×
Country : United States Label : Joyful Noise Genres and styles : Avant-Rock / Contemporary Jazz / Experimental / Free Improvisation Year : 2020
Deerhoof & Wadada Leo Smith

To Be Surrounded By Beautiful, Curious, Breathing, Laughing Flesh Is Enough

· by Alain Brunet

Deerhoof’s singer and bassist Satomi Matsuzaki, guitarist and bassist Ed Rodriguez, guitarist John Dieterich, and drummer Greg Saunier, offer six reinterpretations of their own pieces, and five others in collaboration with the famous African-American trumpeter, composer and improviser Wadada Leo Smith. At the confluence of avant-rock and improvised music, this is a perfect example of cross-pollination. Rock songs, complex metrics, easy listening, and contemporary jazz merge here in atmospheres conducive to an exhilarating encounter. One has to observe that the avant-garde trumpeter finds his place in Deerhoof’s singular world. 

“To be surrounded by beautiful, curious, breathing, laughing flesh is enough,” wrote Walt Whitman in his famous book I Sing The Body Electric, published in 1955. This sentence became the title of the album recorded in front of a live audience in 2018 at Red Fish, as part of the Winter Jazzfest in New York, well before the events surrounding the arrest and death of George Floyd. Proceeds from this album will be donated to Black Lives Matter.

Wadada Leo Smith sees it as an effort to redeploy democracy, which is in trouble in many countries around the world: “True democratic principles demand that all human beings respect the rights of others, and that we develop the capacity to share the wealth, the power and the earth and the sky together, with the condition that we collectively work to build a peaceful world. For all of us!” 

On a more musical note, Greg Saunier, Deerhoof’s drummer and lead composer, adds: “To me, democracy and improvisation are linked, and they appear spontaneously at times like these, when strangers come together to take action, and there is no rulebook.” 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Deerhoof & Wadada Leo Smith

To Be Surrounded By Beautiful, Curious, Breathing, Laughing Flesh Is Enough

· par Alain Brunet

Réunis au sein de Deerhoof, la chanteuse et bassiste Satomi Matsuzaki, le guitariste et bassiste Ed Rodriguez, le guitariste John Dieterich et le batteur Greg Saunier, proposent six relectures de leurs pièces et cinq autres en collaboration avec le célébrissime trompettiste, compositeur et improvisateur afro-américain Wadada Leo Smith. Au confluent de l’avant-rock et de la musique improvisée, voilà un exemple parfait de pollinisation croisée. Chansons rock, métriques complexes, easy listening et jazz contemporain se fondent ici dans des ambiances propices à une rencontre exaltante. Force est d’observer que le trompettiste d’avant-garde trouve sa place dans le monde singulier de Deerhoof. 

« Il suffit d’être entouré de chair belle, qui respire et qui rit » écrivit Walt Whitman dans son fameux livre I Sing The Body Electric, paru en 1955. Cette phrase devient le titre de cet album enregistré devant public en 2018 au Poisson Rouge, dans le contexte du Winter Jazzfest de New York, donc bien avant les événements entourant l’arrestation et la mort de l’Afro-Américain George Floyd. Les recettes de cet album seront versées à Black Lives Matter.

Wadada Leo Smith y voit un effort pour redéployer la démocratie en difficulté dans plusieurs pays sur terre : « …les vrais principes démocratiques exigent que tous les êtres humains respectent les droits des autres, et que nous développions la capacité de partager la richesse, le pouvoir, la terre et le ciel ensemble, à condition de travailler collectivement à la construction d’un monde pacifique. Pour nous tous ! » 

Sur une note plus musicale, Greg Saunier, batteur et compositeur principal de Deerhoof, ajoute : « Pour moi, la démocratie et l’improvisation sont liées, et elles apparaissent spontanément dans des moments comme ceux-ci, lorsque des étrangers viennent pour agir ensemble, sans règles. »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre