×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : Audiogram Genres and styles : Electronic / Orchestral Pop Year : 2020
Catherine Major

Carte mère

· by Luc Marchessault

First comes a buzzing of violins, then a light purring, a rhythmic motif, then synthetic notes, which are broken up as Catherine Major launches, with her noble timbre, “Bateau bleu”. Jeff Moran, Catherine’s lyricist and lover, turns the narrator into a maternal vessel, whose hold is the womb. There it is. Music lovers who follow Major know that she tackles vital subjects through her art. No risk of being confused by the content of the lyrics of Carte mère, Madame Major’s fifth album.

The change in modus operandi here lies more in the instrumentation. Putting aside the studio musicians whose contribution she had favoured until now (excepting drummer Martin Lavallée, who plays on six pieces), Major has taken the digital gamble. And since you don’t become Kaytranada in one click, she had to take the time to tame the sequencing, sampling and programming tools.

Catherine did not rule out the use of acoustics, however. In order to make her songs more calorific, she decided to dress them up with arrangements for a 70-piece orchestra, with a little help from Antoine Gratton. Then she had to find a symphony orchestra. The one in Bratislava, Slovakia, was available. It was the Spanish-born conductor David Hernando Rico who occupied the podium.

Catherine’s spicy pop lends itself beautifully to this electro-orchestral treatment. On “Claustrophobe”, for instance, the strings accentuate the anguish while the synthetic textures intensify the strangeness. Then, something rare in Major’s repertoire – “La panique” and “Moi non plus” could be directed at a dancefloor, given their strong rhythms and catchy rhymes.

This is a mature album, the fruit of a creator who has combined her compositional and performance skills with an unparalleled aesthetic flair. Welcome to Carte mère, Catherine Major’s motherboard marvel.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Audiogram Genres et styles : électronique / pop orchestrale Année : 2020
Catherine Major

Carte mère

· par Luc Marchessault

On entend d’abord un bourdon de violons, auquel s’ajoutent un ronron clair, un motif rythmique, puis des notes synthétiques, qui s’égrènent tandis que Catherine Major met à l’eau, de son timbre noble, un Bateau bleu. Jeff Moran, parolier et amoureux de Catherine, fait de la narratrice un navire maternel, dont la cale est l’utérus. Voilà. Les musicophiles qui suivent Catherine Major savent qu’elle aborde, par son art, des sujets vitaux. Aucun risque d’être dérouté par la teneur des textes de Carte mère, cinquième album de madame Major.

Le changement de mode opératoire réside ici plutôt dans l’instrumentation. Mettant de côté les musiciens de studio – outre le batteur Martin Lavallée, qui joue sur six pièces –, dont elle avait privilégié l’apport jusqu’à maintenant, Catherine Major a fait le pari logiciel. Et, comme on ne devient pas Kaytranada en un clic, elle a dû prendre le temps d’apprivoiser les outils de séquençage, d’échantillonnage et de programmation.

Catherine n’a pas exclu le recours à l’acoustique pour autant. Question de rendre ses chansons plus calorifiques, elle a décidé de les habiller d’arrangements pour orchestre de 70 musiciens, avec un coup de main d’Antoine Gratton. Il fallait ensuite trouver un orchestre symphonique. Celui de Bratislava, en Slovaquie, s’est montré disponible. C’est le chef d’origine espagnole David Hernando Rico qui a occupé le pupitre.

La pop relevée de Catherine se prête magnifiquement à ce traitement électro-orchestral. Sur Claustrophobe, par exemple, les cordes accentuent l’angoisse tandis que les textures synthétiques intensifient l’étrangeté. Puis, chose rare dans le répertoire de Catherine Major, La panique et Moi non plus pourraient cartonner sur les pistes de danse, compte tenu de leurs rythmes appuyés et de leurs rimes entraînantes.

Voici donc un album mûr, fruit d’une créatrice qui a conjugué ses capacités de composition et d’exécution à un flair esthétique hors pair. Bienvenue dans Carte mère, la matrice-machine de Catherine Major.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre