×
Country : United Kingdom Label : Village Green Genres and styles : Contemporary / Minimalist Year : 2020
Angèle David-Guillou

A Question of Angles

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Earlier this year, Angèle David-Guillou, a French composer and performer based in England, concluded the arc of her Mouvement trilogy. Though initiated well before the first fit of coughing in Wuhan, these works – particularly the concluding Sans Mouvement, an almost hour-long solo organ meditation – provided an excellent reflection of the global lockdown, thick with churning, compressed sentiments and toying with the very idea of time.

It’s unlikely that David-Guillou had insider information about the bug back then, and likewise doubtful that she could have predicted to the week the announcement of a vaccine, a light at the end of the tunnel. Regardless, her timing is again excellent. A Question of Angles is again an ensemble work, like 2017’s En Mouvement, with over a dozen string and saxophone players, supplemented as is seen fit, for instance by a soaring Theremin on the title track, or the choir on the concluding piece, “Quid Pro Quo”. It’s not only a collective effort, it’s also bold, effusive, and extroverted music, a righteous release. This is apparent from the first volley, the forceful “Valley of Detachment”, a piece so martial that the “detachment” in the title might be a military double-entendre.

En Mouvement contained several explicit pastiches, most prominently of Philip Glass and Michael Nyman, and their spirits linger over the entire proceedings of A Question of Angles – David-Guillou makes no effort to obscure that. From Glass she borrows the strident, loping melodic patterns, dramatic valleys and peaks in rapid succession, and from Nyman, the intractable drive, the pugnacity and piercing ache. She has her own voice, though, and like most of us, much to say at this point in the global ordeal.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Royaume-Uni Label : Village Green Genres et styles : minimaliste / musique contemporaine Année : 2020
Angèle David-Guillou

A Question of Angles

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Plus tôt cette année, la compositrice et interprète française Angèle David-Guillou, installée en Angleterre, a conclu sa trilogie Mouvement. Même si elle a été entreprise bien avant la première quinte de toux à Wuhan, cette œuvre rend très bien – en particulier le dernier volet, Sans Mouvement, une méditation à l’orgue de près d’une heure – le sentiment d’enfermement vécu à l’échelle planétaire en raison du confinement, tout en jouant avec l’idée même du temps.

Il est peu probable que David-Guillou ait eu des informations privilégiées sur le virus à l’époque et qu’elle ait pu prédire à la semaine près l’annonce d’un vaccin, lumière au bout du tunnel. Quoi qu’il en soit, son synchronisme est à nouveau excellent. A Question of Angles est une œuvre pour ensemble, tout comme l’était En Mouvement, paru en 2017, avec cordes et saxophones, auxquels s’ajoutent un thérémine sur la pièce-titre et un chœur sur le dernier morceau, Quid Pro Quo. La musique y est audacieuse et exubérante. La première salve, la puissante Valley of Detachment, est si martiale qu’on a l’impression que la notion de « détachement » doit être entendue au sens militaire.

En Mouvement comporte plusieurs pastiches, notamment de Philip Glass et Michael Nyman, et l’esprit de ces deux compositeurs demeure présent tout au long de Question of Angles, David-Guillou ne semble pas vouloir s’en cacher. À Glass, elle emprunte les tonalités stridentes et les motifs mélodiques lents, avec des montées et des descentes dramatiques qui se succèdent rapidement, et à Nyman, la pulsion implacable, la fougue et la douleur lancinante. Elle a cependant sa propre voix et, comme la plupart d’entre nous, elle a beaucoup à dire sur cette épreuve que nous traversons.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre