Bodega : Art-punk Philosophers

Interview by Patrick Baillargeon
Genres and styles : Art Punk / Dance-Punk / Post-Punk

Additional Information

After a barely noticed appearance at Casa Del Popolo a few years ago, Bodega is coming this time to perform a few songs from their latest album, Broken Equipment, as well as the brand new EP XTRA EQUIPMENT and several other songs from their repertoire. The Brooklyn-based art-(post)-punk band has also seen three of its members leave the ship since the start of the pandemic. This will be the occasion to discover the new version of Bodega and its groovier sound. 

PAN M 360 caught up with one of the new members, bassist Adam See, who talked to us about all the personnel changes and what they entail, his job as a philosophy teacher… and Heidegger.

PAN M 360: There has been a pretty considerable change of musicians in the band since the previous album Endless Scroll, released in 2018. First percussionist Montana Simone, who left shortly after the record’s release and was replaced by Tai Lee, then guitarist Madison Velding-VanDam and bassist Heather Elle. What happened, and how were you recruited?

Adam See: About the time the pandemic started, Madison and Heather left the band to start another project, the band Wants. Madison is still very much involved in that project but Heather has since left and started her own band, Flossing. I’ve been friends with Ben (Hozie, aka Bodega Ben, guitar, vocals) and Nikki (Belfiglio, aka Nik E Iki, vocals, percussion) for a while, our bands have shared the same stage a few times since 2017. So, around that time, Ben, Tai Lee (percussion) and I had a book club and since I played bass, they quickly recruited me. As for Dan Ryan, he was already a guitarist for the band on tour, so he was the natural person to call on when Madison left. It all happened pretty much at the same time. And since the beginning of this tour, we have had a new percussionist. His name is Adam Shumski and he replaces Tai Lee who had to leave to pursue a musical project for Netflix. I don’t really know much about it but it sounds pretty cool. 

PAN M 360: Would you say that this new version of Bodega has changed the sound and dynamics of the band?

Adam See: That’s a good question… I think if you asked other band members you’d get a different answer. As far as I’m concerned, my style of playing bass is quite different from Heather’s. For one thing, we don’t play on the same bass as Heather. First of all, we don’t play the same brand of bass and Heather is more subdued, her tones are softer than mine, less raging. I think I’m a funkier bass player than Heather, my previous band (Otro Lado) was more danceable. But there’s also the direction Ben and Nikki chose to take the band; no matter who played on our last album, the sound and style would still be what it is. But having said that, I’m quite happy with my bass sound on this record. Of course, the work of guitarist Dan Ryan must also be mentioned. His playing is quite different from Madison’s. Madison’s playing is quite incisive and angular. Dan is more technically proficient, and funkier, in my opinion. He’s more creative too.

PAN M 360: And on stage, compared to the old line-up, what has changed?

Adam See: Having seen Bodega live a few times, I would say that the band is more groovy. Ben, Nikki and Tai Lee were commenting on our recent European tour that the audience was dancing more at our shows. I’m not saying that people didn’t participate before, but with this new line-up, we’re stretching out the songs, giving them a little more of a driving feel. We are more rhythm oriented, it’s more aggressive and funky. 

PAN M 360: Are you playing the new album mostly on this tour?

Adam See: No, not really. We’re playing a lot of everything, even songs from Bodega Bay, Ben and Nikki’s old band. We have about 50 songs and Ben always picks different ones for each show. 

PAN M 360: How do you reconcile your job as a teacher and your life as a musician on the road?

Adam See: That’s another good question. I had to quit my job before going on this long tour in Europe… and I got it back anyway! But during this tour, I’m still teaching my Environmental Ethics class at the New Jersey Institute Of Technology when I’m on the road, and I have to say it’s pretty demanding. In the band, they call me “the teacher.”

PAN M 360: Tell us a little bit about this book club you created with part of the band. What is it about? Did it influence the lyrics to a certain extent? 

Adam See: Ben is pretty insistent on this, and he’s not entirely wrong. The title of the record, Broken Equipment, comes from the early work of Martin Heidegger, which we, of course, read in our little book club. We started this club a little after I got my PhD in philosophy. I had lost the taste for philosophy after a decade of being immersed in it. Then it became a job for me and I no longer saw philosophy as a source of pleasure. Ben had also taken philosophy classes and we decided to start a philosophy reading club. So Ben and I got together with a rapper friend from Brooklyn, another friend who was an ancient Greek and Roman scholar, and Tai Lee. During the pandemic, our little get-togethers quickly became our favorite time of the week, and it was during this time that Ben began writing some of the songs that appear on Broken Equipment. One of these songs, “Art And Advertising,” didn’t make it onto the album, but was instead released on the XTRA EQUIPMENT EP (released on July 15th). This track includes the words ‘broken equipment,’ which became the title of the album. The song “Thrown,” which starts the Broken Equipment album, is a direct allusion to the work of Martin Heidegger. So yes, there’s a bit of philosophy in our recent albums.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Bodega : Philosophes art-punk

Interview réalisé par Patrick Baillargeon
Genres et styles : art-punk / dance-punk / post-punk

renseignements supplémentaires

Après un passage à peine remarqué à la Casa Del Popolo il y a quelques années, Bodega vient cette fois-ci présenter quelques chansons de son plus récent album, Broken Equipment, ainsi que du tout nouvel EP XTRA EQUIPMENT et plusieurs autres titres de son répertoire. Le groupe art-(post)punk de Brooklyn a aussi vu trois de ses membres quitter le navire depuis le début de la pandémie. Ce sera l’occasion de découvrir la nouvelle mouture de Bodega et sa tangente plus groovy.

PAN M 360 a rencontré un de ces nouveaux membres, le bassiste Adam See, qui nous a parlé de tous ces changements de personnel et ce que cela implique, de son métier de professeur de philosophie… et de Heidegger.

PAN M 360 : Il y a eu un changement de musiciens assez considérable dans le groupe depuis le précédent album Endless Scroll, paru en 2018. D’abord la percussionniste Montana Simone, qui a quitté peu après la sortie du disque et a été remplacée par Tai Lee, puis le guitariste Madison Velding-VanDam et la bassiste Heather Elle. Que s’est-il passé, et comment avez-vous été recruté ?

Adam See : Environ au début de la pandémie, Madison et Heather ont quitté le groupe pour se lancer dans un autre projet, le groupe Wants. Madison est encore très impliqué dans ce projet mais Heather a quitté depuis et a démarré son propre groupe, Flossing. Je suis ami avec Ben (Hozie, aka Bodega Ben, guitare, voix) et Nikki (Belfiglio, aka Nik E Iki, voix, percussions) depuis un certain temps, nos groupes ont partagé la même scène à quelques reprises depuis 2017. Donc, autour de cette période, Ben, Tai Lee (percussions) et moi-même avions un club de lecture et comme je jouais de la basse, ils m’ont vite recruté. Quant à Dan Ryan, il était déjà guitariste pour le groupe en tournée, donc c’est à lui qu’ils ont naturellement fait appel lorsque Madison est parti. C’est pas mal tout arrivé en même temps. Et depuis le début de cette tournée, nous avons un nouveau percussionniste. Il s’appelle Adam Shumski et il remplace Tai Lee qui a dû quitter pour poursuivre un projet de comédie musicale pour Netflix. J’en sais pas vraiment plus mais ça semble assez cool.

PAN M 360 : Dirais-tu que cette nouvelle mouture de Bodega a changé le son et la dynamique du groupe ?

Adam See : C’est une bonne question… Je pense que si tu demandais à d’autres membres du groupe tu aurais une réponse différente. En ce qui me concerne, mon style de jeu à la basse est assez différent de celui de Heather. D’abord on ne joue pas sur la même marque de basse et Heather est plus discrète, ses tonalités sont plus douces que les miennes, moins rageuses. Je crois que je suis un bassiste plus funky que Heather, mon précédent groupe (Otro Lado) était plus dansant. Mais il y a aussi la direction que Ben et Nikki ont choisi de prendre avec le groupe; peu importe qui aurait joué sur notre dernier album, le son et le style aurait tout de même été ce qu’il est. Mais ceci dit, je suis assez content de mon son de basse sur ce disque. Il faut aussi bien sûr souligner le travail du guitariste Dan Ryan. Son jeu est pas mal différent de celui de Madison. Madison a un jeu assez incisif et angulaire. Dan est plus compétent au point de vue technique, et plus funky, selon moi. Il est plus créatif aussi.

Adam See : C’est une bonne question… Je pense que si tu demandais à d’autres membres du groupe tu aurais une réponse différente. En ce qui me concerne, mon style de jeu à la basse est assez différent de celui de Heather. D’abord on ne joue pas sur la même marque de basse et Heather est plus discrète, ses tonalités sont plus douces que les miennes, moins rageuses. Je crois que je suis un bassiste plus funky que Heather, mon précédent groupe (Otro Lado) était plus dansant. Mais il y a aussi la direction que Ben et Nikki ont choisi de prendre avec le groupe; peu importe qui aurait joué sur notre dernier album, le son et le style aurait tout de même été ce qu’il est. Mais ceci dit, je suis assez content de mon son de basse sur ce disque. Il faut aussi bien sûr souligner le travail du guitariste Dan Ryan. Son jeu est pas mal différent de celui de Madison. Madison a un jeu assez incisif et angulaire. Dan est plus compétent au point de vue technique, et plus funky, selon moi. Il est plus créatif aussi.

PAN M 360 : Et sur scène, par rapport à l’ancienne formation, qu’est-ce qui a changé ?

Adam See : Pour avoir vu plusieurs fois Bodega en concert, je te dirais que le groupe est plus groovy. Ben, Nikki et Tai Lee faisaient remarquer lors de notre récente tournée européenne que le public dansait plus à nos concerts. Je ne dis pas qu’avant les gens ne participaient pas, mais avec cette nouvelle mouture, nous étirons les chansons, nous leur donnons un petit côté plus entraînant. Nous sommes plus axé sur le rythme, c’est plus agressif et funky.

PAN M 360 : Jouez-vous majoritairement le nouvel album sur cette tournée ?

Adam See : Non, pas vraiment. Nous jouons pas mal de tout, même des morceaux de Bodega Bay, l’ancien groupe de Ben et Nikki. On a une cinquantaine de morceaux et Ben en choisit toujours des différents à chaque concerts.

PAN M 360 : Comment concilies-tu ton métier de professeur et ta vie de musicien sur la route ?

Adam See : Ça c’est une autre bonne question. J’ai dû quitter mon emploi avant de partir sur cette longue tournée en Europe… et je l’ai récupérée quand même au retour ! Mais durant cette tournée, je continue à donner mes cours d’Éthique environnementale au New Jersey Institute Of Technology quand je suis sur la route, et je dois dire que c’est assez exigeant. Dans le groupe, on m’appelle « le professeur ».

PAN M 360 : Parle-nous un peu de ce club de lecture que tu as créé avec une partie du groupe. De quoi s’agit-il ? Est-ce que cela a influencé les textes jusqu’à un certain point ?

Adam See : Ben insiste pas mal là-dessus, et il n’a pas tout à fait tort. Le titre du disque, Broken Equipment, provient des premiers travaux de Martin Heidegger, que nous avons bien entendu lu dans notre petit club de bouquins. On a démarré ce club un peu après que j’ai obtenu mon doctorat en philo. J’avais un peu perdu le goût de la philosophie, après une dizaine d’années à avoir baigné dedans. Puis c’est devenu un boulot pour moi et je ne voyais plus la philo comme une source de plaisir. Ben avait aussi suivit des cours de philo et nous avons décidé de partir un club de lectures philosophiques. Donc on s’est retrouvé Ben et moi avec un ami rappeur de Brooklyn, un autre ami spécialiste de la Grèce antique et de l’époque romaine, et Tai Lee. Durant la pandémie, nos petites réunions sont rapidement devenues notre moment préféré de la semaine, et c’est durant cette période que Ben a commencé à écrire quelques-unes des chansons qu’on retrouve sur Broken Equipment. Une de ces chansons, Art And Advertising, ne s’est finalement pas rendue jusqu’à l’album mais on l’a plutôt sortie sur le EP XTRA EQUIPMENT (paru le 15 juillet dernier). Ce morceau inclut les mots « broken equipment », qui est devenu le titre de l’album. La chanson Thrown, qui débute l’album Broken Equipment, est une allusion directe à l’oeuvre de Martin Heidegger. Donc oui, y’a un peu de philo dans nos récents albums !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre