×
Country : United States Label : RJ’s Electrical Connections Genres and styles : Downtempo / Funk / Hip Hop Year : 2020
RJD2

The Fun Ones

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Ramble Jon Krohn was already a hero to those in the know, for his daredevil displays of turntablism and his dope discs on Def Jux, when “A Beautiful Mine” off 2006’s Magnificent City became the theme for Mad Men. He came off as a bit of a beat-building James Bond – suave, elegant, a bit perverse, with sharp wit, a sturdy right hook, and various clever tricks concealed in his shoe heel.

Having earned his merit badges, RJD2 has only so much to prove, and he doesn’t try to prove much on his latest album. Following 2016’s intense Dame Fortune, and the strange synth-tone detour of Tendrils (as The Insane Warrior), his latest is about little more than having a good time, as the title suggests. Let’s call it his Casual Friday album, blended with a bit of Throwback Thursday.

A key sound element here is chunks of phone chats with contemporaries like Phonte, Mr. Lif, and Kid Koala, and a key theme is maintaining the flame of hip hop’s golden age, with the soul, funk, and disco that fed it. The excellent “A Genuine Gentleman”, reuniting RJD2 with veteran MC Aceyalone, demonstrates this decisively.

Some of the games at RJD2’s little get-together kinda suck, like the vexing “20 Grand Hotel” (I’m sorry, is that slap bass supposed to funny?). And of course, his idea of fun includes detours in the dark and dastardly – “High Street Will Never Die” offers no assurance that someone might not get got on that stretch of asphalt, and “My Very Own Burglar Neighbor” has a delightfully spooky streak as well.

What the listener will likely keep coming back to, though, is the big, blatant, basic-model bumpers, especially the convincing opener “No Helmet Up Indianola” and the very generous “Flocking To The Nearest Machine” – easily the most fun of these Fun Ones.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : RJ’s Electrical Connections Genres et styles : downtempo / funk / hip-hop Année : 2020
RJD2

The Fun Ones

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Ramble Jon Krohn était déjà adulé par les connaisseurs pour ses prouesses aux platines et ses cool disques sur Def Jux quand A Beautiful Mine, tiré de l’album Magnificent City paru en 2006, est devenu le thème de Mad Men. Il s’est alors révélé être une sorte de James Bond du rythme – suave, élégant, un brin débauché, à l’esprit vif, avec un solide crochet du droit et divers gadgets futés cachés dans le talon de sa chaussure.

Depuis qu’il a ainsi pris du galon, RJD2 n’a plus grand-chose à prouver, et il n’essaie pas de prouver quoi que ce soit sur son dernier album. Après l’intense Dame Fortune de 2016, et l’étrange parenthèse à dominante synthé de Tendrils (sous le nom de The Insane Warrior), The Fun Ones ne cherche qu’à s’amuser, comme son titre le laisse entendre. C’est un album sans prétention avec une petite touche de nostalgie rétro.

L’un de ses éléments-clés sont les bribes de conversations téléphoniques avec des collègues comme Phonte, Mr. Lif et Kid Koala, et l’une de ses intentions est d’entretenir la flamme de l’âge d’or du hip hop avec la soul, le funk et le disco qui l’ont nourri. L’excellente A Genuine Gentleman, réunissant RJD2 et le vétéran MC Aceyalone, en témoigne de façon éloquente.

Hélas, certains éléments de cette petite sauterie ne sont pas terribles, comme l’agaçante 20 Grand Hotel (cette slap bass est-elle vraiment censée être drôle?). RJD2 ne peut pas non plus s’empêcher de faire dans le sombre et l’abject – High Street Will Never Die n’offre aucune garantie que personne ne se fera descendre sur ce haut du pavé et My Very Own Burglar Neighbor a quelque chose de délicieusement sinistre.

Les pièces auxquelles l’auditeur aura le plus envie de revenir sont les plus costaudes, en particulier la convaincante pièce d’ouverture No Helmet Up Indianola et la très généreuse Flocking To The Nearest Machine, qui est sans doute la plus réussie du lot.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre