×
Country : United States Label : Topshelf Genres and styles : Folk / Indie Rock / Pop / Psychedelia Year : 2020
Gregory Uhlmann

Neighborhood Watch

· by Steve Naud

Gregory Uhlmann remains largely unknown to the general public, but is increasingly in the limelight thanks to the various projects in which he participates, such as the Afrobeat-informed rock band Fell Runner and the improvised music trio Typical Sisters. Mike Hadreas, the man behind the Perfume Genius project, recruited him to be part of the band that was to accompany him on stage for the superb album Set My Heart On Fire Immediately, released earlier this year. Unfortunately, the pandemic has put this adventure on the back burner for now.

Neighborhood Watch is Uhlmann’s second solo album. Odd Job, released in 2017, blossomed with a Nick Drake style of soothing folk. However, one could already perceive influences that are more apparent now: psychedelic rock, jazz, minimalist contemporary music… Beautiful string and keyboard arrangements dress these new compositions which, thanks to the assured voice of their author, are ever serene. From a thematic point of view, the singer is swimming in calmer waters than in the era of his darkest work, Odd Job. His new lyrics bear witness to a newfound inner peace.

As the listener hovers in the shimmering colours of this silky universe, different names will come to mind: Thom Yorke, Julia Holter, Bill Callahan, Sufjan Stevens, Van Dyke Parks… But don’t let these flattering comparisons deceive. Whether in the roughest moments of the record (“Spice Girls”, “Benny”) or the most velvety (the splendid “Santa Fe” and airy title track), a very singular personality expresses itself here. That of an artist with promise.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Topshelf Genres et styles : folk / indie rock / pop / psychédélique Année : 2020
Gregory Uhlmann

Neighborhood Watch

· par Steve Naud

Encore méconnu du grand public, Gregory Uhlmann fait de plus en plus parler de lui grâce aux différents projets auxquels il participe, tels le groupe rock d’allégeance afrobeat Fell Runner ou le trio de musique improvisée Typical Sisters. Mike Hadreas – l’homme derrière le projet Perfume Genius – l’a recruté pour faire partie du groupe qui devait l’accompagner afin de porter à la scène le superbe album Set My Heart On Fire Immediately paru un peu plus tôt cette année. Malheureusement, la crise mondiale que nous connaissons a mis cette aventure en veilleuse pour le moment.

Neighborhood Watch est le deuxième album que Gregory Uhlmann fait paraître en solo. Odd Job, publié en 2017, fleurait bon le folk apaisé à la Nick Drake. On pouvait toutefois déjà y percevoir des influences qui se manifestent davantage à présent : le rock psychédélique, le jazz, la musique contemporaine minimaliste… De très beaux arrangements de cordes et de claviers vêtent ces nouvelles compositions qui, grâce au chant assuré de leur créateur, sont toujours empreintes de sérénité. D’un point de vue thématique, le chanteur nage d’ailleurs dans des eaux plus tranquilles qu’à l’époque du plus sombre Odd Job. Ses nouveaux textes témoignent d’une paix intérieure retrouvée.

Alors que l’auditeur planera dans les couleurs chatoyantes de cet univers soyeux, différents noms lui viendront à l’esprit : Thom Yorke, Julia Holter, Bill Callahan, Sufjan Stevens, Van Dyke Parks… Mais que toutes ces comparaisons flatteuses ne nous trompent pas : que ce soit dans les moments les plus rugueux du disque (Spice Girls, Benny) ou dans les plus veloutés (splendide Santa Fe, aérienne Neighborhood Watch), une personnalité fort singulière s’exprime. Celle d’un artiste qui promet.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre