L.Teez : jazz, soul & hip-hop are invited at Studio Blue

Interview by Jacob Langlois-Pelletier
Genres and styles : Hip Hop / Jazz / Soul

Additional Information

Montreal artist L.Teez has just released the album “Studio Blue”, a mix of hip-hop, jazz and soul. With a bonus performance, a launch party is planned at Petit Campus this Thursday, November 3rd.

Born in France to a Montreal African-Chinese mother of Jamaican descent and a Parisian father of Algerian Kabyle descent, Lee Terki moved to Quebec with his family as a child. Since he was a child, he has been immersed in music. He studied for six years at the FACE school and his father is a professional in the music industry. “I spent a lot of my childhood listening to music and being at concerts and festivals,” he says.

In his latest project, the MC comfortably blends hip-hop and jazz, two musical styles that run in his family. We’re not just talking about a few samples from jazz songs here. In Studio Blue, we’re dealing with a soulful jazz soundtrack, recorded in a studio with very good musicians. It’s not surprising that he wanted to pay tribute to Miles Davis’ “Kind of Blue”, an important album in his life.

In his creation, L.Teez is also greatly influenced by the cinema, an art cherished by his cinema-loving mother who transmitted this passion to him. “In “Studio Blue”, I refer to” Annie Hall”, Spike Lee and the movie “Seventh Heaven,” the rapper says.

The city of Montreal is another source of inspiration: “I have always lived in Mile End since my parents are in Montreal. The culture of the city is very present in my music,” he continues. In this Studio Blue, L. Teez slaloms between rap and singing, his flow is fluid and effective. Some of his intonations, moreover, can remind those of the American rapper Westside Gunn. The result is really impressive.

Licensed by Hydrophonik Records, L.Teez collaborated with many local artists for the creation of his album, including Clerel, Mel Pacifico, Lea Keeley, Burton White and Elmnt. That’s why Pan M 360 spoke with L.Teez about Studio Blue, his influences and his creative process.

PAN M 360: What stage do you like the most in your creative process?

L.TEEZ: I definitely enjoy writing. However, I don’t write every day. There are artists who do, but I can’t do it. What I love most is being in the studio and creating the musical arrangements. I love being in the studio with producers and musicians. The creativity is at its peak and I love it. I feel extremely comfortable there.

PAN M 360: How was Studio Blue born?

L.TEEZ: When I was in college, I discovered Miles Davis’ “Kind of Blue”. I found this album incredible. Miles’ music makes me feel a lot of emotions. Listening to Kind of Blue opened my eyes to jazz and other musical styles. With my project, I wanted to pay tribute to this album. Also, I recorded “Studio Blue” in a studio actually called Studio Blue. It was a studio with analog tools. My experience in that place is memorable. I had no choice but to call my project “Studio Blue”.

PAN M 360: Can you tell me more about what the cover of “Studio Blue” means?

L.TEEZ: For this project, I wanted an artist to create in the style of Jean-Michel Basquiat, an artist I like a lot. Most of the elements on the cover are references to my personal life. First of all, there is a nod to African Montreal entrepreneur Rufus Rockhead, who owned Rockhead’s Paradise, a jazz club that opened in Montreal many years ago. All the jazz greats came there in the past and few people know it. It’s a little tribute to this mythical place. Then, there is also a steaming pot that refers to the many dimsums I ate with my father. Food is a big part of my life, I have been working in the restaurant business for many years. Besides, we find on the cover a penguin with a bottle of wine which makes reference to that. Another element is the cannon that represents Arsenal, my favorite soccer team. In short, there are a lot of symbolic elements and I am very happy with the final result.

PAN M 360: 5680 Rue Bach, a piece that pays tribute to your grandfather, is in two parts. Why did you make this choice? 

L.TEEZ: I wanted to have a musical break in the middle of my album. I wanted strings for an interlude. Also, I wanted to do a tribute song to my grandfather. So I combined the two to make 5680 Rue Bach. At first, the two parts were one. The separation was made to make it easier for my listeners to hear. I thought that by separating the instrumental part from the rap part, they would be able to listen better to the part they wanted to hear. 

PAN M 360: Why do you think rap and jazz fit so well together ?

L.TEEZ: Rap and jazz have had a love affair for a long time. I think they mix so easily because of their common roots. They are both very emotional genres. People relate to rap and jazz. I think that’s why the combination of the two is so perfect. 

PAN M 360: There’s also plenty of soul on “Studio Blue”. So how did the song Never Thought come about with Clerel?

L.TEEZ: I’ve been a big fan of Clerel for many years. He’s probably my favorite singer in the city right now. We first met at a jam session in Montreal. Jessie Reyez’s producer, and I built the instrumental, I wanted to put the whole thing on it, then I asked Clerel if he was interested in this track. He agreed and came to the studio. He wrote the chorus very quickly and we finished the song. I am very proud of the result.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Subscribe to our newsletter

L.Teez : quand jazz, soul et hip-hop s’invitent au Studio Blue

Entrevue réalisée par Jacob Langlois-Pelletier
Genres et styles : hip-hop / jazz / soul

renseignements supplémentaires

L’artiste montréalais L.Teez vient de lancer l’album Studio Blue, au confluent du hip-hop, du jazz et de la soul. Avec prestation en prime, une soirée de lancement est prévue au Petit Campus ce jeudi 3 novembre. 

Né en France d’une mère montréalaise afro-chinoise d’origine jamaïcaine et d’un père parisien de souche kabyle algérienne, Lee Terki a emménagé tout petit avec sa famille au Québec. Depuis qu’il est tout petit, il baigne dans la musique. Il a étudié pendant six ans à l’école FACE et son père est un professionnel de l’industrie musicale. « J’ai passé beaucoup de temps de mon enfance à écouter de la musique et à être dans des concerts, dans des festivals », fait-il observer. 

Dans son dernier projet, le MC mélange avec aise hip-hop et jazz, deux sillons de la musique très prisés au sein de sa famille. Ici, on ne parle pas seulement de quelques samples tirés de chansons jazz. Dans Studio Blue, on a affaire à une trame de jazz mâtinée de soul, enregistrée en studio avec des musiciens de très bon niveau. On ne s’étonnera pas qu’il ait voulu rendre hommage à Kind of Blue de Miles Davis, un album important dans sa vie. 

Dans sa création, L.Teez est aussi grandement influencé par le cinéma, un art chéri par sa maman cinéphile qui lui a transmis cette passion. « Dans Studio Blue, je fais référence à Annie Hall, Spike Lee et le film Septième Ciel », indique le rappeur.

La ville de Montréal est une autre source d’inspiration: « J’ai toujours habité le Mile-End depuis que mes parents sont à Montréal. La culture de la ville est très présente dans ma musique », poursuit-il. Dans ce Studio Blue, L. Teez slalome entre le rap et le chant, son flow est fluide et efficace. Certaines de ses intonations, d’ailleurs, peuvent rappeler celles du rappeur américain Westside Gunn. Le résultat est franchement impressionnant.

Sous licence chez Hydrophonik Records, L.Teez a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes d’ici pour la création de son album, dont Clerel, Mel Pacifico, Lea Keeley, Burton White et Elmnt. Voilà pourquoi Pan M 360 a discuté avec l’artiste de Studio Blue, de ses influences ainsi que de son processus créatif. 

PAN M 360 : Quelle étape aimez-vous le plus dans votre processus créatif ? 

L.TEEZ : C’est certain que j’aime l’écriture. Cependant, je n’écris pas chaque jour. Il y a des artistes qui le font, mais je n’y arrive pas. Ce que j’aime le plus c’est d’être au studio et de créer les arrangements musicaux. J’aime être en studio avec des producteurs et des musiciens. La créativité est à son comble et j’adore ça. Je m’y sens extrêmement bien.

PAN M 360 : Comment est né Studio Blue?

L.TEEZ : Quand j’étais au CÉGEP, j’ai découvert le projet Kind of Blue de Miles Davis. J’ai trouvé cet album incroyable. La musique de Miles me fait ressentir énormément d’émotions. L’écoute de Kind of Blue m’a ouvert sur le jazz et sur d’autres styles musicaux. Avec mon projet, j’ai voulu rendre hommage à cet album. Aussi, j’ai enregistré Studio Blue dans un studio qui se nomme réellement Studio Blue. C’était un studio avec des outils analogiques. Mon expérience dans cet endroit est mémorable. Je n’avais pas d’autre choix que d’intituler mon projet Studio Blue. 

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous m’en dire davantage sur ce que signifie la pochette de Studio Blue?

L.TEEZ : Pour ce projet, je voulais qu’un artiste crée dans le style de Jean-Michel Basquiat, un artiste que j’affectionne beaucoup. La majorité des éléments présents sur la pochette sont des références à ma vie personnelle. Tout d’abord, il y a un clin d’œil à l’entrepreneur afro-montréalais Rufus Rockhead, qui fut le propriétaire du Rockhead’s Paradise, soit un club de jazz ouvert à Montréal il y plusieurs années. Tous les grands du jazz y sont venus par le passé et peu de gens le savent. C’est un petit hommage à cet endroit mythique. Ensuite, il y a aussi un pot à vapeur qui fait référence aux nombreux dimsums que j’ai mangés avec mon père. La nourriture occupe une grande place dans ma vie, je travaille dans le milieu de la restauration depuis plusieurs années. D’ailleurs, on retrouve sur la pochette un pingouin avec une bouteille de vin qui fait référence à ça. Un autre élément est le canon qui représente Arsenal, mon équipe de soccer préférée. Bref, il y a tout plein d’éléments symboliques et je suis très content du résultat final. 

PAN M 360 : 5680 Rue Bach, un morceau qui rend notamment hommage à votre grand-père, est exposé deux parties. Pourquoi avez-vous fait ce choix? 

L.TEEZ : Je voulais avoir une pause musicale au milieu de mon album. Je voulais des cordes pour un intermède. Aussi, je voulais faire une chanson hommage à mon grand-père. Ainsi, j’ai combiné les deux pour faire 5680 Rue Bach. Au début, les deux parties ne faisaient qu’un. La séparation a été faite pour faciliter l’écoute de mes auditeurs. Je me suis dit qu’en séparant la partie instrumentale de la partie rap, ils allaient pouvoir mieux écouter la partie qu’ils souhaitent entendre. 

Graphical user interface
Description automatically generated


PAN M 360 : Selon vous, pourquoi le rap et le jazz se combinent-ils aussi efficacement ?

L.TEEZ : Le rap et le jazz ont une histoire d’amour qui dure depuis bien longtemps. Je crois que ces deux styles se mélangent aussi facilement en raison de leurs racines communes. Ce sont deux genres très émotifs. Les gens se reconnaissent dans le rap et le jazz. Selon moi, c’est pour ces raisons que la combinaison des deux est aussi parfaite. 

PAN M 360 : Il y a aussi de la soul à profusion dans Studio Blue. Alors comment la chanson Never Thought est-elle venue au monde avec Clerel?

L.TEEZ : Depuis plusieurs années, je suis un grand fan de Clerel. C’est probablement mon chanteur préféré de la ville en ce moment. On s’est rencontrés pour la première fois dans une jam session à Montréal. Le producteur de Jessie Reyez, et moi avons construit l’instrumentale, je voulais y mettre la totale, puis j’ai demandé à Clerel si ce morceau l’intéressait. Il a accepté et il est venu en studio. Il a écrit le refrain très rapidement et on a bouclé le morceau. Je suis très fier du résultat. 

Tout le contenu 360

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre