×
Country : United States Label : Real Kind Genres and styles : Americana / Country / Folk / Pop / Rock Year : 2020
Samantha Crain

A Small Death

· by Luc Marchessault

When “An Echo”, the opening track on A Little Death, begins, the lingering rhythm, stilted guitar notes, and Samantha Crain’s sovereign yet delicate voice evoke Pauline Julien singing “Suzanne”. The narrator quickly takes us back from Montreal in 1967 to today’s Oklahoma. She believes that Hera, daughter of Cronus and sister-wife of Zeus, jealous and resentful, has cast a spell on her as she drives to Topeka where her mother is imprisoned. Here we are at the heart of the talented Samantha Crain’s sixth album, seventh counting the 2007 EP The Confiscation.

One may enjoy the esteem of our colleagues, critics and a host of music lovers, but that’s no protection from the ups and downs of life. In the summer of 2017, when Crain’s use of her hand was already compromised by carpal tunnel syndrome, an unfortunate series of accidents aggravated the affliction. The consequences were devastating for the singer-songwriter. Since physiological ailments often affect mental health, it was a small death for her, hence the title of the album. Through exercise and her support network in Norman, Oklahoma, Samantha was slowly able to get back to playing guitar – using more open chords – composing and writing.

So much so that today, she presents an album whose pieces were created in three months at her kitchen table. The recording took place at Lunar Manor Studio in Oklahoma City in the spring of 2019. A host of instrumentalists lent her a hand, with subtle strokes of sax, clarinet, trumpet, accordion, and pedal steel guitar, as well as synths, loops, and programming. Crain produced the album herself, based on the teachings of the renowned John Vanderslice, who was for a long time her regular producer. 

Crain’s art is rooted in the land of her people, the Choctaws. It’s inspired as much by Woody Guthrie as it is by Radiohead. Her stylistic palette is abundant, it’s pastoral and vindictive, lyrical and urban, ranging from art-folk ballads (“An Echo”) to chamber grunge (“Garden Dove”), acidic country-pop (“Pastime”) and baroque Americana (“Holding to the Edge of Night”). Crain’s music contains only good nutrients, the ones that the music lover’s soul needs to nourish itself.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Real Kind Genres et styles : americana / country / folk / pop / rock Année : 2020
Samantha Crain

A Small Death

· par Luc Marchessault

Lorsque débute An Echo, chanson qui ouvre l’album A Little Death, le rythme traînant, les notes de guitare égrenées et la voix à la fois souveraine et délicate de Samantha Crain évoquent Pauline Julien interprétant Suzanne. La narratrice nous ramène vite du Montréal de 1967 à l’Oklahoma d’aujourd’hui. Elle croit que Héra, fille de Cronos et sœur-femme de Zeus, jalouse et rancunière, lui a jeté un sort tandis qu’elle roule vers Topeka où est emprisonnée sa mère. Nous voilà au cœur du sixième album de la talentueuse Samantha Crain, son septième si l’on comptabilise le microalbum The Confiscation, lancé en 2007.

On a beau jouir de l’estime de ses collègues, des critiques et d’une foule de musicophiles, cela ne nous protège en rien des aléas de l’existence. Durant l’été 2017, alors que l’usage des mains de Samantha Crain était déjà mis à mal par le syndrome du tunnel carpien, une suite malencontreuse d’accidents vint aggraver cette maladie. Les conséquences furent dévastatrices pour l’auteure-compositrice-interprète. Puisque les maux physiologiques influent souvent sur la santé psychique, ce fut pour elle une petite mort, d’où le titre de l’album. À force d’exercices et grâce à son réseau de soutien de Norman, en Oklahoma, Samantha put lentement se remettre à la guitare – en se servant davantage d’accords ouverts –, à la composition et à l’écriture.

À tel point qu’aujourd’hui, elle nous présente un album dont les pièces ont été créées en trois mois, à sa table de cuisine. L’enregistrement eut lieu au studio Lunar Manor d’Oklahoma City au printemps de 2019. Un aréopage d’instrumentistes lui a prêté main forte, à coups subtils de saxo, de clarinette, de trompette, d’accordéon, de guitare pedal steel, ainsi que de synthés, de boucles et de programmation. Samantha a réalisé elle-même l’album, forte des enseignements du réputé John Vanderslice, qui fut longtemps son réalisateur attitré.

L’art de Samantha Crain s’ancre dans la terre de son peuple, les Choctaws. Il s’inspire autant de Woody Guthrie que de Radiohead. Sa palette stylistique est foisonnante, elle est champêtre et vindicative, lyrique et urbaine, elle s’étend de la ballade art-folk (An Echo) au grunge de chambre (Garden Dove), en passant par la country-pop acide (Pastime) et l’americana baroque (Holding to the Edge of Night). La musique de Samantha Crain ne contient que de bons nutriments, ceux dont l’âme du musicophile doit se nourrir.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre