Classical / Modern Classical / Opera

Der Kaiser von Atlantis: a modest but important production

by Frédéric Cardin

A moment I’d been looking forward to for a long time took place yesterday in Salle Claude-Champagne at the Université de Montréal: a performance of Viktor Ullman’s opera Der Kaiser von Atlantis. Well, almost what I expected, as it was a concert version, enhanced, that said, by some very fine video projections. Der Kaiser is a great masterpiece in a small format (not even an hour), a fundamental opera of the 20th century that almost disappeared under the carelessness of the Nazis, but survived for decades under an old mattress. Follow the link below to find out part of the story.

WATCH THE INTERVIEW WITH CONDUCTOR MATHIAS MAUTE ABOUT DER KAISER VON ATLANTIS (in French)

Der Kaiser tells a simple story: Emperor Overall (what an appropriate name) wages war on all his neighbors. He boasts that he has Death on his side, “under his banner”, and that with it, no enemy can survive. Death, fed up with being used like this, decides to go on strike. With no one left to die, war becomes pointless, and no one fears the evil imperial dictator. So much so that even people fall in love across enemy lines. Overall is in despair when Death appears to her and proposes a deal: she will resume her service on condition that her first victim is the Emperor himself. In a final gesture of redemption, the Emperor accepts, for the good of all. The direct reference to Hitler and fascism is obvious (minus the redemption), and serves as a powerful, hyper-focused symbol and indictment of the absurdity of megalomania. Ullmann died in Auschwitz in 1944. He never realized that his subject never had the strength of character of the fictional character. 

Ullmann’s score is marvelous. An absolute masterpiece of eclectic modernism, typical of a certain style of the 1920s, 30s and 40s, which dared to mix atonal music, late Romanticism, jazz, popular music, consonance and dissonance. In short, what we’re used to today, a century ahead of its time. 

The fifteen-strong chamber orchestra features a portable organ, banjo, guitar and classical strings, woodwinds and brass. The music is sparkling with motifs and snatches of melody that are juxtaposed and swiftly strung together, without ever giving the impression of amalgamating into a shapeless soup. On the contrary, ultra-smooth lines, drawn with a scalpel, sometimes anticipating those of Shostakovich. Ullmann keeps us constantly on our toes. A modernism that is often cynical, that squeaks and plays tight in corners, but full of humor and contagious vitality.

The vocal side is divided between scansions and singing. Frédéric Caton (Death) gives a fine performance, a purring bass, very much in character. Florence Bourget in the role of the Drum, with magnificent projection and a pleasant timbre. Éric Laporte as Harlequin (symbolizing Life) is adequate, but a little thin in the treble. Pierre-Yves Pruvot plays the Emperor Overall, and his grandiloquent vibrato is blessed with a character who can live with it. I’m not sure I’d have liked it in any other context. Le Haut-Parleur, the national radio station, is conducted ”imperially” by Tomislav Lavoie, but in a German that lacks clarity. Emmanuel Hasler and Sophie Naubert are very decent in their small roles as soldiers. 

This was a concert version, but ”augmented”, as I said, by video projections, combining beautiful, partially animated illustrations by Maxime Bigras and a montage of archive films by Matthieu Thoër, of Lumifest en cavale. Without this visual dimension, the experience could have seemed arid. All that remains now is to hope for a real stage production in the not-too-distant future.

I disagree with a colleague who regrets the absence of costumes in a concert version. What’s the point of “graying” singers in Halloween when they’re condemned to remain stationary? It would be ridiculous. Anyway…

The concert ended with the presentation of Montrealer Jaap Nico Hamburger’s Symphony for Chamber Orchestra No. 1 “Remember to Forget”. A fitting complement, the underlying theme of this symphony being that of one train heading for death (1st movement) and another heading for liberation, or life (2nd movement).

The link with opera was also made with Hamburger’s music, which bears some resemblance to Ullmann’s, although it is built on a much more linear discursive architecture. No sudden, even violent leaps between opposing affects, textures and rhythms. Rather, the music is fairly consonant, albeit with occasional atonal outbursts, set to a steady pulse, illustrating the train’s progress. Depending on whether the train is heading for life or death, the atmosphere changes, of course. Hamburger would make an excellent film composer. Hamburger’s parents survived the Allied landings in 1944. After the murdered Ullmann, this man’s permitted existence is a positive conclusion. One train to death, another to life. 

It’s a shame that Salle Claude-Champagne was only partially filled. Was it the program or the hall itself? Not its acoustics, which were excellent, but rather its location. A cul-de-sac (literally) devoid of any form of amenity in a wide radius around it (zero restaurants, bars or activities of any kind). A dormitory district. What a pity, it sounds so good. 

The fact remains that such an operatic treasure, still too hidden, absolutely must be mounted and shown everywhere. It can serve as a powerful anti-totalitarian document as well as an introduction to modern opera and musical language. Its very short duration, its archetypes that can be understood by all, and the infinite possibilities it offers in terms of staging, are all elements that make it an absolute must in the art of music. It’s not what the Festival Classica will fill its coffers with, but the cultural and social importance of this kind of proposition is noteworthy. The vision and courage of the Classica team are to be commended, despite the very modest means at their disposal to realize this project. Sponsors who support this project should know: your investment will go far beyond a monetary rebate. 

Bravo and thank you for daring.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

Subscribe to our newsletter

classique moderne / classique occidental / opéra

Festival Classica | Der Kaiser von Atlantis : malgré sa modestie, une production importante

par Frédéric Cardin

Un moment que j’attendais depuis longtemps a eu lieu hier à la salle Claude-Champagne de l’Université de Montréal : la représentation de l’opéra Der Kaiser von Atlantis, de Viktor Ullman par le Nouvel Opéra Métropolitain (NOM) et le Festival Classica. Enfin, presque ce que j’attendais car il s’agissait d’une version concert, étoffée, cela dit, grâce à des projections vidéo. Der Kaiser est un grand chef-d’œuvre en petit format (une heure, même pas), un opéra fondamental du 20e siècle qui a failli disparaître sous l’incurie des Nazis, mais à survécu des décennies sous un vieux matelas. Suivez le lien ci-bas pour connaître une partie de l’histoire.

REGARDEZ L’ENTREVUE RÉALISÉE AVEC LE CHEF MATHIAS MAUTE À PROPOS DE DER KAISER VON ATLANTIS 

Der Kaiser raconte une histoire simple : l’Empereur Overall (quel nom approprié) fait la guerre à tous ses voisins. Il se targue d’avoir la Mort à ses côtés, ‘’sous sa bannière’’, et qu’avec elle, aucun ennemi ne peut survivre. La Mort, qui en a assez d’être instrumentalisée de la sorte, décide de faire la grève. Plus personne ne pouvant mourir, la guerre devient inutile, et plus personne n’a peur du vilain dictateur impérial. À tel point que même des soldats tombent amoureux à travers les lignes ennemies. Overall se désespère, lorsque la Mort lui apparaît et lui propose un marché : elle reprendra son service à condition que sa première victime soit l’Empereur lui-même. Dans un geste final de rédemption, celui-ci accepte, pour le bien de tous. La référence directe à Hitler et au fascisme est évidente (la rédemption en moins), et fait figure de symbole puissant, hyper concentré, et de réquisitoire contre l’absurdité de la mégalomanie. Ullmann est mort à Auschwitz en 1944. Il n’aura jamais pu constater que son sujet n’a jamais eu la force de caractère du personnage fictif. 

La partition de Ullmann est merveilleuse. Un chef-d’œuvre absolu de modernisme éclectique, typique d’un certain style des années 1920, 30 et 40, qui osait mélanger allègrement la musique atonale, le Romantisme tardif, le jazz, les musiques populaires, la consonance et la dissonance. Bref, ce à quoi nous sommes aujourd’hui habitués, un siècle d’avance. 

L’orchestre de chambre d’une quinzaine de musiciens comprend un harmonium, un banjo, une guitare et les cordes, bois et cuivres classiques. C’est une musique pétillante de motifs et de bribes de mélodies qui se juxtaposent et s’enchaînent rapidement, sans jamais donner l’impression de s’amalgamer dans une soupe informe. Au contraire, des lignes ultra-limpides, dessinées au scalpel, anticipant parfois celles de Chostakovitch. Ullmann nous garde constamment en alerte. Un modernisme souvent cynique, qui grince et joue serré dans les coins, mais bourré d’humour et d’une contagieuse vitalité. 

Le côté vocal est divisé entre scansions et chant. Il faut noter la très belle prestation de Frédéric Caton (la Mort), une basse ronronnante, très collée au personnage. Également, Florence Bourget dans le rôle du Tambour, magnifique projection et timbre agréable. Éric Laporte en Arlequin (qui symbolise la Vie) est adéquat mais un peu mince dans les aigus. Pierre-Yves Pruvot joue l’Empereur Overall et son vibrato grandiloquent a la chance de profiter d’un personnage qui s’en accommode. Je ne suis pas certain que j’aurais aimé dans un autre contexte. Le Haut-Parleur, la radio nationale en sommes, est mené ‘’impérialement’’ par Tomislav Lavoie, mais dans un Allemand qui manque de clarté. Emmanuel Hasler et Sophie Naubert sont très corrects dans leurs petits rôles de soldats. 

Il s’agissait d’une version concert, mais ‘’augmentée’’, disais-je, grâce à des projections vidéo, combinant de très belles illustrations partiellement animées de Maxime Bigras et un montage de films d’archives réalisé par Matthieu Thoër, de Lumifest en cavale. Sans cette dimension visuelle, l’expérience aurait pu paraître aride. Ne reste plus qu’à espérer maintenant une réelle production scénique, dans un avenir pas trop lointain.

Je ne suis pas de l’avis d’un collègue qui regrette l’absence de costumes dans une version concert. À quoi peut bien servir de ‘’grayer’’ des chanteurs en Halloween quand ils sont condamnés à rester fixes? Ça serait ridicule. Enfin…

Le concert s’est terminé avec la présentation de la Symphonie pour orchestre de chambre no 1 « Remember to Forget », du Montréalais Jaap Nico Hamburger. Un complément adéquat, le thème sous-jacent de cette symphonie étant celle d’un train qui se dirige vers la mort (1er mouvement) et d’un autre qui se dirige vers la libération, ou la vie (2e mouvement).

Le lien avec Der Kaiser se faisait sentir avec la musique de Hamburger, qui manifeste des traits de ressemblance avec celle de Ullmann, bien qu’elle soit bâtie sur une architecture discursive beaucoup plus linéaire. Pas de bonds soudains, voire violents, entre des affects, des textures et des rythmes opposés. Plutôt une musique assez consonante, bien qu’occasionnellement parcourue de poussées atonales, campée sur une pulsation soutenue, illustrant ainsi la marche du train. Dépendant si celui-ci se dirige vers la mort ou la vie, l’atmosphère change, bien sûr. Hamburger ferait un très bon compositeur de cinéma. Cette musique possède un indéniable supplément d’âme : les parents de Hamburger ont survécu grâce au débarquement allié de 1944. Après Ullmann, assassiné, l’existence permise de cet homme fait figure de conclusion positive. Un train vers la mort, un autre vers la vie. 

Hamburger a passé beaucoup de temps en début de concert à offrir un concentré 101 de l’histoire de la musique, avec de nombreuses approximations et raccourcis. Curieux, de la part d’un éminent professeur et musicien.

Il faut regretter que la salle Claude-Champagne n’ait été que partiellement remplie. Serait-ce la salle elle-même, le problème? Pas son acoustique, excellente, mais plutôt son emplacement. Un cul-de-sac (littéralement) dépourvu de toute forme de commodités dans un large rayon tout autour (zéro resto, bar, ou activités quelconque). Un quartier dortoir. Quel dommage, elle sonne si bien. 

Il reste qu’un tel trésor opératique encore trop caché doit absolument être monté et montré partout. Il peut servir autant de document anti-totalitarisme puissant que d’introduction à l’opéra et au langage musical modernes. Sa durée très brève, ses archétypes compréhensibles par tous et toutes et les possibilités infinies qu’il offre en termes de mise en scène, sont autant d’éléments qui en font un incontournable absolu de l’art musical. Ce n’est pas avec ça que le Festival Classica remplira ses coffres, mais l’importance culturelle et sociale de ce genre de proposition est notable, et pourra certainement inspirer d’autres passionnés dans le futur. Il faut donc saluer la vision et le courage de l’équipe Classica, malgré les moyens très modestes à leur disposition pour réaliser ce projet (soulignés à grands traits par d’autres médias…). Que les commanditaires qui le soutiennent le sachent : votre investissement ira infiniment plus loin qu’une ristourne monétaire. 

Bravo et merci pour avoir osé.

Tout le contenu 360

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

La meilleure version de Karkwa

La meilleure version de Karkwa

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Des filles qui rockent

Des filles qui rockent

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre