Arabic Classical / expérimental / contemporain

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

by Laurent Bellemare

The Suoni Per Il Popolo festival may present three or four concerts each evening, but on a Thursday evening in June, a packed Sala Rossa was ready to welcome two hours of contemporary music. In the case of both proposals, they were premieres, and it was the excitement of discovering the new projects of these renowned artists that brought everyone together. Such enthusiasm for innovative music is to be welcomed, and confirms the relevance of the No Hay Banda series of events.

Sarah Davachi: No Hay Banda performs Three Unisons for Four Voices.

The shimmering sound of the vibraphone notes played with the bow had barely joined the spun sounds of the strings when the ensemble suddenly had to stop playing. The interruption was caused by the violinist feeling unwell, and she unfortunately had to withdraw from the concert to regain her strength. We had then heard no more than five minutes of minimalist music, moving very slowly and gently.

Following this false start, a few minutes passed without the crowd really knowing what was going on. Pianist Daniel Áñez was soon able to announce that the concert would resume with a substitute violinist, Clemens Merkel of the Quatuor Bozzini. A mere spectator, the musician offered to play Sarah Davachi’s work at a moment’s notice, much to everyone’s relief. The ensemble then got down to work and restarted their performance of the 70-minute piece. 

A little deciphering of the work’s title helps us understand how it works. On the one hand, the ensemble of six performers was divided into four instrumental groups: strings, winds, percussion and ondes Martenot (and electronics!). The voices interacted with each other by playing the same musical material (hence the idea of unison), but with individual freedom of execution. A sequence of notes had to be played in a given time, but the writing was not rigid as to how the performer would get there. In this way, the piece was structured by a chronometer, with precise timings determining its progression.

Perceptually, the work seemed to emerge from silence, then rise in density and intensity for half an hour or so, then calmly descend into nothingness. To appreciate such music, one had to be attentive to the micro-details – the subtle harmonic changes generated by the improvisational element. The effect was comparable to that of a massive drone whose harmonics had been skilfully orchestrated, in the manner of spectral music à la Gérard Grisey or Tristan Murail.

Unfortunately, the beloved Sala Rossa may not have been the best place to immerse oneself in this type of listening. Between floor creaks, chair squeaks and bar action, it wasn’t easy for the instrumentalists to monopolize the sound space. As a result, the audience’s selective listening was seriously challenged, which didn’t help to plunge fully into the musical proposition. A possible compromise would have been to amplify the instruments so that they enveloped the space more fully. All in all, Three Unisons for Four Voices was an invitation to plunge actively into the sound material, which the ensemble communicated with brio. We only regret the acoustic constraints that somewhat mitigated the immersive effect the work could have had. 

Nadah El-Shazli + Sarah Pagé

While not the artists’ first collaboration, the unusual duet between Egyptian singer Nadah El-Shazli and harpist Sarah Pagé is still a fresh offering. Pagé had indeed recorded harp on El Shazly’s 2017 album Ahwar, but the two artists’ collaborative concerts are more recent than that.

The performance contrasted sharply with the first part of the concert, to say the least. The songs were full of energy and moved along at breakneck speed. El-Shazli’s Arabic lyrics and traditionally-inspired vocals, modulated with live processing and complemented by sampling, combined in a tasty, novel rendering. The singer’s mastery of vocal ornamentation brought out the modal colors of her melodies. 

But what was most impressive was the variety of vocal techniques she employed. El-Shazly moved easily from a strong, full-bodied vocal projection to a more vulnerable voice with very little breath. What can we say about the few screams she let out towards the middle of the show? The singer also used the microphone creatively, to create dramatic effects. The further away the microphone was, the less processed El-Shazby’s voice became, allowing her to make skilful modulations of timbre and volume. She also ended one piece singing a capella, abandoning amplification for a goosebump-inducing moment.

Sarah Pagé was not to be outdone, well equipped with her amplified harp and an arsenal of effects pedals. In the course of her performance, the harpist traversed a wide range of playing modes, extended techniques and types of sound processing. Her performance was totally dynamic, moving fluidly from fast articulations to delay playing, bowed spun sounds and plucked chord ostinatos. Exemplary, Pagé once again confirmed the great versatility of his artistic practice.

All in all, the interplay between El-Shazly’s vocals and Pagé’s strings was a successful rendezvous. The performance seems to have been composed mainly of original music, although at least the last piece of the concert ‘Mahmiya’ was taken from El-Shazly’s solo album. In any case, we look forward to hearing a duo album from these two artists.

Photo by Pierre Langlois

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

Subscribe to our newsletter

classique arabe / expérimental / contemporain

Un 13 juin aux Suoni Per Il Popolo : No Hay Banda avec Sarah Davachi et Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

par Laurent Bellemare

Les Suoni Per Il Popolo ont beau présenter trois ou quatre concerts chaque soir, rien n’empêche qu’un jeudi soir de juin, c’était une Sala Rossa comble qui s’apprêtait à recevoir deux heures de musique contemporaine. Dans le cas des deux propositions, il s’agissait de premières et c’était l’excitation de découvrir les nouveaux projets de ces artistes réputés qui avait réuni tout ce beau monde. On peut se réjouir d’un tel engouement pour les musiques innovantes, engouement qui confirme la pertinence de la série d’événements de No Hay Banda.

Sarah Davachi : No Hay Banda interprète Three Unisons for Four Voices

Le son scintillant des notes de vibraphone jouées à l’archet avait à peine joint les sons filés des cordes que l’ensemble a soudainement dû arrêter de jouer. Cette interruption venait d’un malaise de la violoniste, qui a malheureusement dû se retirer du concert pour reprendre ses forces. On avait alors entendu pas plus de cinq minutes d’une musique minimaliste, évoluant très lentement et tout en douceur.

Suite à ce faux départ, quelques minutes se sont écoulées sans que la foule sache trop ce qui se passe. Très rapidement, le pianiste Daniel Áñez a pu annoncer que le concert reprendrait avec un violoniste substitut, en la personne de Clemens Merkel du Quatuor Bozzini. Simple spectateur, le musicien s’est offert de jouer l’œuvre de Sarah Davachi au pied levé, au grand soulagement de tous. L’ensemble s’est donc attelé et a redémarré son exécution de la pièce de 70 minutes. 

Décrypter quelque peu le titre de l’œuvre permet d’en mieux comprendre le fonctionnement. D’une part, l’ensemble de six interprètes était divisé en quatre groupes instrumentaux : cordes, vents, percussions et ondes Martenot (et électronique!). Les voix interagissaient entre elles en jouant un même matériau musical (d’où l’idée de l’unisson), mais avec une liberté individuelle d’exécution. Il fallait donc jouer une suite de notes dans un temps donné, sans pourtant que l’écriture soit rigide quant à la manière dont l’interprète allait se rendre à destination. Ainsi, la pièce était structurée par un chronomètre et des minutages précis en déterminaient la progression.

Perceptuellement, l’œuvre semblait émerger du silence, puis monter en densité et en intensité pendant plus ou moins une demi-heure, puis redescendre calmement vers le néant. Pour apprécier une telle musique, il fallait être attentif aux micro détails, soit les subtils changements harmoniques générés par l’élément d’improvisation. L’effet était comparable à un effet de bourdon massif dont on aurait savamment orchestré les harmoniques, à l’instar d’une musique spectrale à la Gérard Grisey ou Tristan Murail.

Malheureusement, la bien-aimée Sala Rossa n’était peut-être pas le lieu le plus propice pour s’immerger dans un tel type d’écoute. Entre les craquements de plancher, les grincements des chaises et l’action du bar, il n’était pas facile pour les instrumentistes de monopoliser l’espace sonore. L’écoute sélective de l’auditoire était donc sérieusement mise à l’épreuve, ce qui n’aidait pas à plonger avec pleine attention dans la proposition musicale. Un compromis possible aurait été d’amplifier les instruments afin qu’ils enveloppent davantage les lieux. Somme toute, Three Unisons for Four Voices invitait à plonger activement dans la matière sonore, ce que l’ensemble a communiqué avec brio. On regrette seulement les contraintes acoustiques ayant quelque peu mitigé l’effet immersif que l’œuvre aurait pu avoir. 

Nadah El-Shazli + Sarah Pagé

S’il ne constituait pas la première collaboration des artistes, le duo inusité entre la chanteuse égyptienne Nadah El-Shazli et la harpiste Sarah Pagé est tout de même assez jeune. Pagé avait bien enregistré de la harpe sur l’album Ahwar d’El Shazly, paru en 2017, mais les concerts collaboratifs des deux artistes sont beaucoup plus récents.

Le moins qu’on puisse dire, c’est que la performance faisait grand contraste avec la première partie du concert. Les morceaux étaient chargés d’énergie et progressaient à vive allure. Les textes en arabe et le chant d’inspiration traditionnelle d’El-Shazli, modulés avec du traitement en direct et complémentés par de l’échantillonnage, se combinaient en un rendu savoureux et inédit. La chanteuse avait une excellente maîtrise des ornementations vocales et faisait bien ressortir les couleurs modales de ses mélodies. 

Mais le plus impressionnant, c’était la variété des techniques vocales qu’elle employait. El-Shazly passait aisément d’une forte projection vocale, avec bien du coffre, à une voix plus vulnérable et avec très peu de souffle. Que dire des quelques cris lâchés vers le milieu du spectacle! La chanteuse utilisait également le microphone de façon créative, pour créer des effets dramatiques. Plus le micro était loin, moins la voix d’El-Shazby était traitée, ce qui lui permettait d’habiles modulations de timbre et de volume. Elle a également terminé une pièce en chantant a capella, abandonnant l’amplification pour un instant qui donnait la chair de poule.

Sarah Pagé n’était pas en reste, bien outillée de sa harpe amplifiée et d’un arsenal de pédales à effets. Au fil de la prestation, la harpiste a parcouru un grand éventail de modes de jeu, de techniques étendues et de types de traitement sonore. Sa performance était totalement dynamique, passant fluidement d’articulations rapides aux jeux de délai, en passant par les sons filés avec archet et les ostinatos d’accords pincés. Exemplaire, Pagé confirmait encore une fois la grande polyvalence de sa pratique artistique.

En somme, l’interaction entre les voix d’El-Shazly et les cordes de Pagé était un rendez-vous réussi. La prestation semble avoir été composée majoritairement de musique originale, quoiqu’au moins la dernière pièce du concert ‘Mahmiya’ ait été tirée de l’album solo d’El-Shazly. Quoi qu’il en soit, on espère bien vite pouvoir écouter un album en duo de ces deux artistes.

Crédit photo: Pierre Langlois

Tout le contenu 360

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, grande voix pop d’Algérie

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, grande voix pop d’Algérie

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bïa & Maracuja, entre bonnes mains !

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bïa & Maracuja, entre bonnes mains !

Le Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal s’ouvre au grand public

Le Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal s’ouvre au grand public

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado et sa guitare « caipira »

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado et sa guitare « caipira »

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino : la chaleur humaine au rythme du désert

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino : la chaleur humaine au rythme du désert

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Def Mama Def : Deux sœurs en art !

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Def Mama Def : Deux sœurs en art !

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega étend son royaume à MTL

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega étend son royaume à MTL

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado transforme le Balattou en laboratoire percussif

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado transforme le Balattou en laboratoire percussif

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Guinée en cirque !

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Guinée en cirque !

Domaine Forget 2024 | Brises capverdiennes dans Charlevoix avec Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Brises capverdiennes dans Charlevoix avec Lucibela

SAT X EAF : Heith, Orchestroll, Audréanne Filion

SAT X EAF : Heith, Orchestroll, Audréanne Filion

Présente ta chanson ! Queenie nous parle de Feels Good

Présente ta chanson ! Queenie nous parle de Feels Good

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, le karma des femmes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, le karma des femmes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Kirá a mis le feu au Balattou

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Kirá a mis le feu au Balattou

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO : Embrasser les traditions et la modernité brésilienne

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO : Embrasser les traditions et la modernité brésilienne

La valeur marchande du jazz « sérieux »

La valeur marchande du jazz « sérieux »

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 | Shabaka… flûtes alors !

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 | Shabaka… flûtes alors !

La violence des camions brûle et recommence

La violence des camions brûle et recommence

Karma Glider, The Wesleys et Sun Entire apportent le soleil au Quai Des Brumes

Karma Glider, The Wesleys et Sun Entire apportent le soleil au Quai Des Brumes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un « fils de »… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un « fils de »… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 | L’assomption de Milena Casado

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 | L’assomption de Milena Casado

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 I L’univers mystifiant du Cinematic Orchestra, un film en direct

PAN M 360 au FIJM 2024 I L’univers mystifiant du Cinematic Orchestra, un film en direct

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre