×
Country : Indonesia Label : La Munai Genres and styles : Psych-Rock Year : 2020
Various Artists

Fairytale of Megobiodiversity

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Indonesia tends to be a bit overlooked in the global retrospective vis à vis vintage psychedelic rock, pop, and funk. It’s a shame, because there’s some great stuff there from back in the day (a big thumbs-up to Koes Plus and Dara Puspita, for starters). Jakarta’s La Munai Records have done their part, resurrecting the Harry Roesli Gang’s mid-’70s discography for its wealth of groovy, gamelan-inflected prog-folk-rock-jazz-funk.

The label also showcases a lot of current acts, some psych-rock proper, others of adjacent sounds like dub reggae, surf, or the graveyard doo-wop of Sundancer. Fairytale of Megobiodiversity, La Munai’s recent compilation of Indo neo-psych, honours the implications of its title with an impressive variety of imaginative music. Several bands wear their 1960s inspirations openly, others draw on wider ideas. 

Freedom of Choice’s “Madiba” goes to town on a Saharan guitar riff, metallic percussion, and some opinionated sax. Aksan Sjuman & The Committee of the Fest’s “World as Festival” is a strange and wonderful jazz-like something-or-other, and Astrolab’s space-rocker “S.Y” is a solid chunk of cosmic debris hurtling in through the stratosphere. Ray Magus’ “Rhymes of Adorer” is the most polished piece of work here, a grandiose wedding cake of glorious über-pop – soon followed by the far less formal final track, Dawai Batu Gajah’s “Ramayana Soul”, a ramshackle, acoustic bonfire sing-along with more than a hint of Hindu benediction.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Indonésie Label : La Munai Genres et styles : rock psychédélique Année : 2020
Artistes variés

Fairytale of Megobiodiversity

· par Rupert Bottenberg

On a tendance à négliger l’Indonésie quand on passe en revue le rock psychédélique, la pop et le funk vintage à l’échelle de la planète. C’est dommage, parce qu’il y a là-bas des trucs formidables (bravo à Koes Plus et Dara Puspita, pour commencer). La Munai Records de Djakarta a ainsi ressuscité la discographie du Harry Roesli Gang du milieu des années 70, riche en prog-folk-rock-jazz-funk groovy influencé par le gamelan.

Le label présente aussi de nombreux artistes actuels, certains de rock psychédélique proprement dit, d’autres faisant plutôt dans le dub reggae, le surf ou même le doo-wop sépulcral, comme Sundancer. Fairytale of Megobiodiversity, la plus récente compil de néopsychédélique indonésien de La Munai, fait honneur à son titre et offre un éventail impressionnant de musiques imaginatives. Plusieurs groupes affichent ouvertement leur filiation aux années 1960, d’autres présentent des influences plus variées.  

Sur Madiba, le groupe Freedom of Choice tire le meilleur d’un simple riff de guitare saharienne, de percussions métalliques et d’un saxophone incisif. World as Festival d’Aksan Sjuman & The Committee of the Fest est un étrange et merveilleux truc vaguement jazz et le space-rock S.Y d’Astrolab ressemble à un débris spatial traversant la stratosphère. Rhymes of Adorer de Ray Magus est la pièce la plus aboutie de cette série, une sorte de grandiose gâteau de noces d’über-pop, suivie peu après par la toute dernière, pas mal plus libre et décontractée, Ramayana Soul de Dawai Batu Gajah, chanson de feu de camp joliment débridée, avec une touche de bénédiction hindoue.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre