×
Country : United States Label : Relapse Genres and styles : Garage Punk / Hardcore / Noise Rock Year : 2020
Raspberry Bulbs

Before the Age of Mirrors

· by Francis Dugas

Over the last ten years or so, several hardcore bands have taken paths relatively unfrequented by their predecessors, freely appropriating black metal, post-punk and noise influences, and drawing inspiration from some stranger, noisier, and more unusual ancestors (Flipper, Electric Eels, and Rudimentary Peni, to name a few). Often adopting occult imagery of indeterminate significance as well as a lo-fi production, most of these bands remained confined to the fringe. It is in this context that Raspberry Bulbs emerged, even though its members have been making noise for much longer and their albums have been released on reputable labels such as Blackest Ever Black and Relapse, which has given them a certain visibility. 

From their beginnings more than ten years ago, the New York-based band has relied on a formula from which they ’ve hardly deviated since then: incisive, sometimes wobbly punk, grinded out of garage and noise rock, as if Black Flag teamed up with the Brainbombs in an alley fight. But this description, as valid as it is, forgets the essential, that is to say the black-metal imprint that’s evoked every time Raspberry Bulbs is mentioned. On Before the Age of Mirrors, this mark of the devil is revealed by an inexplicable metaphysics and a tapestry of imprecise meanings left to the interpretation of the initiates. It manifests itself in the details and detours, in the tormented and threatening voice, in the serious treatment of dark emotions, in the occult iconography (on a pink background, however), in the mysterious interludes, in the gloomy choir that tints the introduction and in the disturbing feedback. All this induces an atmosphere that indeed evokes the unhealthy side of black metal. The lyrics also contribute to define this atmosphere: suffocation, fear of imminent danger, the need to flee, helplessness, confusion, collapse, and ruin are the themes that feed this machine plunging viciously into the darkness of the world.

Before being a group, Raspberry Bulbs seems to be an idea framed by very clear constraints, principles and instructions. There are limits to such an approach, and some listeners who do not have all the keys to deciphering the references risk turning to groups that do not require the same prerequisites to be appreciated in their entirety from the outset. Others will see only redundancy and recipe, since this new chapter offers very little novelty apart from a few references, voluntary or not, to English punk from the early ’80s. Still, the band throws out enough good riffs on Before the Age of Mirrors for us to take a serious look at it.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Relapse Genres et styles : garage-punk / hardcore / noise-rock Année : 2020
Raspberry Bulbs

Before the Age of Mirrors

· par Francis Dugas

Depuis une dizaine d’années, plusieurs groupes hardcore ont emprunté des sentiers relativement peu fréquentés par leurs prédécesseurs, s’appropriant librement des influences black metal, post-punk et noise, et s’inspirant de quelques ancêtres plus étranges, bruyants et hors normes (Flipper, Electric Eels, Rudimentary Peni, au choix). Adoptant souvent une imagerie occulte à la signification incertaine ainsi qu’une production lo-fi, la plupart de ces groupes sont restés confinés dans la marge de la marge. C’est dans ce contexte qu’est apparu Raspberry Bulbs même si ses membres font du bruit depuis bien plus longtemps et que leurs albums sont parus sur des étiquettes réputées comme Blackest Ever Black et Relapse, ce qui leur a assuré une certaine visibilité. 

Dès ses débuts il y a plus de dix ans, la formation de New York a misé sur une formule dont elle s’est bien peu écartée par la suite : un punk incisif, parfois vacillant, passé à la moulinette du garage et du noise rock, comme si Black Flag s’alliait aux Brainbombs le temps d’une bataille de ruelle. Mais cette description, aussi valable soit-elle, oublie l’essentiel, c’est-à-dire cette empreinte black metal qui est évoquée à chaque fois qu’il est question de Raspberry Bulbs. Sur Before the Age of Mirrors, cette marque du diable est révélée par une métaphysique inexplicable et un réseau de significations imprécis livrés à l’interprétation des initiés. Elle se manifeste dans les détails et les détours, dans cette voix à la fois tourmentée et menaçante, dans cette façon de traiter sérieusement de sentiments dérangeants, dans l’iconographie occulte (sur fond rose, par contre), dans les intermèdes mystérieux, dans cette chorale lugubre qui teinte l’introduction et dans les inquiétants feedbacks. Tout ça induit une atmosphère qui évoque effectivement le côté malsain du métal noir. Les paroles contribuent elles aussi à définir cette ambiance : suffocation, crainte d’un péril imminent, nécessité de fuir, impuissance, confusion, effondrement et ruines sont les thèmes qui alimentent cette machine s’enfonçant vicieusement dans la noirceur du monde.

Avant d’être un groupe, Raspberry Bulbs semble être une idée encadrée par des contraintes, des principes et des consignes très claires. Une telle démarche comporte des limites et certains auditeurs qui n’ont pas toutes les clés pour décoder les références risquent de se tourner vers des groupes qui n’exigent pas les mêmes prérequis pour être appréciés en entier dès le départ. D’autres n’y verront que redondance et recette puisque ce nouveau chapitre offre bien peu de nouveauté en dehors de quelques références, volontaires ou non, au punk anglais du début des années 80. Reste que le groupe balance assez de bons riffs sur Before the Age of Mirrors pour qu’on s’y attarde sérieusement.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre