Country : Canada / France / Québec Label : ATMA Classique Genres and styles : Classical / Modern Classical Year : 2024

Philip Chiu — Voyages

· by Elena Mandolini

Pianist Philip Chiu brings out an interesting new album for ATMA Classique. In 2022, Chiu presented Fables, an album devoted to the music of Maurice Ravel, but incorporating a contemporary work that entered into a dialogue with the French composer’s music. Today, with Voyages, the same concept is taken up again, this time turning to the piano works of Claude Debussy.

The album opens with a transcription of the Petite suite, usually performed for four hands. This transcription for solo piano, by Jacques Durand and revised by Philip Chiu himself, is extremely successful. It sounds like the original work. The album also features extracts from the first book of Images, as well as three Estampes. Well-known and often-performed works, of course, but they fit in perfectly with the very personal narrative of this album.

A personal subject indeed, since this opus is an exploration of the theme of belonging. The album doesn’t provide a definitive answer (that’s not its aim), but succeeds perfectly in conveying emotions and feelings that describe what it means “to belong”. Debussy’s works chosen for this album are all imbued with a certain sense of nostalgia, of calm, contemplative contemplation. The album is surrounded by an ethereal atmosphere, conducive to reflection, but not excluding moments of exuberant, dancing joy.

The suite Hong Kong Nostalgia, by composer Alice Ping Yee Ho, is skilfully integrated into the album program. It’s easy to see why this work was chosen to dialogue with Debussy’s works. Hong Kong Nostalgia takes up and further develops these explorations of belonging, while sometimes echoing Debussy’s writing techniques. For example, in the second movement, “Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery”, we hear crescendo chord progressions reminiscent of “Cathédrale engloutie”. This suite is more than welcome on this album, which adds great depth and a variety of images and feelings.

It’s a pleasure to accept Philip Chiu’s invitation to embark on this great journey towards interiority. The pianist’s sensitive playing guides us well, with some moments more robust and powerful than others. This is a very well-thought-out and conceived opus, from program development to performance. If you can get your hands on a physical version of the album, you’ll also be able to enjoy the magnificent illustrations by Marie H. Sirois. Sirois, which also transport, in their own way.

A great album!

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : Canada / France / Québec Label : ATMA Classique Genres et styles : classique / classique moderne Année : 2024

Philip Chiu — Voyages

· par Elena Mandolini

Le pianiste Philip Chiu fait paraître chez ATMA Classique un nouvel album très intéressant. En 2022, Chiu avait présenté Fables, un album se consacrant à la musique de Maurice Ravel, mais en intégrant une œuvre contemporaine qui entrait bien en dialogue avec la musique du compositeur français. Aujourd’hui, avec Voyages, le même concept est repris, cette fois-ci en se tournant vers l’œuvre pour piano de Claude Debussy.

L’album s’ouvre sur une transcription de la Petite suite, habituellement interprétée à quatre mains. Cette transcription pour piano solo, par Jacques Durand et révisée par Philip Chiu lui-même, est extrêmement réussie. On croirait entendre l’œuvre originale. On nous propose également sur cet album des extraits du premier livre des Images, ainsi que trois Estampes. Des œuvres bien connues et souvent interprétées, certes, mais s’intégrant parfaitement dans le narratif très personnel de cet album.

Sujet en effet personnel, puisque cet opus se veut une exploration du thème du sentiment d’appartenance. L’album n’apporte pas de réponse définitive (là n’est pas son objectif), mais réussit parfaitement à transmettre des émotions, des sentiments, qui décrivent tout ce que peut vouloir dire « appartenir ». Les œuvres de Debussy choisies pour cet album sont toutes empreintes d’un certain sentiment de nostalgie, d’un recueillement calme et contemplatif. Cet album est entouré d’une atmosphère éthérée, propice à la réflexion, mais sans exclure certains moments de joie exubérante et dansante.

La suite Nostalgie de Hong Kong, de la compositrice Alice Ping Yee Ho est savamment intégrée au programme de l’album. On comprend rapidement pourquoi cette œuvre a été choisie pour dialoguer avec celle de Debussy. Nostalgie de Hong Kong reprend et développe encore plus ces explorations d’appartenance, tout en faisant parfois écho aux techniques d’écriture de Debussy. Par exemple, dans le deuxième mouvement, « Le monastère des dix mille bouddhas », on entend des suites d’accords en crescendo qui rappelle la « Cathédrale engloutie ». Cette suite est plus que bienvenue sur cet album, auquel elle ajoute une grande profondeur et une variété d’images et de sentiments.

On accepte avec plaisir l’invitation de Philip Chiu à ce grand voyage vers l’intériorité. On y est très bien guidé par le jeu toujours juste et sensible du pianiste, avec des moments plus robustes et puissants que d’autres. Il s’agit ici d’un opus très bien réfléchi et conçu, de l’élaboration du programme jusqu’à l’interprétation. Si vous pouvez vous procurer une version physique de l’album, vous pourrez en plus apprécier les magnifiques illustrations de Marie H. Sirois, qui transportent elles aussi, à leur manière.

Un très bon album!

Tout le contenu 360

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Will Régnier – Traces

Will Régnier – Traces

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre