×
Country : Taiwan Label : In Utero Genres and styles : Art Rock / Experimental / Psychedelia Year : 2020
Prairie WWWW

Formosan Dream

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Taipei’s thrift-shop shamans of site-specific psychedelia released their last album, Pán, two years ago, confounding and delighting listeners worldwide with their raw, ritualistic reflections of Taiwan’s complex past (real and imagined). Note that brothers Hom Yu and Jiun Chi of esoteric doom-funk unit Mong Tong are involved in this quintet with two drummers – both bands explore their Taiwanese roots, though Prairie WWWW do so with a lighter, if even weirder, touch, with poetry as a key component.

Last fall found Prairie WWWW as guests on a track on Battles’ Juice B Crypts, the hilarious, hyperactive “Sugar Foot”, joined as well by Jon Anderson… oh, Yes, indeed! They must have got the giggles out of their systems with that, because this new Formosan Dream EP is the most decorous and disciplined recording to their credit. With heavy synths and deconstructed dance-club beats, it’s their most digital too, the ones and zeroes strung like prayer beads along tendrils reaching back through obsolete pop culture, history, folklore, deep myths – all the way, with the eerie interlude “Whales’ Bones”, to some primal, pre-human place.

The response signals from the past manifest as allusions, inferences, incomplete fragments. It’s an expressionistic archaeology that’s in many ways really about the future, a search for pathways forward for a picturesque, culturally cluttered island nation permeated by existential uncertainty. Something a bit more certain (missing only an exact date) is the forthcoming “live session” video for the release. A promising thing, considering that the band took the trophy for Best Live Performance at last year’s Golden Indie Music Awards in Taiwan.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Taïwan Label : In Utero Genres et styles : art-rock / expérimental / psychédélique Année : 2020
Prairie WWWW

Formosan Dream

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Lorsque les chamans de pacotille du psychédélique de Taipei ont sorti leur album Pán il y a deux ans, ils ont confondu et ravi les auditeurs du monde entier avec leur emploi d’éléments rituels bruts du passé complexe (réel et imaginaire) de Taïwan. Il est à noter que les frères Hom Yu et Jiun Chi de la formation de doom-funk ésotérique Mong Tong font partie de ce quintet à deux batteurs. Les deux groupes explorent leurs racines taïwanaises, mais Prairie WWWW le fait avec plus de légèreté, bien que de façon plus étrange, avec la poésie comme élément-clé.

L’automne dernier, Prairie WWWW a participé à l’hilarante et hyperactive Sugarfoot sur l’album de Juice B Crypts du groupe Battles, aux côtés de… Jon Anderson. Lui-même ! Tous ont d’ailleurs dû bien s’amuser là-dessus. Toujours est-il que Formosan Dream est son enregistrement le plus décent et le plus discipliné. Avec ses synthés lourds et ses rythmes dance déconstruits, c’est aussi son album le plus numérique, les zéros et les uns enfilés comme les grains d’un chapelet remontant le cours de la culture pop obsolète, de l’histoire, du folklore et des mythes fondateurs, jusqu’à quelque endroit primitif et préhumain, sur l’inquiétant intermède Whales’ Bones.

Ces échos du passé se manifestent sous forme de clins d’œil, d’allusions et de fragments. Il s’agit d’une archéologie expressionniste qui, à bien des égards, renvoie davantage à l’avenir, une recherche de pistes pour une nation insulaire pittoresque et culturellement encombrée aux prises avec une tenace incertitude existentielle. Une chose est sûre cependant (il ne manque que la date exacte), c’est la sortie prochaine d’une vidéo d’une séance d’enregistrement live. Compte tenu du trophée de la meilleure performance live remporté par le groupe à l’occasion des Golden Indie Music Awards l’année dernière à Taïwan, ça promet !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre