×
Country : Austria Label : Naxos Genres and styles : Modern Classical Year : 2020
Arthur Fagen & ORF Vienna Symphony Radio Orchestra

William Dawson : Negro Folk Symphony | Ulysses Kay : Fantasy Variation; Umbrian Scene

· by Alexandre Villemaire

The names of William L. Dawson (1899-1990) and Ulysses Kay (1917-1995), two African-Americans, it should be noted, are not among those usually heard in the canonical repertoire of Western scholarly music. It’s therefore a very good omen that the prestigious Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of conductor Arthur Fagen, is focusing on orchestral works by these composers who, along with William Grant Still, Florence Price, Margaret Bonds. and others, shaped the development of 19th- and 20th-century African-American classical music.

Dawson’s Negro Folk Symphony, premiered in 1934 at Carnegie Hall by Leopold Stokowski, uses the Romantic symphonic model while featuring movements that incorporate a recurring motif introduced by the horn, and which evolves in variations throughout the work. Citing several fragmented African-American spirituals (except in the second movement), Dawson somehow unites two worlds in a musical narrative that evokes uprootedness (“The Bond to Africa”), hope (“Hope in the Night”), and resilience (“O, Le’ Me Shine, Shine Like a Morning Star!”). 

More prolific than Dawson, who devoted most of his career to choral singing, notably by forming the excellent choir of the Tuskegee Institute, Ulysses Kay offers a style whose biting, almost Schönbergian neoclassical sounds contrast with the idiomatic lyricism of his elder colleague. In his Fantasy Variations, Kay surprises by presenting the final result of the variations at the beginning, and the main theme at the end. Umbrian Scene, in contrast to its title, does not evoke the picturesque landscapes of Italy. Its character is rather dark and intriguing.

With what is only the third major recording of Negro Folk Symphony (1963, 1992), Maestro Fagen and the Viennese orchestra deliver an elegant and poignant performance of a brilliant and varied repertoire. In a context where we are more than ever led to wonder about a lack of diversity, and where the existence of such music must be noted, this album comes at the right time.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Autriche Label : Naxos Genres et styles : classique moderne Année : 2020
Arthur Fagen & ORF Vienna Symphony Radio Orchestra

William Dawson : Negro Folk Symphony | Ulysses Kay : Fantasy Variation; Umbrian Scene

· par Alexandre Villemaire

Les noms de William L. Dawson (1899-1990) et d’Ulysses Kay (1917-1995), deux Afro-Américains, précisons-le, ne sont pas de ceux que l’on entend habituellement dans le répertoire canonique de la musique savante occidentale. Il est donc de très bon augure que le prestigieux Orchestre symphonique de la radio de Vienne, sous la baguette du chef Arthur Fagen, s’attarde à des œuvres orchestrales de ces compositeurs qui, aux côtés des William Grant Still, Florence Price, Margaret Bonds et autres, ont façonné le développement de la musique classique afro-américaine des XIXe et XXsiècles.

Pièce centrale de l’album, la Negro Folk Symphony de Dawson, créée en 1934 au Carnegie Hall par Leopold Stokowski, fait usage du modèle symphonique romantique tout en mettant de l’avant des mouvements où s’insère un motif récurrent introduit par le cor et qui évolue sous forme de diverses variations au fil de l’œuvre. En citant plusieurs hymnes spirituels afro-américains fragmentés (sauf dans le deuxième mouvement), Dawson unit d’une certaine façon deux mondes dans une narration musicale évoquant le déracinement (The Bond to Africa), l’espoir (Hope in the Night) et la résilience (O, Le’ Me Shine, Shine Like a Morning Star!

Plus prolifique que Dawson qui a orienté l’essentiel de sa carrière dans le chant choral, notamment en formant l’excellente chorale de l’Institut Tuskegee, Ulysses Kay offre un style dont les sonorités néoclassiques mordantes, presque schönberguiennes, tranchent avec le lyrisme idiomatique de son aîné. Dans ses Fantasy Variations, Kay surprend en présentant le résultat final des variations au début et le thème principal à la fin. Umbrian Scene, au contraire de son titre, n’évoque pas les paysages pittoresques de l’Italie. Son caractère est plutôt sombre et intrigant.

Avec ce qui est seulement le troisième grand enregistrement de la Negro Folk Symphony (1963, 1992), maestro Fagen et l’orchestre viennois livrent une performance élégante et poignante d’un répertoire éclatant et varié. Dans un contexte où nous sommes plus que jamais amenés à nous interroger sur un manque de diversité et où l’existence d’une telle musique doit être relevée, cet album arrive à point.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre