×

Angela Park , Brian Manker, Sunday afternoon in Eastern Europe

Interview by Alain Brunet
Genres and styles : Classical / Modern Classical / post-romantique

Additional Information

For its last concert of the Cartes Blanches series, Pro Musica invites music lovers to travel musically in Eastern Europe. Brian Manker, cello, and Angela Park, piano, will perform a repertoire focusing on works by Rachmaninov, Martinu and Kaprálová.

 So let’s meet Angela Park, in order to know more about this excellent pianist’s career, about her duet with Brian Manker and the pieces to perform on Sunday, 3 PM, at the Phi Center.

PAN M 360: First, we’d like to know more about you! Where were you trained as a chambrist and a soloist?  

ANGELA PARK: I studied solo performance at Western University, the University of Toronto, and the Université de Montréal. Chamber music has always been a large part of my musical education. I began playing in a piano trio when I was 13 and have always loved collaborating in various instrumental combinations ever since. I met one of my duo partners, violist Sharon Wei, when we were undergraduate students at Western University. Even during our studies, we sought out ways to keep playing together, and this has fed into my professional career. 25 years later, Sharon and I are still thinking up all kinds of projects together!

PAN M 360: Who were your main professors?

ANGELA PARK: James Anagnoson, Ronald Turini, William Aide, Jacob Lateiner, Paul Stewart. I have been lucky to meet and be inspired by each of these artists, who were each wonderful teachers as well. 

PAN M 360: Who were or still are your pianistic role models?

ANGELA PARK: There are so many I love to listen to, including Richter, Horowitz, Argerich, Nikolayeva. Listening to recordings of my past teachers also continue to inspire me. 

PAN M 360: How would you describe your pianistic personality? 

ANGELA PARK: I have been told I am a sensitive listener 😊. 

PAN M 360: Do you have favourite composers or periods of classical music?

ANGELA PARK: Composers I feel most close to as a performer are Mozart, Schumann, Debussy, Rachmaninoff. I also love the process of commissioning and playing new works of today’s composers. Some composers whose music I have really gravitate to are Barbara Croall, Omar Daniel, Kevin Lau, and Darren Sigesmund (who happens to be my husband!). 

PAN M 360: Do you see yourself more as a chamber musician or a soloist?

ANGELA PARK: My career has taken me much more in the chamber music realm. I try to maintain a schedule of learning solo repertoire and playing recitals whenever possible, as I feel that solo playing helps ensemble playing, and vice versa. 

PAN M 360: What are your favorite contexts for performing live or recording? 

ANGELA PARK: Some of the most moving experiences as a performer have been for the organizations Concerts in Care and Xenia Concerts. Playing for those that cannot access concerts elsewhere is very meaningful and important. I love playing and recording with musical partners that I have a long friendship with, as it makes the whole experience more personal and gratifying. 

PAN M 360: Where are you based? 

ANGELA PARK: I recently moved from Toronto to London, Ontario, which happens to be where I was born and grew up. I currently teach piano and collaborative piano at Western University. 

She is a founding member of the JUNO Award-winning Made in Canada Ensemble and the renowned Mercer-Park Duo with cellist Rachel Mercer. Rachel and Angela performed with violinist Yehonatan Berick as part of the AYR Trio from 2010 to 2020.

PAN M 360: As we can observe, piano duet with cello is something that you know very well. So let’s talk about the piano-cello duet: Do you still perform with Rachel Mercer? 

ANGELA PARK: Yes, Rachel and I still collaborate extensively as a cello-piano duo. I met Rachel in 2006 and she continues to be a huge inspiration and important friend and musical partner. We also have other collaborative projects in the works. 

PAN M 360: Is this collaboration with Brian Manker a long-term collaboration? 

ANGELA PARK: This is our first recital together, and I certainly hope to do more in the future! Brian and I are playing in a piano quartet formation this summer in Ahuntsic, along with violinist Andrew Wan and violist Sharon Wei. 

PAN M 360: Can you tell us how and when you began playing with Brian Manker?

ANGELA PARK: I met Brian when I lived in Montreal around 2006, and I had a chamber coaching with him around that time that is still memorable. We played the “Trout Quintet” together many years ago in Westben, and a highlight of that concert was playing with Brian. He brings so much vibrancy and beauty to the music. I am very excited to be collaborating with him for this Pro Musica concert as a duo. 

PAN M 360: Do you have some other gigs for piano-cello duets?

ANGELA PARK: Rachel and I have recitals coming up in the next season mostly in Ontario (KW and Cobourg). 

PAN M 360: What are the specific qualities of this duet with Brian Manker?

ANGELA PARK: Brian brings such a positive energy to everything, and his playing is so effusive and full of colour. I will certainly be inspired by these qualities and I know it will be an invigorating experience. 

Here is the MTL setlist:

Sergei Rachmaninoff, Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op.19

Bohuslav Martinů, Variations on a Slovak theme, H.378

Vítězslava Kaprálová, Ritournelle for piano and cello, op.25 

PAN M 360 : Can you please comment on each piece?  What are the specific challenges for the duet and each instrument? 

ANGELA PARK: This is a beautiful program that displays the cello and piano in a soulful way. The Kaprálová and Martinu are new works for me, and I am thrilled to discover them. The Kaprálová is a bright and energetic work and I hear the influence of Martinu, who she studied with. I have always loved Martinu and the way his chamber music comes together so uniquely like clockwork. This work also has some amazing melodies and dance-like themes. Rachmaninoff is fiendishly difficult, but so worth it to bring this dramatic, deeply expressive work to life. 

PAN M 360: What are your ongoing projects, concerts or recording sessions?

ANGELA PARK: I have upcoming performances and recording projects with violinist Scott St. John and Rachel Mercer featuring the music of Kevin Lau. Other collaborations I am excited about include playing concerts with Sharon Wei, Rivka Golani, Susan Hoeppner, James Campbell. Rachel and I are also a trio with violinist Mayumi Seiler, and I have piano duo projects with Stéphan Sylvestre. Upcoming solo events include recitals across Ontario.

Angela Park received her Master of Music degree from the University of Toronto and her doctorate in piano performance from the University of Montreal. From 2011-2014, Angela was a Visiting Assistant Professor at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music, where she taught the woodwind accompaniment course. She has performed in Ottawa, Winnipeg, Toronto. Angela has recorded with cellist Rachel Mercer and the Made In Canada Ensemble, and has recorded various projects for the Enharmonic label in Bloomington, Indiana. In 2021, her album “Mosaic” with the Made In Canada Ensemble won a JUNO Award for Classical Album of the Year. She has won numerous awards and honors including the Grace Welsh International Piano Prize in Chicago, the Canadian National Music Festival, the Honens International Piano Competition and the Maria Canals International Piano Competition in Barcelona. 

Principal cellist with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal since 1999, Brian Manker pursues a diverse musical career as a performer and teacher. In addition to being a frequent performer with the OSM, Mr. Manker is a member of the Juno- and Opus-Award winning New Orford String Quartet. A professor at McGill University’s Schulich School of Music, Mr. Manker also initiated the Beethoven Project and founded the Adorno Quartet in 2007, which aims to perform all of Beethoven’s quartets in their original context: a private salon. In 2010, he recorded the Bach Suites for Solo Cello. Brian Manker plays a cello made by Pietro Guarneri of Venice c. 1728-1730 with a bow made by Joseph René Lafleur c. 1850, courtesy of the Canimex Foundation.

PROGRAM:

Sergei Rachmaninoff, Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op.19

Bohuslav Martinů, Variations on a Slovak theme, H.378

Vítězslava Kaprálová, Ritournelle for piano and cello, op.25

Indoor presentation: Sunday, April 24, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. at the PHI Centre

Webcast (on demand) from May 29 to June 12

Information and tickets, it’s here.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Angela Park et Brian Manker, un dimanche en Europe de l’Est

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

renseignements supplémentaires

Pour son dernier concert de la série Cartes blanches, Pro Musica invite les mélomanes à voyager musicalement en Europe de l’Est. Brian Manker, violoncelle, et Angela Park, piano, interpréteront ensemble un répertoire centré sur des œuvres de Rachmaninov, Martinu et Kaprálová.

Rencontrons donc Angela Park, afin d’en savoir plus sur la carrière de cette excellente pianiste, sur son duo avec Brian Manker et sur les pièces qu’elle interprétera dimanche, à 15 heures, au Centre Phi.

PAN M 360 : Tout d’abord, nous aimerions en savoir plus sur vous! Où avez-vous été éduquée en tant que chambriste et soliste?  

ANGELA PARK : J’ai étudié l’interprétation en solo à l’Université Western, à l’Université de Toronto et à l’Université de Montréal. La musique de chambre a toujours occupé une place importante dans mon éducation musicale. J’ai commencé à jouer dans un trio avec piano à l’âge de 13 ans et j’ai toujours aimé collaborer à diverses combinaisons instrumentales depuis. J’ai rencontré l’une de mes partenaires de duo, l’altiste Sharon Wei, alors que nous étions étudiantes de premier cycle à l’Université Western. Même pendant nos études, nous avons cherché des moyens de continuer à jouer ensemble, et cela a alimenté ma carrière professionnelle. Vingt-cinq ans plus tard, Sharon et moi continuons à imaginer toutes sortes de projets ensemble!

PAN M 360 : Qui étaient vos principaux professeurs?

ANGELA PARK : James Anagnoson, Ronald Turini, William Aide, Jacob Lateiner et Paul Stewart. J’ai eu la chance de rencontrer et d’être inspirée par chacun de ces artistes, qui étaient également de merveilleux professeurs. 

PAN M 360 : Qui étaient ou sont encore vos modèles pianistiques?

ANGELA PARK : Il y en a tellement que j’aime écouter, notamment Richter, Horowitz, Argerich, Nikolayeva. L’écoute d’enregistrements de mes anciens professeurs continue également à m’inspirer. 

PAN M 360 : Comment décririez-vous votre personnalité pianistique? 

ANGELA PARK : On m’a dit que j’étais une personne sensible à l’écoute 😊. 

PAN M 360 : Avez-vous des compositeurs ou des périodes de musique classique préférés?

ANGELA PARK : Les compositeurs dont je me sens le plus proche en tant qu’interprète sont Mozart, Schumann, Debussy, Rachmaninov. J’aime aussi le processus de commande et d’interprétation des nouvelles œuvres des compositeurs d’aujourd’hui. Au nombre des compositeurs dont la musique m’a vraiment attirée, il y a Barbara Croall, Omar Daniel, Kevin Lau et Darren Sigesmund (qui se trouve être mon mari!).

PAN M 360 : Vous considérez-vous davantage comme une musicienne de chambre ou une soliste?

ANGELA PARK : Ma carrière m’a amenée à jouer beaucoup plus dans le domaine de la musique de chambre. J’essaie de maintenir un programme d’apprentissage du répertoire solo et de jouer des récitals chaque fois que c’est possible, car je pense que le jeu en solo aide le jeu d’ensemble, et vice versa. 

PAN M 360 : Quels sont vos contextes préférés pour jouer en direct ou pour enregistrer? 

ANGELA PARK : Certaines des expériences les plus émouvantes en tant qu’interprète ont été pour les organisations Concerts in Care et Xenia Concerts. Jouer pour ceux qui n’ont pas accès aux concerts ailleurs est très significatif et important. J’aime jouer et enregistrer avec des partenaires musicaux avec lesquels j’ai une longue amitié, car cela rend l’expérience plus personnelle et gratifiante. 

PAN M 360 : Quel est votre port d’attache? 

ANGELA PARK : J’ai récemment déménagé de Toronto à London, en Ontario, qui se trouve être là où je suis née et où j’ai grandi. J’enseigne actuellement le piano et le piano collaboratif à l’Université Western. 

Elle est membre fondatrice de l’ensemble Made In Canada – lauréat d’un prix JUNO – et du célèbre duo Mercer-Park avec la violoncelliste Rachel Mercer. Rachel et Angela ont joué avec le violoniste Yehonatan Berick, dans le trio AYR, de 2010 à 2020.

PAN M 360 : Force est d’observer que le duo de piano avec violoncelle est une configuration que vous connaissez très bien. Parlons-en donc: vous jouez toujours avec Rachel Mercer? 

ANGELA PARK : Oui, Rachel et moi collaborons encore beaucoup en tant que duettistes violoncelle-piano. J’ai rencontré Rachel en 2006 et elle continue d’être une grande source d’inspiration, ainsi qu’une amie et partenaire musicale importante. Nous avons également d’autres projets de collaboration en cours. 

PAN M 360 : Cette collaboration avec Brian Manker est-elle à long terme? 

ANGELA PARK : C’est notre premier récital ensemble, et j’espère certainement en faire plus à l’avenir! Brian et moi jouons dans une formation de quatuor de piano cet été à Ahuntsic, avec le violoniste Andrew Wan et l’altiste Sharon Wei.

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous dire comment et quand vous avez commencé à jouer avec Brian Manker?

ANGELA PARK : J’ai rencontré Brian lorsque je vivais à Montréal vers 2006, et j’ai eu une formation de chambre avec lui à cette époque qui reste mémorable. Nous avons joué le Quintette en la majeur (La Truite) ensemble il y a plusieurs années, à Westben, et l’un des moments forts de ce concert a été de jouer avec Brian. Il apporte tellement de vitalité et de beauté à la musique. Je suis très heureux de collaborer avec lui pour ce concert Pro Musica en duo. 

PAN M 360 : Avez-vous d’autres concerts pour des duos piano-violoncelle?

ANGELA PARK : Rachel et moi avons des récitals à venir au cours de la prochaine saison, principalement en Ontario (KW et Cobourg). 

PAN M 360 : Quelles sont les qualités spécifiques de ce duo avec Brian Manker?

ANGELA PARK : Brian apporte une telle énergie positive à tout, et son jeu est si effusif et plein de couleurs. Je vais certainement être inspirée par ces qualités et je sais que ce sera une expérience vivifiante. 

Voici la liste des œuvres du concert au Centre Phi :

Sergei Rachmaninoff, Sonate pour violoncelle et piano en sol mineur, Op.19

Bohuslav Martinů, Variations sur un thème slovaque, H.378

Vítězslava Kaprálová, Ritournelle pour piano et violoncelle, op.25 

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous commenter ce programme?  Quels en sont les défis?

ANGELA PARK : C’est un beau programme qui met en valeur le violoncelle et le piano d’une manière soulignée. Les œuvres de Kaprálová et de Martinu sont nouvelles pour moi, et je suis ravie de les découvrir. La Ritournelle est une œuvre brillante et énergique et j’entends l’influence de Martinu, avec qui elle a étudié. J’ai toujours aimé Martinu et la façon dont sa musique de chambre se met en place de façon si unique, comme une horloge. Cette œuvre contient également des mélodies étonnantes et des thèmes dansants. Rachmaninov est extrêmement difficile, mais cela en vaut la peine pour donner vie à cette œuvre dramatique et profondément expressive. 

PAN M 360 : Quels sont vos projets en cours, concerts ou séances d’enregistrement?

ANGELA PARK : J’ai des projets de concerts et d’enregistrements à venir avec le violoniste Scott St. John et Rachel Mercer, sur la musique de Kevin Lau. D’autres collaborations qui m’enthousiasment comprennent des concerts avec Sharon Wei, Rivka Golani, Susan Hoeppner, James Campbell. Rachel et moi formons également un trio avec la violoniste Mayumi Seiler, et j’ai des projets de duo de piano avec Stéphan Sylvestre. Les événements solos à venir incluent des récitals à travers l’Ontario.

Angela Park a obtenu sa maîtrise en musique à l’Université de Toronto et son doctorat en interprétation du piano à l’Université de Montréal. De 2011 à 2014, Angela a été professeur adjoint invité à la Jacobs School of Music de l’Université de l’Indiana, où elle a enseigné le cours d’accompagnement des bois. Elle s’est produite à Ottawa, Winnipeg et Toronto. Angela a enregistré avec la violoncelliste Rachel Mercer et l’ensemble Made In Canada, et a enregistré divers projets pour l’étiquette Enharmonic à Bloomington, Indiana. En 2021, son album Mosaic, avec l’ensemble Made In Canada a remporté un prix JUNO pour l’album classique de l’année. Elle a remporté de nombreux prix et distinctions, notamment le Grace Welsh International Piano Prize à Chicago, le Canadian National Music Festival, le Honens International Piano Competition et la Maria Canals International Piano Competition à Barcelone. 

Violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal depuis 1999, Brian Manker poursuit une carrière musicale diversifiée en tant qu’interprète et professeur. En plus de se produire fréquemment avec l’OSM, M. Manker est membre du New Orford String Quartet, lauréat de prix Juno et Opus. Professeur à l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill, M. Manker a également lancé le projet Beethoven et fondé le Quatuor Adorno en 2007, qui vise à interpréter tous les quatuors de Beethoven dans leur contexte original, soit un salon privé. En 2010, il a enregistré les Suites pour violoncelle seul de Bach. Brian Manker joue d’un violoncelle fabriqué par Pietro Guarneri, à Venise, vers 1728-1730, avec un archet fabriqué par Joseph René Lafleur vers 1850, gracieuseté de la Fondation Canimex.

 PROGRAMME :

Sergei Rachmaninov, Sonate pour violoncelle et piano en sol mineur, Op.19

Bohuslav Martinů, Variations sur un thème slovaque, H.378

Vítězslava Kaprálová, Ritournelle pour piano et violoncelle, op.25

Pour acheter vos billets, c’est ici

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre