×
Country : United States Label : Don Giovanni Genres and styles : Electronic / Gospel / Soul Year : 2020
Mourning [A] BLKstar

The Cycle

· by Steve Naud

Mourning [A] BLKstar is a collective based in Cleveland, Ohio, dedicated to reporting on the harsh reality that the Black American community faces every day. For three years, every Wednesday night, its eight members gathered in a rehearsal space until the wee hours of the morning to create the material for The Cycle, the fourth album from the ensemble. It’s in the form of a double disc that we can now appreciate these new “songs of the apocalyptic diaspora”, as RA Washington, the founder of the group, calls them.

In the introduction to “Devil Get Behind Me”, we can hear Fred Hampton, the Black Panther activist murdered by the FBI in 1969, proclaim, “Racism is an excuse used for capitalism”. These words give a good idea of the content of the project. The Cycle is a portrait of an America that continues to be cruel to its citizens of colour, who are often left behind. The few love songs on the program do nothing to soften the message, since, like the characters in a James Baldwin novel, the protagonists are struggling in a hostile environment.

Like many double albums, The Cycle would probably have benefited from being more concise, but it is nonetheless a very moving work. For RA Washington, the collective’s music is a metaphor for their message. Over sometimes bitte, lo-fi electronic rhythms, the passionate vocals of the group’s three vocalists acend, supported by the interventions of the brass instruments. Just like the African-American artists who must raise their voices above the noise and fury, to offer us beauty and comfort. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Don Giovanni Genres et styles : électronique / gospel / soul Année : 2020
Mourning [A] BLKstar

The Cycle

· par Steve Naud

Mourning [A] BLKstar est un collectif basé à Cleveland, Ohio, qui s’est donné la vocation de faire état de la dure réalité à laquelle la communauté afro-américaine est à chaque jour confrontée. Pendant trois ans, chaque mercredi soir, ses huit membres se sont rassemblés dans un local de répétition afin de créer, jusqu’aux petites heures du matin, la matière de The Cycle, quatrième album de l’ensemble. C’est sous la forme d’un disque double que nous pouvons maintenant apprécier ces nouveaux « chants de la diaspora apocalyptique », comme les désigne RA Washington, fondateur de la formation.

Dans l’introduction à Devil Get Behind Me, nous pouvons entendre Fred Hampton, militant Black Panther assassiné par le FBI en 1969 proclamer : « Racism is an excuse used for capitalism. » Ces mots donnent une bonne idée de la teneur du projet. The Cycle brosse le portrait d’une Amérique qui se révèle toujours aussi cruelle envers ses citoyens de couleur, souvent laissés pour compte. Les quelques chansons d’amour au programme n’adoucissent en rien le propos puisqu’à l’instar des personnages d’un roman de James Baldwin, leurs protagonistes sont aux prises avec un environnement hostile.

Comme bien des albums double, The Cycle aurait probablement gagné à être plus concis, mais il n’en demeure pas moins une œuvre fort émouvante. Pour RA Washington, la musique du collectif est une métaphore du message qu’il véhicule. Sur des rythmes électroniques lo-fi parfois âpres, s’élève le chant passionné des trois vocalistes du groupe qu’appuient les interventions des cuivres. À l’image des artistes afro-américains qui doivent hisser leurs voix au-dessus du bruit et de la fureur afin de nous offrir de la beauté, du réconfort.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre