×
Country : Canada Label : XL Recordings Genres and styles : Electro-Jazz / Jazz / Jazz-Funk Year : 2021

BADBADNOTGOOD – Talk Memory

· by Stephan Boissonneault

Multi-instrumentalist jazz virtuosos, BADBADNOTGOOD, may not have started the modern wave of instrumental jazz bands dominating the radio charts, but they certainly helped lead it. After BBNG’s 2016 album, IV, artists like The Comet Is Coming, Moon Hooch, and Kamasi Washington began skyrocketing in international popularity. Not that any of those acts needed help (each is in the same league as BBNG.) But IV united mainstream crowds from a number of genres—including hip hop, jazz, indie rock, and EDM—due to the fact that BBNG’s record had a little bit of everything. It opened the modern jazz floodgates and will go down as one of the most influential albums of that decade. It’s a difficult album to follow up, and BBNG’s latest, their first in five years, Talk Memory, doesn’t really have the same lasting impact. 

This is not to say Talk Memory is a bad album. BBNG have never really made a bad album. They’re superb, multi-talented musicians and know what they are doing in a studio, but there are only a few tracks that really stand out on this eight track LP and that’s because it feels like more of a jam album. And that’s because it is. Talk Memory is made up of improvised jams whereas IV was more of a studio album (derived from jams) that was meticulously crafted to feel like a cohesive masterpiece. 

Each track on IV hooked you (just refer to “Chompy’s Paradise” or “Speaking Gently”) and you couldn’t help but hum the main themes hours after listening to them. Talk Memory is full of themes but they sometimes get lost in the over-instrumentation, never having time to really breathe.

“Signal From The Noise,” begins with static-filled bass line and trippy synth building up to a fast-paced bass synth solo. Then the saxophone makes an entrance with its pillowy, ascending/repeating scale, slowly bringing down the intensity. It’s a dirty, atmospheric jam that truly resembles the groups live show—a show that has inspired moshing—which is unheard of for jazz bands.”Unfolding (Momentum 73)” continues the jam style but never really finds its footing, much like the later angst-ridden “Timid, Intimidating.”

For a group of multi-talented jazz musicians that gained recognition for making hip-hop beats for guys like Ghostface Killah and Tyler, The Creator, BBNG sure know how to write progressive cinematic scores. “City of Mirrors” feels like it could be the main theme to a dystopian desert film by Alejandro Jodorowsky, and the string arrangements by Brazilian composer Arthur Verocai are a standout moment on Talk Memory. The drumming on the track and the following “Beside April” also deserve some spotlight. “Beside April”, however, feels like more of a teaser leading to something huge that never makes an appearance. The track also has a reprise, further emphasizing the string mastery of Verocai. How BBNG plans to grasp the over-encompassing  euphoria of the strings live is a mystery. 

BADBADNOTGOOD have never been ones to listen to what the masses demand and their following is already so vast, they can really do whatever they want. Is it fair to compare Talk Memory to IV? IV was lightning in a bottle, so no, not really, and since BBNG are now a three piece (without founding member Matthew Tavares), Talk Memory will always feel different. It will gain them new fans, but old ones will most likely pick their favourite tracks and keep going back to IV.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : XL Recordings Genres et styles : jazz / jazz électro / jazz-funk Année : 2021

BADBADNOTGOOD – Talk Memory

· par Stephan Boissonneault

Les virtuoses multi-instrumentistes de BADBADNOTGOOD n’ont peut-être pas lancé la plus récente vague de groupes jazz instrumental dominant les palmarès du genre, mais ils y ont certainement contribué. Après leur album IV en 2016, des formations comme The Comet Is Coming, Moon Hooch et Kamasi Washington ont vu leur popularité internationale monter en flèche. Ces artistes n’avaient certes pas besoin d’aide, puisque chacun d’entre eux est du calibre de BBNG. Or, IV a réuni les amateurs de hip-hop, de jazz, de rock indé et d’EDM, entre autres, cet album de BBNG contenait un peu de tout ça. IV a suscité un intérêt massif envers le jazz moderne et demeurera l’un des albums les plus influents de la décennie. Difficile d’y donner suite, donc. Talk Memory, premier album du groupe en cinq ans, passera sans doute moins bien l’épreuve du temps.

Talk Memory est loin d’être mauvais, cependant (BBNG n’a jamais fait de mauvais album). Ces musiciens sont talentueux à divers égards et savent travailler en studio, mais seules quelques-unes des huit pièces sortent vraiment du lot. Talk Memory ressemble davantage à un album de jam… parce qu’il en est un. Il est axé sur l’improvisation, tandis que IV était plutôt un album studio s’inspirant de jam-sessions, conçu minutieusement sous forme d’opus cohérent.

Chaque pièce de IV accroche l’auditeur (songeons à Chompy’s Paradise ou à Speaking Gently); on ne peut s’empêcher de fredonner les thèmes principaux des heures après les avoir écoutés. Talk Memory regorge de thèmes, mais ils se perdent parfois dans une instrumentation trop foisonnante, faute d’avoir assez d’espace pour respirer.

Signal From the Noise commence par une ligne de basse statique et du synthé planant, qui se transforment en un solo combiné au rythme effréné. Le saxophone vient ensuite amortir lentement l’intensité à l’aide de gammes ascendantes et répétitives. C’est à la fois échevelé et atmosphérique, ça ressemble vraiment aux concerts du groupe. Ceux-ci incitent d’ailleurs des spectateurs au moshing, ce qui est inédit lors de concerts de jazz. Ça se poursuit en mode jam sur Unfolding (Momentum 73), une pièce qui peine à s’ancrer, tout comme l’angoissée Timid, Intimidating plus loin.

BBNG s’est fait connaître en créant des rythmes hip-hop pour Ghostface Killah et Tyler, The Creator, entre autres. Ses membres, des musiciens de jazz aux multiples talents, savent créer des pièces prog et cinématiques; City of Mirrors pourrait servir de thème à une dystopie désertique du réalisateur Alejandro Jodorowsky. Les cordes qu’on y entend, arrangées par le compositeur brésilien Arthur Verocai, constituent l’un des moments forts de Talk Memory. Soulignons aussi le jeu de batterie de City of Mirrors et de Beside April. Cependant, cette dernière pièce semble préfigurer quelque chose d’énorme… qui ne se concrétise pas. On peut se consoler en goûtant la maîtrise des arrangements de cordes de Verocai sur Beside April (Reprise). On peut se demander comment BBNG transposera l’euphorie envahissante de ces cordes sur scène.

BADBADNOTGOOD n’a jamais été du genre à se soumettre aux exigences du grand public. Le groupe dispose d’assez d’adeptes pour faire ce qu’il veut. Est-ce approprié de comparer Talk Memory à IV? Sans doute pas, puisque IV constitue un coup de maître difficile à reproduire. De plus, BBNG fonctionne désormais en trio, puisque le membre fondateur Matthew Tavares n’y est plus. Avec ce Talk Memory qui produit un effet différent chez l’auditeur, BBNG gagnera de nouveaux fans, tandis que les anciens adopteront certaines pièces mais retourneront probablement écouter IV.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre