Hiroko Yamamura : true spirit of Chicago house and techno

Entrevue réalisée par Elsa Fortant
Genres et styles : Electronic / House / Techno

renseignements supplémentaires

Hailing from Chicago, Hiroko Yamamura has been immersed in electronic dance music since her teenage years. First as a raver, then as a DJ. After a long hiatus, she returned to the scene in a major way a few years ago, encouraged by her long-time friend Seth Troxler. An international ambassador for Chicago techno and house, she will share her musical legacy with Igloofest crowds at an “Après-ski” party at the PHI Center for the opening weekend of the festival.

PAN M 360 : I tried to find some information about you on the internet, and you are kind of mysterious. Can you tell me more about your background ?

Hiroko Yamamura : Sure. So I’ve been DJing and producing for a long time since high school. I don’t want to say exactly how old I am (laughs) but yes, I’ve been very much a raver. I used to go to parties in the late 1990’s early 2000s, grew up in Chicago. I was influenced by the scene there, I was really into comic books, video games, the futuristic aspects of techno like using hardware and computers to make music really drew me. Then I took a break for a while. It really came back in 2015, when I decided to start DJing. One of my friends Seth Troxler was really instrumental in encouraging me to start DJing again. I was having fun with that. After all locked down, I really started to figure out that I really missed it and I wanted to take it seriously and pursue it professionally.

PAN M 360 : You are from Chicago. The city is very well known for being the birthplace of several music genres. I can think of blues, jazz, gospel, of course, house music. Among those genres, is there one that you grew up listening to, and how did it influence you as a person but also as a DJ?

Hiroko Yamamura : Actually, the industrial music scene in Chicago has probably influenced me the most. There was a record label there called Wax Trax. Bands like Ministry, Front 242, a bunch of European industrial music bands that started coming out were based out of this small record label in Chicago. Wax Trax also had a store there, so it’s a record store as well as a record label. It was kind of a hangout spot, too. You’d go there, buy concert tickets, you knew about the rave parties that were going on. The industrial music scene was very much influenced by kind of Gothic music, rock music, dance music, it was this big mix of all that with a very Chicago attached to it. Besides that, of course, house was a big influence. On the radio in Chicago, I think some of the best DJs were featured, it’s very much part of the culture.

PAN M 360 : Scenes have evolved since, how would you describe the electronic dance music scene and the music community in Chicago nowadays?

Hiroko Yamamura: I would say, there’s some pluses and minuses to Chicago. It’s a big city and it’s a working class city. It is a city that has segregation issues, so people from different areas like different things. There’s social economical differences, as well as when you’re in the music industry, and you and your friends are doing something, maybe don’t include everybody, right? It’s just you and your friends. One of the positive and negative things about Chicago is people work in pockets like that, so there’s a separation. But because of that, each neighborhood, each area develop their own sound. There is a west side scene, and there is a North Side scene… There is just different pockets in house music, some will call it “all house”, or some people all call it house. You would not think they are the same genre, because they developed under their own circumstances. They have their own sound, because everyone kind of has this attitude that, well, if people aren’t interested in what you’re doing, then you just go off and do it yourself. That’s kind of the Chicago attitude and I think that’s what’s given us the ability to have really interesting sounds, very DIY, but at the same time, it keeps the group from working together towards a singular goal. It makes the music great, it might not make the business aspects of it great.

PAN M 360 : How are those scenes organized ? Is it more club scenes or warehouse parties and raves?

Hiroko Yamamura : Especially after lockdown, the night fight life scene really suffered. We’ve seen a lot of closures, a lot of clubs still haven’t caught up to pay rent, for being close for years. So, you know, sometimes the music that is being played at clubs today is there to get people there, because they have to pay rent, they have to pay the bartenders and maybe the risks that they were taking before locked down aren’t there anymore. Additionally, back a long time ago, Chicago was one of the first cities to actually start what’s called the rave ordinates, it specifically outlawed raves. If you’re a DJ participating in a rave you can go to jail and face big consequences. That’s why it is very hard to have underground parties. There’s always going to be small little parties with a 100 people or maybe 20 people at someone’s house in a basement having a good time. Chicago doesn’t have this big kind of club, warehouse, underground culture like other cities. I think it also comes down to money. We’re not a rich city, or rich people. The amount of disposable income influences what people are able to do, like in New York or Los Angeles, people have a different amount of money to spend on stuff like that. The promoters have different amount of money, they can risk on events. They can have an undergraduate party and have an international DJ come in and if it gets shut down, they’re not going to be financially ruined for the rest of their lives. In Chicago, that would be a life changing recipe, so it changes what we’re able to do. Bigger companies have moved in, so to go and see a popular international DJ, you’re probably going to an expensive club in Chicago unfortunately.

PAN M 360 : In your artist biography, you talk about music as an heritage. Can you tell me more about your approach of it ?

Hiroko Yamamura : One of the key factors of being a DJ is you have to love music, and you have to be obsessed with it. It’s got to be almost problematic, like you’ve spent your lunch money on this record you really want. Throughout your life, from when you started listening to music, your story is all this music you’ve listened to, that moves you. It may be pop music, maybe some of it is underground, but probably nobody has listened to all the same music that you have. That combination, that’s your story. I think part of that is passing that on through your vision. To me there’s all these artists, wonderful musicians and visual art that also influenced me, for example, because the movie is so great, I love the song and it’s hard to separate those things. Whether it’s talking about it, or going up and playing it, it’s about sharing your likes. You are kind of saying : this is what I like, this is what moves me, what helps me feel better. So to me, that’s the ultimate heritage.

PAN M 360 : Is it your first time playing in Montreal? How do you feel about playing at Igloofest ?

Hiroko Yamamura : I played at Stereo club last year with my friend Seth Troxler, it was my first time in Montreal. I am super excited, super intimidated to play Igloofest. When I first heard about Igloofest and saw the videos of people dancing outside in the snow in the cold weather, I thought this is crazy. That’s such an exciting thing that people like embrace this idea! To me, as a foreigner and as a tourist it feels very Canadian, like an authentic Canadian experience.

Tout le contenu 360

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×

Hiroko Yamamura : l’essence de la house et de la techno de Chicago

Interview réalisé par Elsa Fortant
Genres et styles : électronique / house / techno

renseignements supplémentaires

Originaire de Chicago, Hiroko Yamamura baigne dans les musiques électroniques de danse depuis son adolescence. D’abord comme raveuse, puis, comme DJ. Après un long hiatus, elle est revenue sur le devant de la scène en grande force il y a quelques années, encouragée par son ami de longue date Seth Troxler. Ambassadrice internationale de la techno et de la house de Chicago, elle partagera son héritage musical avec le public d’Igloofest dans le cadre d’une soirée « Après-ski » au Centre PHI le vendredi de la fin de semaine d’ouverture du festival.

PAN M 360 : Il y a peu d’informations à votre sujet sur Internet. Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur votre parcours ?

Hiroko Yamamura : Bien sûr. Je suis DJ et productrice depuis longtemps, depuis le lycée. Je ne veux pas dire quel âge j’ai exactement (rires) mais oui, j’ai toujours été une raveuse. J’allais à des raves à la fin des années 1990 et au début des années 2000, j’ai grandi à Chicago. J’ai été influencé par la scène de Chicago, j’aimais beaucoup les comics, les jeux vidéo, les aspects futuristes de la techno comme l’utilisation de matériel informatique pour faire de la musique, tout ça m’attirait vraiment. Puis j’ai fait une pause pendant un certain temps. C’est vraiment revenu en 2015, lorsque j’ai décidé de me lancer dans le DJing. L’un de mes amis, Seth Troxler, a vraiment contribué à m’encourager à recommencer à faire du DJing. Je m’amusais bien avec ça. Après l’arrêt des activités avec la pandémie, je me suis rendue compte que cela me manquait vraiment et que je voulais prendre ça au sérieux et poursuivre professionnellement.

PAN M 360 : Vous êtes de Chicago. La ville est connue pour être le berceau de plusieurs genres musicaux. Je pense au blues, au jazz, au gospel et, bien sûr, à la house music. Parmi ces genres, y en a-t-il un que vous avez écouté en grandissant, et comment vous a-t-il influencé en tant que personne mais aussi en tant que DJ ?

Hiroko Yamamura : En fait, la scène de la musique industrielle à Chicago m’a probablement le plus influencé. Il y avait une maison de disques appelée Wax Trax. Des groupes comme Ministry, Front 242, un tas de groupes européens de musique industrielle qui ont commencé à sortir, étaient basés sur ce petit label à Chicago. Wax Trax y avait aussi un magasin, c’était donc à la fois un magasin et un label. C’était aussi une sorte de lieu de rencontre. On y allait, on achetait des billets de concert, on était au courant des rave parties qui avaient lieu. La scène musicale industrielle était très influencée par la musique gothique, la musique rock, le musiques de danse, c’était un grand mélange de tout ça, avec un côté très Chicago. En plus de cela, bien sûr, la house était une grande influence. À la radio de Chicago, je pense que certains des meilleurs DJs étaient présents, cela fait partie intégrante de la culture.

PAN M 360 : Les scènes ont évolué depuis, comment décririez-vous la scène de la musique de danse électronique et la communauté musicale de Chicago aujourd’hui ?

Hiroko Yamamura: Je dirais qu’il y a des avantages et des inconvénients à Chicago. C’est une grande ville et c’est une ville ouvrière. C’est une ville qui a des problèmes de ségrégation, donc les gens de différents quartiers aiment des choses différentes. Il y a des différences socio-économiques, comme lorsque vous êtes dans l’industrie de la musique, et que vous et vos amis faites quelque chose, vous n’incluez peut-être pas tout le monde, n’est-ce pas ? C’est juste toi et tes amis. Une des choses positives et négatives de Chicago est que les gens travaillent dans des cercles comme ça, donc il y a une séparation. Mais à cause de ça, chaque quartier, chaque zone développe son propre son. Il y a une scène West Side, et il y a une scène North Side… Il y a juste différentes scènes dans la musique house, certains l’appellent “all house”, ou certaines personnes l’appellent house. Vous ne penseriez pas qu’il s’agit du même genre, car ils se sont développés dans leurs propres circonstances. Ils ont leur propre son, parce que tout le monde a cette attitude qui consiste à dire que si les gens ne s’intéressent pas à ce que l’on fait, il faut le faire soi-même. C’est un peu l’attitude de Chicago et je pense que c’est ce qui nous a donné la possibilité d’avoir des sons vraiment intéressants, très DIY, mais en même temps, ça empêche le groupe de travailler ensemble vers un but commun. Cela rend la musique géniale, mais pas forcément les aspects commerciaux.

PAN M 360 : Comment ces scènes sont-elles organisées ? S’agit-il plutôt de scènes club ou de raves et soirées warehouses ?

Hiroko Yamamura : Surtout après le confinement, la scène de la vie nocturne a vraiment souffert. Nous avons vu beaucoup de fermetures, beaucoup de clubs n’ont toujours pas réussi à payer leur loyer, car ils sont fermés depuis des années. Donc, vous savez, parfois la musique qui est jouée dans les clubs aujourd’hui est là pour attirer les gens, parce qu’ils doivent payer le loyer, ils doivent payer les barmans et peut-être que les risques qu’ils prenaient avant le confinement ne sont plus là. De plus, il y a longtemps, Chicago a été l’une des premières villes à mettre en place ce que l’on appelle l’ordonnance sur les raves, qui interdit spécifiquement les raves. Si vous êtes un DJ participant à une rave, vous pouvez aller en prison et subir de lourdes conséquences. C’est pourquoi il est très difficile d’organiser des fêtes clandestines. Il y aura toujours de petites fêtes avec une centaine de personnes ou peut-être 20 personnes chez quelqu’un, dans un sous-sol, pour passer un bon moment. Chicago n’a pas cette grande culture de club, d’entrepôt, d’underground comme d’autres villes. Je pense que c’est aussi une question d’argent. Nous ne sommes pas une ville riche, ni des gens riches. Le montant du revenu disponible influence ce que les gens sont capables de faire, comme à New York ou Los Angeles, les gens ont une quantité différente d’argent à dépenser pour des choses comme ça. Les promoteurs n’ont pas les mêmes budgets qu’ils peuvent risquer sur des événements. Ils peuvent organiser une fête étudiante et faire venir un DJ international et si elle est arrêtée par la police, ils ne seront pas ruinés pour le reste de leur vie. À Chicago, ce serait une fermeture qui changerait leur vie, donc cela change ce que nous pouvons faire. De plus grandes entreprises se sont installées, alors pour aller voir un DJ international populaire, vous allez probablement aller dans un club cher à Chicago, malheureusement.

PAN M 360 : Dans votre biographie d’artiste, vous parlez de la musique comme d’un héritage. Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur ce que ça signifie pour vous ?

Hiroko Yamamura :L’un des facteurs clés pour être DJ est qu’il faut aimer la musique, et en être obsédé. Il faut que ce soit presque problématique, comme si vous aviez dépensé l’argent de votre déjeuner pour ce disque que vous voulez vraiment. Tout au long de votre vie, depuis le moment où vous avez commencé à écouter de la musique, votre histoire est constituée de toute cette musique que vous avez écoutée et qui vous touche. C’est peut-être de la musique pop, peut-être de la musique underground, mais personne n’a probablement écouté la même musique que vous. Cette combinaison, c’est votre histoire. Je pense qu’une partie de cette histoire est transmise à travers votre vision. Pour moi, il y a tous ces artistes, de merveilleux musiciens et des arts visuels qui m’ont aussi influencé, par exemple, parce que le film est génial, j’adore la chanson et c’est difficile de séparer ces choses. Qu’on en parle qu’on la joue, il s’agit de partager ses goûts musicaux. Vous dites en quelque sorte : voilà ce que j’aime, voilà ce qui me touche, ce qui m’aide à me sentir mieux. Pour moi, c’est l’héritage ultime.

PAN M 360 : C’est la première fois que vous jouez à Montréal ? Que ressentez-vous à l’idée de jouer à Igloofest ?

Hiroko Yamamura : J’ai joué au Stereo club l’année dernière avec mon ami Seth Troxler, c’était ma première fois à Montréal. Je suis super excitée, super intimidée de jouer à Igloofest. Quand j’ai entendu parler d’Igloofest pour la première fois et que j’ai vu les vidéos de gens qui dansaient dehors dans la neige et le froid, j’ai pensé que c’était fou. C’est une chose tellement excitante que les gens embrassent cette idée ! Pour moi, en tant qu’étrangère et touriste, cela me semble très canadien, comme une expérience canadienne authentique.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre