What’s more, it adheres to the pronunciation rules of traditional French opera singing – notably those generously rolled R’s as they were once pronounced in a large part of the Hexagone. 

The theatricality of his performance is exemplary, magnified by a brilliant staging (Clemens Malinowski) and multi-image video capture superimposed in real time on a large screen (Denis Gueguin). It’s worth noting that the voice is amplified, and that it couldn’t be otherwise in such a context. Although the singer’s back is to the audience for most of the performance, amplification is essential if the soloist is to be intelligible to a symphony orchestra. This theatricality is sober, minimalist and highly refined. The interplay between screen and real-time performance is extraordinarily effective, and the sixty-strong orchestra responds perfectly to the maestra’s instructions.

For we are dealing here with a great maestra and a great soprano, so come and see and hear this woman of almost supernatural talent during her stay in Montreal!

Le même programme est présenté ce jeudi, 19h30, à la Maison symphonique, INFOS ET BILLETS ICI

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

classique / classique moderne / post-romantique

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

par Alain Brunet

Exploit. Prouesse. Vision. Inédit. Raffinement extrême. Les superlatifs ne suffisent pas pour résumer cette performance de la soprano canadienne Barbara Hannigan, capable d’assurer une solide  direction d’orchestre tout en interprétant magnifiquement La voix humaine, un texte de Jean Cocteau (1889-1963) sur une musique du compositeur moderniste Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), soit le nec plus ultra de la culture française au siècle précédent. 

Ç’aurait pu se limiter à l’exploit technique : chanter, incarner un personnage et diriger un orchestre simultanément, tout ça tient de l’inédit. Oui, convenons que ça a été déjà fait auparavant, mais une forme aussi achevée ?  Aussi virtuose? Peu probable.

D’entrée de jeu, Hannigan a dirigé une œuvre post-romantique de Richard Strauss (1964-1949) composée au crépuscule de sa vie, soit à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Bouleversé par les conflits et par une Allemagne en perdition aux conséquences dramatiques pour ses équipements culturels dont un théâtre de Munich dont il fut longtemps le directeur artistique, Strauss s’était réfugié dans les écrits de Goethe, dont La métamorphose des plantes qui aurait inspiré Métamorphoses TrV290,  une œuvre continue de 26 minutes pour un peu plus d’une vingtaines d’instrumentistes et dont l’objet est d’exprimer calmement et sombrement le cycle de la vie, même au plus bas étage de l’existence.

On a alors l’occasion de contempler la relation entre la cheffe invitée et l’OSM, très à l’écoute dans le contexte  avant le plat de résistance. Imaginez alors une chanteuse lyrique camper le rôle de cette pauvre femme qui parle au téléphone à l’homme qu’elle aime tant, apparemment au bout du fil, communication parfois interrompue par les problèmes techniques inhérents à la préhistoire du téléphone – la fin des années 20. Tout au long de la trame dramatique, la femme abandonnée par son amant multiplie les reproches et les supplications jusqu’au dernier degré du désespoir, tout en laissant quelques gravats de lucidité sur le site dévasté de son drame amoureux. La tâche de la soprano, comprendrez-vous, est immense : avec un orchestre symphonique, elle doit interpréter une œuvre majeure d’une quarantaine de minutes. Suffisant? Nenni.

Imaginez maintenant que, hormis cette tâche déjà complexe à honorer, Barbara Hannigan dirige La voix humaine simultanément l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. En toute fluidité! On imagine qu’un travail colossal a dû être accompli pour lier gracieusement la gestuelle du personnage et celle des consignes données à l’orchestre en temps réel. Et c’est mission accomplie, devant un auditoire ébahi qui l’applaudit à tout rompre pendant de longues minutes au terme de cette performance d’exception.

Vu qu’elle vit en France depuis 2015 après un séjour de 6 ans en Hollande à partir de 2009,  et que son éducation canadienne l’avait déjà ouverte au bilinguisme, le français de Barbara Hannigan est exemplaire. Qui plus est, il souscrit aux règles de la prononciation du chant lyrique de tradition française – notamment ces R généreusement roulés comme on les prononçait jadis dans une large part de l’Hexagone. 

La théâtralité de son jeu est exemplaire, magnifiée par une brillante mise en scène (Clemens Malinowski) assortie d’une captation vidéo multi-images superposées en temps réel sur grand écran (Denis Gueguin). On notera au demeurant que la voix est amplifiée et qu’il ne pourrait en être autrement dans un tel contexte. Si la chanteuse fait dos au public durant la majeure partie de l’exécution, l’amplification est de mise pour que la soliste puisse être intelligible avec un orchestre symphonique. Cette théâtralité s’avère des plus sobres, minimalistes, d’un grand raffinement. Le jeu entre l’écran et la performance en temps réel est extraordinairement efficace et l’orchestre d’une soixantaine d’interprètes répond parfaitement aux consignes de la maestra. 

Car nous avons ici affaire à une grande maestra doublée d’une grande soprano, accourez voir et l’entendre cette femme aux talents quasi surnaturels pendant son séjour montréalais!

Le même programme est présenté ce jeudi, 19h30, à la Maison symphonique, INFOS ET BILLETS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

ARC – ARC

ARC – ARC

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre