×
Country : United States Label : Dedstrange Genres and styles : Experimental / Noise / Post-Punk / Psychedelia Year : 2022

A Place to Bury Strangers – See Through You

· by Stephan Boissonneault

I still remember the day I became infatuated with the New York noise-punk group, A Place to Bury Strangers. A friend of mine and I were on a road trip while the song “Worship” started shaking and ripping apart the dashboard of his car. At this time I was on a huge doom metal kick with bands like Electric Wizard, Uncle Acid & the Dead Beats, Pentagram, etc., but I was growing tired of the recurrent themes of witches, cults, goblins, and ghouls. I wanted something heavy to get ‘lost in the void’ so to speak—something I could almost consciously dissociate to.

A Place to Bury Strangers (APTBS) had a sound soaked in distorted reverb that stopped me dead in my tracks. “Worship” sounded heavier and more sinister than any doom metal I had heard at the time, with the same punk tenacity of something by The Germs.

Flashforward a decade or so later and APTBS has just dropped See Through You, their sixth LP that follows up the Hologram EP from last year. Helmed by the gear wizard, Oliver Ackermann, [we interviewed him here] who plays triple duty as the singer, multi-instrumentalist (guitar, synths, noise box,) See Through You, focuses much more on melodic hooks than previous APTBS releases.

There are still walls of sound, but the vocals hooks on songs like “So Low,” or the madness of “Anyone But You” seem more thought out than just straight red-dialed noise of earlier releases. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for that red-dialed noise. I don’t listen to APTBS for the lyrical content, but with this new release, perhaps I should start. I mean, “Broken” is the most indie rock they’ve ever sounded.

It seems Ackermann truly trusts his new lineup of husband and wife John and Sandra Fedowitz (who played bass and drums.) In fact, John and Sandra have their own noisy project, Ceremony East Coast, a project Ackermann has always been a fan of. He and John were also both in the ‘90s shoegaze band Skywave together. Basically, the new lineup works and it pushes the APTBS sound further into the cosmic void. 

And there’s plenty of sound annihilation, like on “I Disappear (When You’re Near)” which can catch you off guard if you have your volume cranked (I should have known better.) Ackermann is a guy who loves things that sound broken—(speakers, guitars (his are usually glued-together, Frankensteined, monstrosities only for him), pedals, cymbals, you name it—and push the boundaries of contemporary sound. See Through You is a great release for anyone who wants to dip their toes in the noise rock/post-punk, whatever you want to call it genre, but will also harken back to the glory days of Worship for die-hard fans.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Dedstrange Genres et styles : bruitiste / expérimental / post-punk Année : 2022

A Place to Bury Strangers – See Through You

· par Stephan Boissonneault

Je me souviens encore du jour où j’ai craqué A Place to Bury Strangers, ce groupe noise-punk new-yorkais. Un de mes amis et moi faisions une expédition motorisée lorsque la chanson Worship a commencé à secouer et à déchirer les haut-parleurs de sa voiture. À cette époque, j’étais à fond dans le doom-métal, j’écoutais des groupes comme Electric Wizard, Uncle Acid & the Dead Beats et Pentagram. Cependant, j’étais las des thèmes récurrents de sorcières, de sectes, de gobelins et de goules. Je voulais quelque chose de lourd pour me « perdre dans le néant », pour ainsi dire, un truc sur lequel je pourrais me « dissocier » presque consciemment.

A Place to Bury Strangers (APTBS) avait un son imprégné de réverbération distordue qui m’a figé là. Worship sonnait plus lourd et plus sinistre que n’importe lequel des groupes doom-métal que j’écoutais, avec en plus la hargne punk d’un groupe comme The Germs.

Téléportons-nous une dizaine d’années plus tard, alors que APTBS lance See Through You, son sixième album qui fait suite à l’EP Hologram paru l’an dernier. Dirigé par le magicien du matos Oliver Ackermann [nous l’avons interviewé ici], qui joue le triple rôle de chanteur et de multi-instrumentiste (guitare, synthés, boîte à bruit), See Through You est beaucoup plus axé sur les accroches mélodiques que les autres albums d’APTBS.

Il y a toujours des « murs de son », mais les accroches vocales de chansons comme So Low ou la folie de Anyone But You semblent plus songées que le son qui « tape dans le rouge » des albums précédents. Ne vous méprenez pas, j’adore ce son qui tape dans le rouge, je n’écoute pas APTBS pour les paroles mais je devrais peut-être commencer, avec cet album. Broken, par exemple, est le truc le plus indie rock qu’ils aient jamais fait.

Il semble qu’Ackermann fasse vraiment confiance à son nouveau duo d’accompagnateurs mari et femme, John et Sandra Fedowitz (qui jouent de la basse et de la batterie). En fait, John et Sandra ont leur propre projet bruitiste, Ceremony East Coast, dont Ackermann a toujours été fan. John et lui ont également fait partie du groupe shoegaze Skywave, dans les années 90. Bref, la nouvelle formation fonctionne bien et pousse le son d’APTBS plus loin dans le vide cosmique.

De l’annihilation sonore, il y en a plein, comme dans I Disappear (When You’re Near), pièce qui peut vous désarçonner si le volume est au max (j’aurais dû me méfier). Ackermann est un type qui aime les choses qui sonnent la fêlure : haut-parleurs, guitares – les siennes sont généralement rafistolées comme des monstruosités frankensteiniennes –, pédales, cymbales. Cet homme repousse les limites du son contemporain. See Through You est un excellent album qui plaira à tous ceux qui veulent se plonger dans le noise-rock/post-punk, peu importe sa désignation, et qui rappellera aux fans finis l’époque glorieuse de Worship.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre