×
Country : South Africa Label : On the Corner Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / South African Traditional Year : 2020
Asher Gamedze

Dialectic Soul

· by Alain Brunet

Both a self-assured progressive, and eager to perpetuate his ancestral culture, South African drummer Asher Gamedze says he is exploring “the dialectic of the soul and the spirit as it moves through history”. Quite a programme! The musician’s commitment is equalled only by the proposal offered here: Dialectic Soul is nothing less than a major contribution to jazz conceived in contemporary Africa. Of course, the gospel tunes mixed with Zulu and Xhosas inflections are honoured, as they have been since the beginnings of South African jazz, in the era of Abdullah Ibrahim (Dollar Brand), Dudu Pukwana, Hugh Masekela, Johnny Dyani, Chris McGregor and… no, Asher Gamedze doesn’t do as the founding fathers of modern jazz in South Africa did. Clearly, he has studied the golden age of contemporary jazz (1958-1967) and Western classical music, adding them to the achievements of Southern Africa.

On the jazz side, the dominant influence is the legacy of Ornette Coleman, taken up notably by his colleagues Charlie Haden, Ed Blackwell, Don Cherry, and Dewey Redman in the group Old And New Dreams, or by the superb Still Dreaming project recently conducted by Joshua Redman. The approach promises to be Ornettian first for its similar instrumentation: Asher Gamedze, drums, Thembinkosi Mavimbela, double bass, Buddy Wells, tenor saxophone, Robin Fassie-Kock, trumpet, to which the singer Nono Nkoane sporadically joins in, taking us back to her native country when she expresses herself.

This music is  Ornettian also for the space invested: despite the density of the concept, Dialetic Soul remains flexible, airy, and dodges any headaches. Tending towards atonal and textural explorations, the melodic lines deployed here mix with South African ones and produce a de facto new amalgam. Because to this day, very little acoustic jazz (or none at all?) emanating from the African continent has gone beyond post-bop, post-modal integrations. Let’s not go any further with comparisons: Gamedze’s playing is closer to that of Brian Blade than to Billy Higgins or Ed Blackwell. As to brass and winds, count on impeccable techniques and distinct sounds, especially from the tenorman Buddy Wells.

More investigation will be needed before concluding that there’s a new scene on the scene in the current jazz revival, beyond the initiatives in London, lower California, Chicago, and New York. But… just what is going on in Cape Town, anyway?!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Asher Gamedze

Dialectic Soul

· par Alain Brunet

À la fois progressiste assumé et soucieux de perpétuer sa culture ancestrale, le batteur sud-africain Asher Gamedze dit explorer « la dialectique de l’âme et de l’esprit pendant qu’elle se déplace à travers l’histoire ». Tout un programme ! Force est d’observer que l’engagement du musicien n’a d’égal que la proposition ici offerte : Dialectic Soul est ni plus ni moins une contribution majeure du jazz conçu en Afrique contemporaine. Bien sûr, les airs gospels mâtinés d’inflexions zouloues et xhosas sont honorés comme ils le sont depuis les débuts du jazz sud-africain, époque Abdullah Ibrahim (Dollar Brand), Dudu Pukwana, Hugh Masekela, Johnny Dyani, Chris McGregor et… non, Asher Gamedze ne fait pas comme les pères fondateurs. Très clairement, il a étudié l’âge d’or du jazz contemporain (1958-1967) et la musique classique occidentale pour ainsi les adjoindre aux acquis de l’Afrique australe.

Côté jazz, l’influence dominante qui s’en dégage est le legs d’Ornette Coleman, repris notamment par ses collègues Charlie Haden, Ed Blackwell, Don Cherry et Dewey Redman dans la formation Old And New Dreams ou encore par le superbe projet Still Dreaming mené récemment par Joshua Redman. L’approche s’annonce ornettienne d’abord pour l’instrumentation voisine : Asher Gamedze, batterie, Thembinkosi Mavimbela, contrebasse, Buddy Wells, saxophone ténor, Robin Fassie-Kock, trompette, auxquels se joint sporadiquement la chanteuse Nono Nkoane qui nous ramène illico dans son pays natal lorsqu’elle s’exprime.

Cette musique est aussi ornettienne pour l’espace investi : malgré la densité du concept, Dialetic Soul reste souple, aéré et exclut toute prise de tête. Enclines aux explorations atonales et texturales, les lignes mélodiques ici déployées se mêlent aux sud-africaines et produisent de facto un amalgame inédit. Car très peu de jazz acoustique (ou pas du tout?) émanant du continent noir a dépassé les intégrations post-bop, post-modales jusqu’à ce jour. N’allons pas plus loin avec les comparaisons : le jeu d’Asher Gamedze se rapproche plus de celui de Brian Blade que de celui de Billy Higgins ou d’Ed Blackwell. Les souffleurs peuvent compter sur des techniques impeccables et des sons distincts, particulièrement le ténorman Buddy Wells.

Il faudra investiguer davantage avant de conclure à une nouvelle scène importante pour la relance du jazz, au-delà des initiatives londoniennes, sud-californiennes, chicagoanes ou new-yorkaises. Mais… que se passe-t-il donc à Cape Town ?!

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre