×
Country : Finland Label : Nuclear Blast Genres and styles : Black Metal / Psychedelia / Space Rock Year : 2020
Oranssi Pazuzu

Mestarin kynsi

· by Francis Dugas

Over the last ten years or so, Oranssi Pazuzu’s music has gradually moved away from the more traditional black metal, as the Finnish band has always shown openness and a marked interest in exploration. The atmosphere on their most recent album, Mestarin kynsi, is as dark as black metal requires, but remains strongly tinged with a psychedelic quality that gives the impression that the band has smoked an entire branch of the SQDC, furniture included. The result is a dizzying sensation of weightlessness and the impression that time is expanding. Noises come from all sides, propelling us into an uncomfortable and anxiety-provoking astral journey that we don’t want to interrupt. 

Breathless? Yes. Intoxicating? Even more so. Wah wah, echoes and other hallucinogenic effects, synthesizer drones, various noises and sudden decelerations make us doubt our sanity. Krautrock, avant-prog, noise-rock and even Middle Eastern influences are mixed together and then savagely spit out through a sort of black metal that can be identified above all by the tortured vocals and some riffs more representative of the genre.

The execution is perfectly mastered, but never gives in to complacency. The abundant synthesizers drop us in multidimensional landscapes with infinite depth. In this respect, the recent arrival at Nuclear Blast with this offering probably allowed the band to give itself the means to achieve its ambitions. The production and mix are breathtaking, giving life to the many layers of sound that are superimposed without respite.

Even if the album remains spare in terms of purely metal passages, the atmosphere allows the band to remain faithful to what has defined the genre since the beginnings of Black Sabbath, another band that didn’t shy away from psychedelia. Their previous albums already revealed extraordinary music, but Mestarin kynsi is an absolute success.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Finlande Label : Nuclear Blast Genres et styles : black metal / psychédélique / space-rock Année : 2020
Oranssi Pazuzu

Mestarin kynsi

· par Francis Dugas

Depuis une dizaine d’année, la musique d’Oranssi Pazuzu s’est progressivement éloignée du black metal plus traditionnel, la formation finlandaise ne cessant de faire preuve d’ouverture et d’un intérêt marqué pour l’exploration. L’atmosphère de son plus récent album, Mestarin kynsi, est aussi sombre que le métal noir l’exige, mais demeure fortement teintée d’un psychédélisme qui donne l’impression que le groupe a fumé une succursale de la SQDC au grand complet, mobilier inclus. En découle une vertigineuse sensation d’apesanteur et l’impression que le temps se dilate. Des bruits surgissent de toute part, nous propulsant dans un voyage astral inconfortable et anxiogène que nous ne voulons pourtant pas interrompre.

Essoufflant ? Oui. Enivrant ? Encore plus. Envolées de wah wah, écho et autres effets hallucinogènes, drone de synthétiseurs, bruits divers et décélérations soudaines nous font douter de notre équilibre mental. Les influences krautrock, avant-prog, noise-rock et même moyen-orientales se côtoient et sont ensuite recrachées sauvagement par le biais d’un black metal avant tout identifiable à cette voix torturée et à quelques riffs plus représentatifs du genre.

L’exécution est quant à elle parfaitement maîtrisée, ne cédant toutefois jamais à la complaisance. Les synthétiseurs abondants nous laissent devant des paysages multidimensionnels aux profondeurs infinies. À ce chapitre, le passage chez Nuclear Blast pour cette récente offrande a probablement permis au groupe de se donner les moyens de ses ambitions. La production et le mixage sont à couper le souffle, donnant vie aux nombreuses couches sonores qui se superposent sans répit.

Même si l’album demeure économe en termes de passages purement métal, l’ambiance permet au groupe de demeurer fidèle à ce qui a défini le genre depuis les débuts de Black Sabbath, une autre formation qui ne reculait pas devant le psychédélisme. Les albums précédents laissaient déjà entendre une musique hors normes, Mestarin kynsi, est quant à lui une réussite absolue.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre