×
Country : France Label : Columbia Genres and styles : Pop / Singer-Songwriter Year : 2020
Mirabelle Gilis & Christophe Miossec

Falaises!

· by Luc Marchessault

When Christophe Miossec surfaced 25 years ago, his insolence sometimes took precedence over his shyness. At the time, he launched his first album, Boire, a collection of punchy songs in acoustic punk mode, recently re-released. A quick quarter century later, a certain serenity will have diminished Miossec’s insolence, if not his shyness, while the tides and winds of Finistère will have chiselled his face.

Confined like all of us last spring, Christophe and Mirabelle Gilis, his collaborator and companion since the album Mammifères in 2016, took advantage of lockdown to create four songs for two voices. These songs, grouped together in an EP entitled Falaises!, have just been released by Columbia.

Mirabelle, the multi-instrumentalist who leads the trio Les Amirales, along with her collaboration with Miossec, composed the music and judiciously adorned it with violin and synthesizer. It is of course our Brestian fiftysomething who wrote the lyrics, and his talent as a lyricist is undeniable.

Falaises! opens with “En”, a poetic assessment of the quarantine chanted in duet, with a melancholy violin at the end. Gilis’ exquisite voice blends delicately with Miossec’s misty tone. The couple continues with “Elle a”, a bounding assessment of a young woman who has everything she wants, but doesn’t know it. Then comes “Tout ira bien”, a gentle and encouraging tune… with reservations: “Maybe not tonight, maybe not tomorrow, but everything will be alright”… “Trop d’amour” paints a moving portrait of a “fragile man who walks on water, or at least he thinks he does.” 

These four titles were crafted in a wooden hut in Locmaria-Plouzané, on the shores of the Iroise Sea, with a helping hand from François Joncour, a musician friend. We wish for the Gilis-Miossec couple to continue on this path, without having to be confined again.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : France Label : Columbia Genres et styles : chanson / pop Année : 2020
Mirabelle Gilis & Christophe Miossec

Falaises!

· par Luc Marchessault

Lorsqu’on a connu Christophe Miossec il y a 25 ans, son insolence prenait parfois le pas sur sa timidité. Il lançait à l’époque son premier album, Boire, recueil de chansons coups de poing en mode punk acoustique, réédité ces jours-ci. Un petit quart de siècle plus tard, une certaine sérénité aura dissipé l’insolence de Miossec, mais pas sa timidité, tandis que les marées et vents du Finistère auront buriné son visage.

Confinés comme nous tous le printemps dernier, Christophe et Mirabelle Gilis, sa collaboratrice et compagne depuis l’album Mammifères en 2016, ont mis à profit leur isolement pour créer quatre chansons à deux voix. Celles-ci, regroupées dans un microalbum intitulé Falaises!, viennent d’être publiées par Columbia.

Mirabelle, multi-instrumentiste qui pilote le trio Les Amirales, parallèlement à sa collaboration avec Miossec, a composé les musiques et les a judicieusement ornées de violon et de synthé. C’est bien sûr notre mi-quinqua brestois qui a écrit les textes, son talent de parolier ne se dément pas.

Falaises! s’ouvre sur En, bilan poétique du confinement scandé en duo, avec violon mélancolique à la fin. La voix exquise de Mirabelle Gilis s’agence délicatement à celle, embrumée, de Miossec. Le couple enchaîne avec Elle a, description sautillante d’une jeune femme qui a tout pour elle, mais qui ne le sait pas. Vient ensuite Tout ira bien, un air doux et encourageant… avec réserve : « Peut-être pas ce soir, sans doute pas demain, mais tout ira bien »… Trop d’amour dresse le portrait émouvant d’un « homme fragile qui marche sur l’eau ou, du moins, il le croit ». 

Ces quatre titres ont été confectionnés dans une cabane en bois de Locmaria-Plouzané, au bord de la mer d’Iroise, avec un coup de main de François Joncour, copain musicien. On souhaite au couple Gilis-Miossec de poursuivre sur cette lancée, sans avoir besoin d’être confiné de nouveau.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre