×
Country : Uganda Label : Crammed Discs Genres and styles : East African Traditional / Electronic Year : 2020
Kaloli

Nihiloxica

· by Rupert Bottenberg

They say that when birds were created, God used the leftover parts to fashion the unsightly Marabou stork, also called the undertaker bird, or locally in Uganda, kaloli. The wretched-looking carrion eaters, beneficiaries of Kampala’s questionable urban waste management, may not be the prettiest birds in the field guide, but they’re as rugged as they are ragged, surviving and thriving. Not the worst choice of mascot, then, for Nihiloxica.

One of the flagship acts of the wave-making Nyege Nyege initiative – a festival, studio, label and more, championing Africa’s explosive electronic underground – the Kampala-based outfit has migrated with this new album, their biggest work yet, to the venerable Belgian label Crammed Discs, pioneers in the field of unconventional cultural hybrids.

Nihiloxica is the partnership between Alimansi Wanzu Aineomugisha, Jamiru Mwanje, Henry Kasoma, and Henry Isabirye, four top drummers from Kampala’s community-oriented Nilotika Cultural Ensemble, and English electronic producers Spooky-J and pq. With two widely noted EPs and several high-profile tours behind them, the six have steadily fortified their sound, and honoured the promise of their initial recordings.

Explaining the instrumentation and regional traditions in play here would be a daunting task, but the information is out there. What’s evident to the naked ear is that these complex, communicative drum patterns, rooted in different regions of Uganda, are a musical language in themselves. The conversations that occur between the raw, resounding beats and the eerie digital conjurations are nocturnal, even sinister in tone, potent, polyrhythmic hallucinations that don’t charm so much as ensnare and transfix.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Ouganda Label : Crammed Discs Genres et styles : électronique / musique traditionnelle est-africaine Année : 2020
Nihiloxica

Kaloli

· par Rupert Bottenberg

On dit que lorsqu’il a créé les oiseaux, Dieu a utilisé les restes pour façonner ces grands échassiers de marabouts, également appelés oiseaux croque-mort ou, en Ouganda, kaloli. Ces charognards à l’allure misérable, qui profitent de la gestion douteuse des déchets à Kampala, ne sont peut-être pas les oiseaux les plus beaux, mais c’est une espèce aussi résistante que florissante. Pas un mauvais choix de mascotte, en fin de compte, pour Nihiloxica.

L’un des groupes phares de Nyege Nyege – festival, studio, étiquette et plus encore, qui défend l’explosif underground électronique africain – la formation de Kampala a, avec ce nouvel album – son œuvre la plus aboutie à ce jour – migré vers le vénérable label belge Crammed Discs, pionnier dans le domaine des hybrides culturels non conventionnels.

Nihiloxica, c’est le partenariat entre Alimansi Wanzu Aineomugisha, Jamiru Mwanje, Henry Kasoma et Henry Isabirye, quatre batteurs de haut niveau du Nilotika Cultural Ensemble de Kampala, axé sur la collectivité, et les producteurs électroniques anglais Spooky-J et pq. Avec deux EPs très remarqués et plusieurs tournées importantes à leur actif, ses six membres ont constamment enrichi leur palette sonore et tenu les promesses de leurs premiers enregistrements.

Expliquer l’instrumentation et les traditions régionales en jeu ici serait une tâche ardue, mais les renseignements existent. Ce qui est évident à l’oreille, c’est que ces motifs de tambours complexes et communicatifs, issus des différentes régions de l’Ouganda, constituent un langage musical en soi. Les échanges entre les battements bruts et retentissants et les inquiétantes incantations numériques produisent de puissantes hallucinations polyrythmiques qui ne font pas que charmer, elles ensorcellent littéralement.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre