×
Country : Zimbabwe Label : Arc Genres and styles : Gospel / South African Traditional Year : 2020
Black Umfolosi

Washabalal’ Umhlaba (Earth Song)

· by Ralph Boncy

Black Umfolosi is a great acapella vocal group whose roots are deep in several provinces of Zimbabwe. Its name, “the black river”, is borrowed from a neighbouring country, South Africa, with which it shares this river, now partially dried up. The other inescapable point in common with Nelson Mandela’s country is, of course, the sublime vocal harmonies that most of us didn’t know existed before Paul Simon met Joseph Shabalala in London and recorded “Homeless”, in Zulu, on the album Graceland in 1985.

…And then there were six. Black Umfolosi are still working at full speed since forming in 1982 (almost 40 years old!), and here’s their 15th album, not counting collaborations and the numerous solo albums of its three founding members, Thomeki Dube, Sotsha Moyo, and Austine Chiane (the very deep baritone that such a band couldn’t do without). Three other members were added to the final line-up, the strongest and most balanced Umfolozi has known in its long history. They are a gifted young dancer and two solo singers from the new generation. These new recruits are now involved in solo singing and the creation of choreographies that are also the trademark of other adjacent groups such as Ladysmith Black Mambazo. Irresistible music certainly, but perhaps a little macho in the attitude if we consider their discographies, where women really didn’t seem to have their place.

Here they sing “Coming Your Way, Our Lord” – true African gospel – and pay tribute to the Bantu people of the South with traditional instruments on “Ihoso Beat”. The title track implores humans to protect our good old Earth, but the fact that it was released on July 24, one month to the day after the assassination of Georges Floyd, gives these six voice musicians the opportunity to echo the Black Lives Matter movement everywhere on the continent where they were born.

Soothing, bewitching and engaging.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Zimbabwe Label : Arc Genres et styles : gospel / musique traditionnelle sud-africaine Année : 2020
Black Umfolosi

Washabalal’ Umhlaba (Earth Song)

· par Ralph Boncy

Le Black Umfolosi est un super groupe vocal a capella dont les racines sont profondément enfouies dans plusieurs provinces du Zimbabwe. Son nom, « la rivière noire », il l’emprunte pourtant d’un pays voisin, l’Afrique du Sud, avec lequel il partage ce cours d’eau, aujourd’hui partiellement asséché. L’autre point commun incontournable avec le pays de Nelson Mandela, c’est, bien entendu, les sublimes harmonies vocales dont la plupart d’entre nous ignoraient l’existence avant la rencontre de Paul Simon à Londres avec Joseph Shabalala et l’enregistrement de Homeless en langue zouloue sur l’album Graceland en 1985.

…And then they were six. Le Black Umfolosi fonctionne encore à plein régime depuis sa formation en 1982 (bientôt 40 ans !) et complète ici son 15e volume, sans compter les collaborations et les nombreux albums en solo de ses trois membres fondateurs Thomeki Dube, Sotsha Moyo et Austine Chiane (la voix très basse dont un tel groupe ne saurait se passer). Trois autres membres se sont rajoutés à l’alignement final, l’agencement le plus solide et le mieux balancé que l’Umfolozi ait connu pendant sa longue histoire. Il s’agit d’un jeune danseur surdoué et de deux chanteuses solistes issues de la nouvelle génération. Ces nouvelles recrues s’impliquent donc désormais dans le chant solo et la création des chorégraphies qui sont aussi la marque de fabrique d’autres groupes voisins comme Ladysmith Black Mambazo. Musiques irrésistibles certes, mais peut-être un rien machiste dans l’attitude si l’on considère l’ensemble de ces discographies où les femmes ne semblaient vraiment pas avoir leur place.

Ici on chante le bon Dieu en anglais Coming Your Way, Our Lord – du vrai gospel africain – et on rend hommage au peuple bantou du Sud dans Ihoso Beat avec des instruments traditionnels. L’album intitulé Earth Song implore les humains de protéger notre bonne vieille Terre, mais le fait qu’il soit sorti le 24 juillet, un mois jour pour jour après l’assassinat de Georges Floyd, donne à ces six musiciens de la voix l’occasion de faire écho partout au mouvement Black Lives Matter sur le continent où ils sont nés.

Apaisant, envoûtant et engageant.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre