×
Country : Germany / Japan / Québec Canada Label : Leaf Genres and styles : Contemporary / Romantic Year : 2022

Philip Chiu/Lara Deutsch – Night Light

· by Frédéric Cardin

There is magic in Night Light. Magic that is imbued with sonic sparkles that range from mysterious to impressionistic to dreamlike. The pleasantly mischievous side of Digital Bird Suite still leaves room for softly melancholic passages that reach the target of aesthetic pleasure. It has to be said that the composer Takashi Yoshimatsu does not come from an academic ivory tower but rather from rock, jazz and screen music (the Astro Boy series). The technical demands on the flautist seem daunting, but Lara Deutsch, a rising star in the 2020 music scene according to BBC Magazine, deals with them without ruffling a feather!

I conversed with you in a dream by Canadian Jocelyn Morlock is aptly titled: evanescent, dreamlike, and mysterious, the piece has all the makings of a soothing nocturnal suite. Night, by Frédéric Lacroix, is a sometimes expressionist, sometimes impressionistic account of a journey across Canada. Urban lights rub shoulders with majestic trees, the crackling of a campfire, or the magnificent starry vault of a perfect sky overlooking the great spaces of this vast country. The harmonic envelope here is a little more full-bodied than in the previous pieces, but the whole remains highly attractive and above all emotionally accessible.

The programme ends with a return to Romanticism through Schubert’s Introduction and Variations on “Trockne Blumen,” Op. 160, D. 802. The two musicians give a poised reading, without any swaggering effects, but with emotional depth.

Deutsch and Chiu are among the finest performers of the new canadian generation, capable of impetuosity but subscribing to a sense of measure and balance. They are also impeccable technicians as well as being highly sensitive musicians.

I had no particular expectations before listening to this album. But the end result is that it is one of the most satisfying and stimulating albums I have listened to this year. A huge congratulations!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Allemagne / Japon / Québec Canada Label : Leaf Genres et styles : musique contemporaine / romantique Année : 2022

Philip Chiu/Lara Deutsch – Night Light

· par Frédéric Cardin

Il y a de la magie dans Night Light. Une magie imprégnée de scintillements sonores qui vont du mystère à l’onirisme en passant par l’impressionnisme. Le côté agréablement espiègle de Digital Bird Suite laisse place à des passages doucement mélancoliques qui atteignent la cible du plaisir esthétique. Il faut dire que le compositeur Takashi Yoshimatsu ne vient pas d’une tour d’ivoire académique mais plutôt du rock, du jazz et de la musique pour l’écran (la série Astro Boy). Les exigences techniques demandées à la flûtiste semblent redoutables, mais Lara Deutsch, une étoile montante de la musique 2020 selon le BBC Magazine, s’en régale d’un coup de bec!

I conversed with you in a dream de la Canadienne Jocelyn Morlock porte bien son titre : évanescente, onirique et mystérieuse, la pièce a tout d’une suite nocturne et apaisante. Night, de Frédéric Lacroix, est un récit parfois expressionniste, parfois impressionniste, d’un périple à travers le Canada. Les lumières urbaines côtoient les arbres majestueux, le crépitement d’un feu de camp ou encore la magnifique voûte étoilée d’un ciel parfait surplombant les grands espaces de ce pays continent. L’enveloppe harmonique est ici un peu plus corsée que pour les pièces précédentes, mais l’ensemble demeure grandement attractif et surtout émotionnellement accessible.

Le programme s’achève avec un retour au Romantisme à travers l’Introduction et Variations sur “Trockne Blumen,” Op. 160, D. 802 de Schubert. Lecture posée, sans gonflerie des effets, de la part des deux musiciens.

Deutsch et Chiu sont parmi les meilleurs interprètes de la nouvelle génération, capables d’impétuosité mais abonnés au sens de la mesure et de l’équilibre. Ils sont de plus des techniciens impeccables en plus d’être des musiciens d’une grande sensibilité. 

Je n’avais pas d’attente particulière avant d’amorcer l’écoute de cet album. Mais le résultat final est qu’il s’agit de l’un des plus satisfaisants et stimulants que j’aie écouté cette année. Un immense bravo!

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre