×
Country : United States Label : AFR Genres and styles : Poetry / rap / Soul/R&B / Spoken Word Year :

Abiodun Oyewole – Gratitude

· by Alain Brunet

In the 1960s, the declamatory rhythms of African American poets and songwriters, inspired by soul and R&B culture as well as the sermons of black pastors and the sacred songs of their congregations, clearly foreshadowed the coming of hip-hop culture at the turn of the 1980s.

As part of The Last Poets, Abiodun Oyewole helped lay the groundwork for rap through the black poetry of Langston Hughes and Amiri Baraka. Like the late Gil Scott Heron, who was from the same generation, Abiodun Oyewole became a sherpa on rough roads. Even today, he declaims, raps, sings, comments, reacts, feels, and analyzes. He also embodies this transition between poetic declamation and rap.

We didn’t expect this album, which gives him the profile like the Yoda of the African-American culture.

The preoccupations here are wise and thoughtful, but do not fundamentally differ from what we know of Abiodun Oyewole: black neighbourhoods, the quest for equity, revolutionary hopes, love, soul, criticism, self-criticism. We also get to hear the poetry or rap of Jessica Care More, J. Ivy, Ade de Poet, and Pharoah Davis, as well as the complementary songs of Melodie Nicole. The beat-making and the musical accompaniment propel this septuagenarian wisdom well beyond the nostalgia of a duty accomplished. The twelve tracks suggested by Abiodun Oyewole are timeless, multigenerational, and superbly chiseled. 

Gratitude is an excellent album coming very early in 2022; it avoids the trap of pompous assessments and also that of an excessively ageist production. An ideal balance is reached here, without fluff, exhaling the deep experience and the greenness of Abiodun Oyewole.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : AFR Genres et styles : déclamation / poésie / rap / soul/R&B Année :

Abiodun Oyewole – Gratitude

· par Alain Brunet

Dans les années 60, le rythme déclamatoire de poètes et songwriters afro-américains, inspirés par la culture soul/ R&B  tout comme par les sermons des pasteurs noirs et des chants sacrés de leurs fidèles, laissait clairement présager la venue prochaine de la culture hip-hop, soit au tournant des années 80.

Au sein de The Last Poets, Abiodun Oyewole contribua à poser les bases du rap à travers la poésie black, celle notamment de Langston Hughes et d’Amiri Baraka. À l’instar de feu Gil Scott Heron, de la même génération que la sienne, Abiondun Oyewole est  devenu un sherpa sur des routes accidentées. Encore aujourd’hui, il déclame, rappe, chante, commente, réagit, ressent, analyse. Et incarne cette transition entre la déclamation poétique et le rap. 

On n’attendait plus cet album qui lui confère un profil de yoda de la culture afro-américaine.

Les préoccupations sont ici sages et posées, mais ne diffèrent pas fondamentalement de ce qu’on connaît de lui. Les quartiers black, la quête de l’équité, les espoirs révolutionnaires, l’amour, la soul, la critique, l’autocritique. On a aussi droit à la poésie ou au  rap de Jessica Care More, J. Ivy, Ade de Poet, Pharoah Davis. Aux chants complémentaires de Melodie Nicole. Le beatmaking et l’accompagnement musical propulsent cette sagesse septuagénaire bien au-delà de la nostalgie d’un devoir accompli. Les douze titres suggérés par Abiodun Oyewole sont intemporels, multigénérationnels, superbement ciselés.  

Gratitude, un album excellent en ce début de l’an 2022, évite le piège des bilans pompeux et aussi celui d’une production « jeuniste  » à outrance. Un équilibre idéal est ici atteint, sans flafla, exhalant la profonde expérience et la verdeur d’Abiodun Oyewole.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre