×
Country : United States Label : Ropeadope Genres and styles : Downtempo / Funk / Soul Jazz / Soul/R&B Year : 2020
Badge and Talkalot

Fragments of the Soul

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Despite the name, a template for the title of every buddy cop movie ever, Badge and Talkalot is just one guy, a certain Mr. Gilberto Caleffi, and he works with a pretty simple (but very effective) toolkit. He’s judiciously understated in what he uses beyond low-key drums and rhythm guitar, fat and fluid bass, and the keys, particularly the thick, chocolate-chunk tones of the Fender Rhodes, to craft straightforward, rock-solid connoisseur funk.

There’s one other element in play, of course, the guest vocalists, and they routinely crush it here. That’s to be expected when you bring in talent like Madlib associate Georgia Anne Muldrow (the steadfast “Showdown”) and soul-punk matriarch Lisa Kekaula, who soars like a fucking falcon over the very superstitious groove of “Can’t Find Your Love”. 

In contrast to its bouncy predecessor, 2016’s Spaghetti Blaster, Fragments of the Soul is a weighty, worry-riddled concern, but it’s no bummer. “Giving Up the Ghost”, sung by Kevin Mark Trail and written by no less than Ben Harper, illustrates that point. The song is a heartbreaker that could convincingly conclude a funeral, a doomed love affair, or a miserable marathon of overdue dishwashing, and it’s certainly a perfect punctuation mark for this sober and scrupulous effort.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Ropeadope Genres et styles : downtempo / funk / soul-jazz / soul/R&B Année : 2020
Badge and Talkalot

Fragments of the Soul

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Malgré un nom qui pourrait servir de titre à une série policière, Badge and Talkalot est formé d’un seul gars, un certain Gilberto Caleffi, dont la boîte à outils est assez simple (mais très efficace). La retenue judicieuse dont il fait preuve avec la batterie, la guitare rythmique, la basse bien grasse et fluide, et les claviers, en particulier les sonorités quasi chocolatées de la Fender Rhodes, lui permet de créer un funk sans chichi mais solide comme le roc, digne des connaisseurs.

Il y a aussi, bien sûr, les chanteuses et chanteurs invités qui se débrouillent assez bien, merci. Ce qui n’est pas surprenant quand il s’agit d’artistes de talent comme Georgia Anne Muldrow, inébranlable sur Showdown, et la grande dame du soul-punk Lisa Kekaula qui plane comme un putain de faucon sur le groove très Superstitious de Can’t Find Your Love.

Contrairement à son album précédent, l’insouciant Spaghetti Blaster paru en 2016, Fragments of the Soul est un peu plus sérieux et préoccupé par certaines questions mais sans jamais être lourd. Giving Up the Ghost, chanté par Kevin Mark Trail et écrit par nul autre que Ben Harper, en est un bon exemple. Il s’agit d’une chanson déchirante qui pourrait très bien conclure un enterrement, une histoire d’amour vouée à l’échec ou une misérable séance de lavage de vaisselle empilée depuis des jours, mais c’est aussi une excellente façon de terminer cet album sobre et dépouillé.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre