×
Country : Japan Label : Albert’s Favourites Genres and styles : Downtempo / Jazz Year : 2020
Ronin Arkestra

Fallen Angel (Edit)

· by Rupert Bottenberg

A fundamental figure in the millennial broken-beat movement, New Zealand native Mark de Clive-Lowe has a solid quarter-century of quality music to his credit, mediating agreements between hip hop turntablism, house production, and high-standard jazz.

Japanese on his mother’s side, he’d largely neglected that cultural resource as he planted his flag in the clubs and studios of London and Los Angeles alike. Last year, with the two Heritage albums on the Ropedope label, de Clive-Lowe rectified that resolutely, revisiting his roots in a sublime soul-jazz vernacular, with electronic embellishments. His band for the Heritage records was ace, impressively pedigreed and dedicated to the material – and Americans, the lot of them.

At the same time, though, de Clive-Lowe had another project on the go, almost an inversion of Heritage. He’d sought out his favourite players in Japan’s jazz-groove scene, folks from Kyoto Jazz Massive, etc., and assembled these “masterless samurai” into Ronin Arkestra (how many koku their stipends amounted to remains undivulged). The band’s Japanese character, moreover, was at most tangential, or a bit irreverent (the tracks are inspired by episodes of the anime series Samurai Champloo).

Ronin Arkestra’s approach is in keeping with the dancefloor-friendly, digital-era reboot of classic free jazz in recent years. The new single “Fallen Angel (Edit)” is in fact a tightening-up of a nine-minute jam from last fall’s excellent full-length Sonkei. Played with verve and produced with flair, it’s exemplary of the band’s seasoned proficiency, enthusiastic interaction, and optimistic, even euphoric spirit.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Japon Label : Albert’s Favourites Genres et styles : downtempo / jazz Année : 2020
Ronin Arkestra

Fallen Angel (Edit)

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Figure fondamentale du courant broken beat né au tournant du siècle, Mark de Clive-Lowe, originaire de Nouvelle-Zélande, a à son actif un bon quart de siècle de musique de qualité, au carrefour du platinisme hip-hop, de la house et du jazz de haut niveau.

Japonais du côté de sa mère, il avait largement fait abstraction de ce patrimoine alors qu’il plantait son drapeau dans les clubs et les studios de Londres et de Los Angeles. Mais l’an dernier, avec ses deux albums Heritage parus sur Ropedope, de Clive-Lowe a résolument corrigé la situation en revisitant ses racines avec un soul-jazz épatant serti d’ornementations électroniques. Américains pour la plupart, les musiciens qui l’accompagnaient de façon convaincante sur ces deux enregistrements possèdent tous une feuille de route bien remplie.

Parallèlement, de Clive-Lowe avait en préparation un autre projet qui est presque l’envers d’Heritage. Après avoir recruté ses musiciens préférés de la scène jazz-groove japonaise, parmi le Kyoto Jazz Massive notamment, il a rassemblé ces « samouraïs sans maître » pour former le Ronin Arkestra (le nombre de koku versés en salaire n’a pas été révélé). Le caractère japonais du groupe était assez tangentiel cependant, ou même un peu irrévérencieux (les pièces s’inspirent d’épisodes de la série d’animation Samurai Champloo).

L’approche du Ronin Arkestra s’inscrit dans le courant récent de relance du free jazz classique sur les pistes de danse à l’ère numérique. Le nouveau single, Fallen Angel (Edit), est en fait un montage resserré d’un jam de neuf minutes tiré de l’excellent long métrage Sonkei sorti l’automne dernier. Joué avec entrain et réalisé avec brio, il illustre bien le savoir-faire de ces musiciens chevronnés et l’esprit enthousiaste et optimiste, voire euphorique, qui les a animés.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre