×
Country : United States Label : Profound Lore Genres and styles : Doom Metal / Folk metal Year : 2020
Bell Witch & Aerial Ruin

Stygian Bough Volume I

· by Steve Naud

Composed of bassist Dylan Desmond and drummer Jesse Shreibman, Bell Witch trades in funeral doom, one of the most skeletal branches of the great metal tree. On the other hand, Aerial Ruin is the pseudonym used by singer and guitarist Erik Moggridge for his dark folk cantilenas. Stygian Bough is the new banner under which these beautiful people have joined forces. 

This isn’t the first time these dark fellows have collaborated, as Moggridge has lent his voice to the funeral chants created by the Seattle duo since their beginnings. This time, however, the Portland, Oregon folk artist isn’t relegated to the role of guest singer. The three musicians conceived their new compositions together. Thus, ghostly laments and monoliths of electric gravity sit side by side on this record, sometimes in a single song. 

Stygian Bough is a meeting that turns to the advantage of each of the parties involved. While the acoustic pieces that bear the Aerial Ruin signature shine more brightly thanks to the bass, percussion and Hammond organ played by the two members of Bell Witch, the heavier passages sketched by the duo gain in richness from the contact with Moggridge’s electric guitar. The production by Randall Dunn, one of the most renowned experts in the field of heavy rock, magnifies this marriage. The feeling of confinement that is usually conveyed by the music of one or the other of the two metal entities involved is all the greater for it. A union from which we can’t wait to see what happens next.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Profound Lore Genres et styles : doom metal / folk metal Année : 2020
Bell Witch & Aerial Ruin

Stygian Bough Volume I

· par Steve Naud

Composé du bassiste Dylan Desmond et du batteur Jesse Shreibman, la formation Bell Witch donne dans le funeral doom, une des branches les plus squelettiques du grand arbre metal. De l’autre côté, Aerial Ruin est le pseudonyme qu’utilise le chanteur et guitariste Erik Moggridge pour signer ses cantilènes dark folk. Stygian Bough est la nouvelle bannière sous laquelle tout ce beau monde a uni ses forces. 

Ces sombres gaillards n’en sont pas à leur première collaboration puisque Moggridge prête sa voix aux chants funèbres créés par le duo de Seattle depuis ses débuts. Toutefois, cette fois-ci l’aède folk originaire de Portland, Oregon, n’est pas relégué au simple rôle de chanteur invité. Les trois musiciens ont conçu leurs nouvelles compositions conjointement. Ainsi, complaintes fantomatiques et monolithes de pesanteur électrique vont côte à côte sur ce disque, parfois dans un seul et même morceau. 

Stygian Bough est une rencontre qui tourne à l’avantage de chacune des parties impliquées. Alors que les pièces acoustiques qui portent la griffe d’Aerial Ruin brillent avec davantage d’éclat grâce à l’apport de la basse, des percussions et de l’orgue Hammond joués par les deux membres de Bell Witch, les passages plus lourds ébauchés par le duo gagnent en richesse au contact de la guitare électrique de Moggridge. La réalisation de Randall Dunn – un des experts les plus réputés en matière de rock costaud – magnifie ce mariage. Le sentiment d’enfermement que communique habituellement la musique de l’une ou de l’autre des deux entités metal en présence n’en est que plus grand. Une union dont nous avons déjà hâte de connaître la suite.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre