Ane Brun and Elisapie: Between women of the North

Interview by Alain Brunet

PAN M 360 invites you to a conversation between women from the North: Ane Brun, who just released two albums of songs in Oslo, and Elisapie, an Inuit artist based in Montreal.

Additional Information

Photos: Stian Andersen et Vanessa Heins

Is there a common sensibility among women artists with northern origins? With the help of our colleague and friend Jeremy Spellazon, PAN M 360 thought it appropriate to bring together two writers, composers, and performers with Arctic origins, loved and recognized south of the Arctic Circle. The great-grandmother of Ane Brunvall, better known by the diminutive Ane Brun (pronounced An-ha Broon), came from the Sami people living in the Arctic regions of Scandinavia. Elisapie, for her part, is a full-fledged Inuit and curious to talk to her Norwegian interlocutor, who has lived two decades in Sweden and is considering leaving Stockholm to settle in Oslo, where her husband lives.

Ane Brun and Elisapie courteously accepted our proposal, the other pretext being the imminent release of two albums of new songs by Ane Brun, from the same creative cycle: After the Great Storm and Ow Beauty Holds the Hands of Sorrow, on the Balloon Ranger label.

PAN M 360: Many thanks to you ladies for having accepted this invitation! The first question is at the heart of this encounter: is there a common sensibility for artists from the far north?

Elisapie: Yes, I think so! Having been in Kautokaino, in the northern part of Norway, I felt strange at that time because I discovered the humour of the Sami people, the same humour as my people in Nunavik. Oh my goodness, that was so close! I haven’t been there for performing, but for a documentary film. My biggest, biggest regret is not having worked hard enough to make things happen in the northern countries. But next time! 

Ane Brun: What was the documentary about ?

Elisapie: It was a film on the polar-circle peoples, I could go  to Alaska, Siberia, Greenland, Norway, and northern Canada. In Norway, I could eat reindeer recipes, I loved it!  It was an amazing experience. And you, Ane, are you from the northern part of Norway?

Ane Brun: No. I grew up in Molde, halfway between the south and the north of Norway, but my mom’s family is from the north – an hour driving from Tromsø. Her grandmother was Sami, so we have a straight line. 

PAN M 360: More precisely, what do Sami people have in common with Inuit people in Nunavik?

Elisapie: The first thing I really felt is the very calming rhythm. This is a different territory from the Sami territory,  but the presence of the people is quite similar. I mean people being in the moment. And also when you live something with Sami people and a friendship is possible, it’s not halfway. Something is marked forever. People open up very quickly. Inuit people experience the same openness in my Indigenous community. Once you are in their world and environment, it is open. So that is really what I felt in Norway, it was family.

Elisapie. Photo: Jonathan Brisebois

Ane Brun: It’s nice! We Norwegians don’t know the Sami language. There is still a barrier, we don’t get a chance to really step into the atmosphere that exists up there.  By the way, The Sami language is quite present in the North, there is a Sami presence in the government, there is Sami language on the TV, but is is always subtitled .  

Elisapie: It’s the same here in Canada. Inuktitut is one of the most difficult languages to learn.  You know, I thought  there would be common roots in our two languages, but no. The Sami langage is totally different from Inuktitut.

Ane Brun: Personally, I have never been in the Sami culture, even if my great-grandmother was Sami. Otherwise, my mother tried to rediscover this culture, she tried to connect with relatives and started digging in our family history. She discovered that when her grandmother was alive, it was quite difficult to be a Sami during her life, there was a lot of discrimination. You know the singer Mari Boine? Even for her generation, it was really hard. Until recently, Sami people were forced to speak Norwegian, to go to Norweigian school, there were religious expectations and cultural assimilation. In Sweden and Norway, there’s a really sad story about how Indigenous people were treated. That changed not a long time ago, I can imagine that some of my mom’s ancestors didn’t want to live as Sami people because it was really hard, but my mom wanted to rediscover, she reconnected with relatives and knew more about the tribe where we come from. Later, people from my generation learned about this inequality, it’s quite recent. There was a great Swedish movie called Sami Blood that also had an important impact on our awareness. And I have myself had a chance to sing with Mari Boine and also with Sofia Jannok, another Sami artist – Sofia had permission from Bon Iver to translate some of his songs into the Sami language, so she made an EP of Bon Iver songs, and I got to sing in Sami with her. With Mari Boine as well, we wrote a song together for a TV show where Scandinavian artists were coupled with Sami artists. Then we met for three days to write the song and I got to know the amazing Mari Boine better. It became a beautiful song, she used the joik singing. 

Elisapie: I also met Mari Boine, I opened for her in Belgium. She is magical, her presence is almost scary!

PAN M 360: How do each of you identify the Northern aspects of your craft?

Elisapie: I think it is unconscious but… If I write a song, I can say that I have to look outside, I must have window to see the sky. Where I am from,  there are no trees and a lot of horizon. I left the North when I was 23, it’s still very present in my mind. Life is hard in my community, the suicide rate is high, people try to get their shit together. There is that sense of the North everywhere I go and I am. Even now in Montreal, I’m getting to know myself in a stronger way. And I think my roots are coming back to me a lot more. I have three children now, I try to find many things since I’m a mother, and funnily, I feel I’m more Inuk than ever. I don’t live daily the traditions of my people – food, hunting, etc. – but I reflect partly on this life when I write songs. But I try to be in the moment, not intellectualize my work too much while I am creating. I think it’s a Northern way of seeing things.

Ane Brun. Photo: Stian Andersen

Ane Brun: For me, inspiration from the North is the nature as well. I connect with nature. You and me, Elisapie, also have the same age in common… because I checked your profile on Wikipedia (haha!).  So we are both in the middle of our lives. I lived in Sweden for 20 years and I’m in the process of moving back in Norway because my partner is in Oslo (where I am actually speaking to you from). Since two or three years, I could connect with my Norwegian roots. Sweden is not far away but it’s different, with a different history, so I have been longing to come back  I feel that I’m connected to those first 20 years of my life, so that is kind of your same feeling of being connected with your roots. So in my songwriting lyrics, I use a lot the nature. I grew up in a very beautiful place with the fjords, the sea, and the mountains. And I know when I write about big emotions, nature is the element that come up, it’s the wind, it’s the water, the ocean, the waves, the mountains, the temperature. I remember having studied the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg when I was a teenager, they were talking about the importance of nature in his music, and I didn’t get it at that time. Now I look back on my own music and I can see it. It does inspire me, it does influence me that I had the nature so close to me. 

Elisapie: It is awesome the way you talk about nature. I also have a lot of anori – wind, in Inuktitut – in my songs. The wind purifies! The natural elements can be very harsh in the North but also very beautiful and symbolic. It is the same thing for me. I am more in touch and in tune with that in my songwriting. 

Ane Brun: The darkness in the North during the winter is also important. We are about to get in the darkest times of the year, the sun goes down at 3 pm…

PAN M 360: What about artists from the far north being based in big cities?

Elisapie: The North never leaves you in the big cities where we live. North is gorgeous, harsh, tough, spectacular, those very strong elements make you an outsider, in a way, when you live in the south.  At the beginning, when I moved to Montreal, I was so excited to live in a big city, to meet new people, learn new languages, live new experiences, eat new food and on and on. But after a while, you ask yourself questions. Me, what am I, really? I feel I missed out so much by leaving my family, my little cousins, my friends. When it gets dark and Christmas is coming, I start to think about my family… but I’m still such an independent person. So one side of me is longing but the other side of me made a decision of living with that decision. I am happy where I am, but certainly I bring the North with me in my personal life. I am very connected, but I don’t always share it. Songwriting becomes interesting when you open this little bubble, more fragile, more vulnerable, all this ancient culture becomes my guard. For me, the North is a source of inspiration and challenge.

Ane Brun: I was 19 when I moved away from my small town. I didn’t look back until I started longing a few years ago. Nature is also different in Sweden. I’m kind of moving away from the big cities more and more because I have done it for 25 years and I still access it through my work. Oslo is a big city of course, but not as big as Stockholm is. I don’t feel the same way in Oslo. For sure, the things that I grew up with are carried around with me.

Elisapie. Photo: Jonathan Brisebois

Elisapie: The first time I heard your music was a while ago. A friend of mine told me that I must hear your music. And I did, it really dit hit me then. I really love your music, I think you have a very singular voice,  every time you do new music, it’s very strong. I’m just curious to know, who did you listen to? We all have many influences, but you must have one person that made your voice the way it is, that emotion that you have, that you connect to?

Ane Brun: I think there are quite a few! First, my mother is one of them, she is a musician, she sings and plays piano. She’s quite bold in her singing… and growing up like that, I didn’t sing and make my music until my twenties. I didn’t think myself about singing until I turn 20. And didn’t think about my influences until more recently, but now I know that my childhood must  have influence me a lot. I think it’s a big mix of everything. Jazz singers for the phrasing in a different genre, and big stars like Annie Lennox, and also more whispering and obscure singers. So it’s a mix of many things, you know. When I first heard my voice on tape, I liked it. It has developed on its standing point, I tried to expand it all the time, always tried to explore with the microphone, reverb, etc. and  explore what it could do. My sound have been developed by me listening, trying to fine something warm and connecting. 

Elisapie: You made many albums, it’s amazing. Where do you think you are now with your expression? 

Ane Brun: I made two albums released this fall. I really tried to do two different outputs,  the second coming now (November 27) is more relaxed. I tried different things and I observe that my voice is more versatile now. I can do a lot with it, it’s something that I developed through live shows. So the two new albums have been recorded in the same cycle. At first I was going to record one album, and I had 16 songs. The songs on the first album are bigger sounding, you can move to it, lots of beats, more elaborate production. And then in the studio, a few songs didn’t want to be that big. So I let them become small. And then I listen the recordings and I wasn’t happy with three of the “big songs”. I also made them small songs, and I finally had other small songs, enough not to be released at the same time. So I decided to make two albums from the same cycle of music. We released one different song each month during the last months, so we had many singles. Releasing all those singles was an experiment, we didn’t know if it would be too much, and it finally worked out really well. It created a momentum. When the first album came out a few weeks ago, people were still interested. 

Elisapie: I love that you have your own label! I also love the idea of releasing two albums almost at the same time. People are so afraid to try new things!

Ane Brun: Yeah! It’s  a good thing, actually. It’s been very interesting for us as a label, we combined the old way and new way to release my music. 

PAN M 360: Could we have a few more words about the second album, with those songs that wanted to be small ?

Ane Brun: My father passed away. I first shut down and took a break. When I started writing , a moment after, big life questions came up. Midlife, roots, missing my own country, my little town, etc. The lyrics are about griefs, also existentialism, I’ve been kind of my own philosopher, my own Buddha. A lot of of big issues are on these albums. Weirdly enough, this year brought up similar questions as well, so those songs are still relevant, even though they were written last year!  Some journalist said that the most recent album is very empathetic and the previous one is darker. Indeed, the new small songs are more empathetic, those songs didn’t want to be big and roaring, they wanted to be like whispers. That’s what they’re supposed to be for people. It’s quite sad sometimes, but it is also comforting and soft. While the other one can be quite dramatic, it also connected with the same big issues, but with a different output.

Ane Brun. Photo: Stian Andersen

Elisapie: It’s almost like you are comforting yourself! 

Ane Brun: As you say! And yes, I tried something different. About yourself, Elisapie, did you sing as a teenager? 

Elisapie: Like you, Ane, I experienced the singer in me later on, which was a good thing. I was around 23. New life for an Inuk girl, identity crisis and more… Of course, I’ve sung since I was a kid, I did it first at the church… I liked it because that was the only place where I could sing! And we didn’t have music school or other institutions to learn music. There was also my amazing uncle’s rock band, so I loved music as a teenager. But I was so shy that it took me a long time tell myself, yeah, I could sing.

Ane Brun: I just watched your Tiny Desk session. Great!

Elisapie: Thank you!  It happened a year ago and my last album was out two years ago. Probably new things will be added this year in my creative agenda. Since spring, I was supposed to write new songs, but I couldn’t – many things happened, especially for Indigenous people in Quebec. A lot of awareness and also tragic things happened in the Indigeno-sphere, in the lights of Black Lives Matters. An event has been very important: an Indigenous woman died in a regional hospital after having been badly treated, in such an horrible manner. But she filmed her bad treatment with her phone before dying, so it shocked everybody here. There is now a movement called Justice for Joyce (her name) and it touches many people, even including children at elementary schools. “Hello Elisapie, I’m singing a song in Inuktitut!”, a kid told me. In my oldest daughter’s high school, teachers spoke about this tragic event and all this ugliness. Also, people get more and more aware of relocation of Indigenous people in the past, and also horrible treatment in residential schools over many years. So all this new awareness is very positive. Hopefully this winter, I will shut up and write new songs in my little bubble, inspired by the wind and other natural elements.

Ane Brun: Maybe you will also be inspired by those events.

Elisapie: Yeah! By some hope and some beauty. There is a lot of beauty that needs to come out.

Ane Brun: Will you write in Inuktitut?

Elisapie: I have a feeling that my Inuktitut is not limited as it was. Our language is very simple, very day tot day. Having a kind of Bob Dylan poetical approach is not a very Inuit way of seeing things, but… I think so much is going on, I find new vocabulary in our language. It will be much more fun for me, playing with words. So yeah, the elastic is looser.

Ane Brun: Maybe you are partly responsible for  this expansion of the language.

Elisapie: Yeah, possibly! People want to hear who we are, much more than, “Okay she’s from the cold.” We are also human beings with feelings, passionate, intense. We are all much more than people from the cold and the white snow. So Ane, let’s keep in touch!

Ane Brun: Yes! I will talk to music festival organizers to invite you to Scandinavia! 

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Ane Brun et Elisapie : entre femmes du Nord

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

PAN M 360 vous convie à une conversation entre femmes du Nord : Ane Brun, jointe à Oslo et qui vient de lancer deux albums de chansons, et Elisapie, artiste inuite installée à Montréal.

renseignements supplémentaires

Crédits photos : Stian Andersen et Vanessa Heins

Y a-t-il une sensibilité commune entre femmes artistes aux origines septentrionales ? Avec le concours de notre collègue et ami Jeremy Spellazon, PAN M 360 a cru pertinent de réunir deux autrices, compositrices et interprètes aux origines arctiques, aimés et reconnues au sud du cercle polaire comme on le sait. L’arrière-grand-mère d’Ane Brunvoll, mieux connue sous le diminutif d’Ane Brun (qui se prononce An-ha Broon), était issue du peuple Sami vivant dans les régions arctiques de Scandinavie. Elisapie, elle, est inuite à part entière et curieuse d’échanger avec son interlocutrice norvégienne ayant vécu deux décennies en Suède et envisageant quitter Stockholm pour s’établir à Oslo où vit son conjoint.

Ane Brun et Elisapie ont courtoisement accepté notre proposition que voici, l’autre prétexte étant la sortie imminente de deux albums de chansons inédites, signées Ane Brun, provenant d’un même cycle de création : After the Great Storm et How Beauty Holds the Hand of Sorrow, sous étiquette Balloon Ranger.

PAN M 360 : Merci beaucoup, mesdames, d’avoir accepté notre invitation ! La première question est au cœur du thème de cette rencontre : y a-t-il une sensibilité commune aux artistes du grand Nord ?

ELISAPIE : Oui, je le pense ! Ayant été à Kautokaino dans le nord de la Norvège, j’ai vécu un sentiment étrange à cette époque quand j’ai découvert que l’humour du peuple Sami était le même que celui de mon peuple au Nunavik. Oh ! mon Dieu, c’était si proche ! Je n’y suis pas allée pour chanter mais pour le tournage d’un film documentaire. Mon plus grand regret est de ne pas avoir travaillé assez fort pour faire bouger les choses dans les pays nordiques. Mais, la prochaine fois !

ANE BRUN : Quel était le sujet du documentaire ?

ELISAPIE : C’était un film sur les populations du cercle polaire qui m’a donné l’occasion d’aller en Alaska, en Sibérie, au Groenland, en Norvège et dans le nord du Canada. En Norvège, j’ai pu manger des plats à base de rennes, j’ai adoré ça ! C’était une expérience formidable ! Et toi, Ane, viens-tu du nord de la Norvège ?

ANE BRUN : Non, j’ai grandi à Molde, à mi-chemin entre le sud et le nord de la Norvège, mais la famille de ma mère est du nord, à une heure de route de Tromsø. Sa grand-mère était samie, notre lignée est directe.

PAN M 360 : De façon plus précise, qu’est-ce que le peuple Sami a en commun avec les Inuits du Nunavik ?

ELISAPIE : La première chose que j’ai sentie, c’est le rythme très apaisant. C’est un territoire différent du territoire Sami, mais la présence des gens est assez similaire. Je veux dire que les gens y vivent dans le moment présent. Et aussi quand vous vivez quelque chose avec des Samis et qu’une amitié est possible, celle-ci ne se vit pas à moitié. Comme s’il y avait quelque chose de gravé à tout jamais. Les gens s’ouvrent très vite. Les Inuits vivent la même ouverture dans mon village autochtone. Une fois que vous êtes dans leur monde et leur environnement, tout est ouvert. C’est ce que j’ai ressenti aussi en Norvège, je faisais partie de la famille.

Elisapie. Crédit photo : Jonathan Brisebois

ANE BRUN : C’est bien ! Nous, les Norvégiens, ne connaissons pas la langue samie. Il y a encore une barrière, nous n’avons pas vraiment accès à l’ambiance qui règne là-haut. D’ailleurs, la langue samie est très présente dans le Nord, il y a une présence samie au gouvernement, on entend la langue samie à la télévision, mais elle est toujours sous-titrée.    

ELISAPIE : C’est la même chose ici au Canada. L’inuktitut est l’une des langues les plus difficiles à apprendre. Vous savez, je pensais qu’il y aurait des racines communes à nos deux langues, mais non, la langue samie est totalement différente de l’inuktitut.

ANE BRUN : Personnellement, je n’ai jamais été dans la culture samie, même si mon arrière-grand-mère était samie. Par ailleurs, ma mère a essayé de redécouvrir cette culture, elle a tenté de se rapprocher de certains parents et a commencé à fouiller l’histoire de notre famille, ce qu’elle a fait du vivant de sa grand-mère. Il était assez difficile d’être un Sami durant sa vie, il y avait beaucoup de discrimination. Tu connais la chanteuse Mari Boine ? Même pour sa génération, ç’a été dur. Jusqu’à récemment, les Samis étaient obligés de parler le norvégien, d’aller à l’école norvégienne, il y avait des attentes aussi sur le plan religieux et une forme d’assimilation culturelle. En Suède et en Norvège, la façon dont les autochtones étaient traités est vraiment regrettable. Ç’a changé, mais il n’y a pas très longtemps. J’imagine que certains des ancêtres de ma mère ne voulaient pas vivre en tant que Sami parce que c’était vraiment dur, mais ma mère voulait redécouvrir cette culture et elle a repris contact avec des parents et a ainsi appris à connaître la tribu d’où nous venons. Depuis, les gens de ma génération ont été informés de cette inégalité, mais ça s’est fait tout récemment. Il y a eu un grand film suédois intitulé Sami Blood qui nous a aussi fait beaucoup réfléchir à ce sujet. J’ai moi-même eu l’occasion de chanter avec Mari Boine ainsi qu’avec Sofia Jannok, une autre artiste samie – Sofia a eu l’autorisation de Bon Iver de traduire certaines de ses chansons en langue samie, elle a donc fait un EP de chansons de Bon Iver et j’ai pu chanter en sami avec elle. Avec Mari Boine également. Nous avons écrit une chanson ensemble pour une émission de télévision où des artistes scandinaves étaient jumelés à des artistes samis. Nous avons ensuite eu trois jours pour écrire la chanson, ce qui m’a donné l’occasion de mieux connaître l’étonnante Mari Boine. C’est devenu une belle chanson, dans laquelle elle utilise le chant traditionnel joik.

ELISAPIE : Moi aussi, j’ai rencontré Mari Boine. J’ai fait la première partie de son spectacle en Belgique. Elle a quelque chose de magique, sa présence est presque effrayante !

PAN M 360 : Comment avez-vous pu toutes les deux reconnaître les aspects nordiques de votre métier ?

ELISAPIE : Je pense que c’est inconscient mais… Si j’écris une chanson, il faut que je puisse regarder dehors, je dois avoir une fenêtre pour voir le ciel. D’où je viens, il n’y a pas d’arbres et beaucoup d’horizon. J’ai quitté le Nord quand j’avais 23 ans et il est toujours très présent à mon esprit. La vie est dure dans mon village, le taux de suicide est élevé, les gens essaient de se reprendre en main. Il y a cette dimension nordique partout où je vais et où je suis. Même maintenant, à Montréal, j’apprends à mieux me connaître. Et je pense que mes racines sont beaucoup plus présentes. J’ai trois enfants maintenant, il y a beaucoup de choses que je cherche depuis que je suis mère et, curieusement, je me sens plus inuk que jamais. Je ne vis pas selon les traditions de mon peuple (nourriture, chasse, etc.) au quotidien, mais j’y pense à cette vie quand j’écris mes chansons. J’essaie d’être dans l’instant, de ne pas trop intellectualiser mon travail quand je crée. Je pense que c’est une façon nordique de voir les choses.

Ane Brun. Crédit photo : Stian Andersen

ANE BRUN : Pour moi, l’inspiration du Nord, c’est aussi la nature. Je suis en contact avec la nature. Toi et moi, Elisapie, avons aussi le même âge, j’ai consulté ton profil dans Wikipédia (rires). Nous sommes toutes deux au mitan de notre vie. J’ai vécu en Suède pendant 20 ans et je suis sur le point de retourner en Norvège parce que mon partenaire habite Oslo (où je suis actuellement). Depuis deux ou trois ans, j’ai pu renouer avec mes racines norvégiennes.  La Suède n’est pas très loin, mais elle est différente, tout comme son histoire, alors j’ai eu envie d’y revenir. Je me sens connectée à ces vingt premières années de ma vie, de la même façon que tu te sens connectée à tes racines. C’est pourquoi je parle beaucoup de la nature dans mes textes. J’ai grandi dans un endroit magnifique avec ses fjords, la mer et les montagnes. Et je sais que quand j’écris à propos de grandes émotions, la nature est le premier élément qui se présente, c’est le vent, l’eau, la mer, les vagues, les montagnes, le temps qu’il fait. Je me souviens d’avoir étudié le compositeur norvégien Edvard Grieg quand j’étais adolescente, mes professeurs parlaient de l’importance de la nature dans sa musique et je ne comprenais pas à l’époque. Aujourd’hui, quand je jette un regard sur ma propre musique, je comprends. Le fait d’avoir la nature si proche de moi m’inspire, m’anime.

ELISAPIE : C’est super la façon dont tu parles de la nature ! J’ai aussi beaucoup d’anori (vent, en inuktitut) dans mes chansons. Le vent purifie ! Les éléments naturels peuvent être très rudes dans le Nord mais aussi très beaux et symboliques. C’est la même chose pour moi. Je suis davantage en contact avec cette dimension dans mes chansons.

ANE BRUN : L’obscurité dans le Nord pendant l’hiver est également importante. Nous sommes sur le point d’entrer dans la période la plus sombre de l’année, le soleil se couche à 15 h…

PAN M 360 : Que pensez-vous des artistes du Grand Nord qui habitent dans les grandes villes ?

ELISAPIE : Le Nord ne nous quitte jamais même quand on habite les grandes villes. Le Nord est magnifique, rude, dur, spectaculaire, ces éléments très puissants font de vous une sorte d’étranger quand vous vivez plus au Sud.  Au début, quand j’ai emménagé à Montréal, j’étais tellement excitée de vivre dans une grande ville, de rencontrer des gens nouveaux, d’apprendre de nouvelles langues, de vivre de nouvelles expériences, de manger de nouveaux plats, etc. Mais au bout d’un certain temps, on se pose des questions. Qui suis-je vraiment ? J’avais l’impression de rater tant de choses en ayant quitté ma famille, mes petits cousins, mes amis. Quand la nuit tombe et que Noël approche, je commence à penser à ma famille… tout en demeurant une personne farouchement indépendante. Il y a un côté de moi qui se languit, mais l’autre côté a pris une décision et vit avec ces conséquences. Je suis heureuse là où je suis, mais le Nord est partout dans ma vie personnelle. Même si je suis en relation avec plein de monde, je ne le partage pas toujours. L’écriture de chansons devient intéressante quand elle donne accès à cette petite bulle, plus fragile, plus vulnérable, toute cette culture ancienne devient alors une sorte de rempart. Pour moi, le Nord est une source d’inspiration et de défi.

ANE BRUN : J’avais 19 ans quand j’ai quitté ma petite ville. Je n’ai pas regardé en arrière jusqu’à ce que je commence à me languir il y a quelques années. En Suède aussi, la nature est différente. Je m’éloigne de plus en plus des grandes villes, c’est ce que je fais depuis 25 ans, mais j’y vais encore pour mon travail. Oslo est une grande ville, bien sûr, mais pas aussi grande que Stockholm. Je ne ressens pas la même chose à Oslo. En même temps, les choses avec lesquelles j’ai grandi, je les porte en moi.

Elisapie. Crédit photo : Jonathan Brisebois

ELISAPIE : La première fois que j’ai entendu ta musique, c’était il y a longtemps, un de mes amis me l’avait recommandée, et elle m’a beaucoup frappée. Ta musique me plaît beaucoup, je pense que tu as une voix très singulière. Chaque fois que tu proposes quelque chose de nouveau, c’est très fort. Je suis curieuse de savoir qui sont les artistes que tu as écoutés et qui t’ont inspirée. Nous avons tous beaucoup d’influences, mais il doit y avoir une personne qui t’a aidée à trouver ta voix, cette qualité d’émotion que tu as, à laquelle tu te connectes ?

ANE BRUN : Il y en a de nombreuses ! Il y a d’abord, ma mère. Elle est musicienne, elle chante et joue du piano. Elle est assez audacieuse dans sa façon de chanter… j’ai grandi en l’écoutant, et je n’ai pas chanté ni fait de la musique avant l’âge de vingt ans. Je n’ai pas eu envie de chanter avant d’avoir 20 ans. Ce n’est que tout récemment que je me suis mise à penser à mes influences, mais je sais maintenant que mon enfance exerce une grande influence. C’est un mélange de plein de choses. Il y a les chanteurs et chanteuses de jazz pour leur phrasé, et de grandes stars comme Annie Lennox, mais aussi des chanteurs et chanteuses qui sont plus confidentiels dans leur expression, plus obscurs. C’est donc un mélange de nombreuses choses. Quand j’ai entendu ma voix sur bande pour la première fois, elle m’a plu. Elle s’est beaucoup développée depuis le début. Tout ce temps, j’ai essayé de lui faire prendre de l’ampleur, d’explorer ses possibilités à l’aide d’un microphone, de l’effet de réverbération, etc. et ce que je peux en tirer. Mon son, je l’ai développé en m’écoutant, en essayant de trouver quelque chose de chaud qui permette de connecter.

ELISAPIE : Tu as fait beaucoup d’albums, c’est étonnant ! Où penses-tu être rendue maintenant sur le plan de l’expression ?

ANE BRUN : J’ai sorti deux albums cet automne en essayant de faire deux lancements différents. Le deuxième, qui vient de paraître (le 27 novembre), est plus détendu. J’ai tenté différentes choses et j’ai remarqué que ma voix est plus polyvalente maintenant. Je peux faire beaucoup de choses avec elle, c’est quelque chose que j’ai développé au fil des spectacles. Ces deux nouveaux albums font partie du même cycle. Au départ, je me proposais d’enregistrer un album et j’avais 16 chansons. Les chansons du premier album ont un son plus ample et donnent envie de bouger, beaucoup de rythme avec une production plus élaborée. En studio, certaines chansons ne se prêtaient pas à ce traitement, je les ai donc laissées « petites ». Quand j’ai écouté les enregistrements, il y avait trois « grosses chansons » dont je n’étais pas satisfaite. Je les ai donc refaites et j’ai ensuite ajouté encore d’autres petites chansons; j’en avais assez pour justifier un deuxième album. J’ai donc décidé de faire deux albums à partir du même cycle musical. Ces derniers mois, nous avons sorti une nouvelle chanson chaque mois, nous avions donc beaucoup de simples. Sortir tous ces simples a été une expérience, nous ne savions pas si ce serait trop et, finalement, ç’a très bien marché. Ç’a créé une dynamique. Quand le premier album est sorti il y a quelques semaines, le public était toujours intéressé.

ELISAPIE : Je trouve ça super que tu aies ton propre label ! Et aussi l’idée de sortir deux albums presque en même temps. Les gens ont tellement peur d’essayer de nouvelles choses !

ANE BRUN : Oui ! C’est une bonne chose en fait. Ç’a été très intéressant pour nous en tant que label, nous avons combiné une ancienne et une nouvelle façon de publier ma musique.

PAN M 360 : Pourrais-tu nous parler de ce deuxième album et de ses chansons qui se voulaient plus petites ?

ANE BRUN : Quand mon père est décédé, j’ai tout arrêté. Puis, j’ai commencé à écrire et les grandes questions ont surgi. Le mitan de la vie, mes racines, le fait que mon propre pays, ma petite ville me manquaient, etc. Mes paroles parlent de deuil, mais aussi d’existentialisme. Je suis en quelque sorte mon propre philosophe, mon propre Bouddha. J’aborde beaucoup de grandes questions sur ces albums. Bizarrement, cette année a également soulevé des questions similaires, ces chansons sont donc toujours d’actualité même si elles ont été écrites l’année dernière ! Un journaliste a dit que le plus récent album est très empathique et que le précédent est plus sombre. En effet, les petites chansons nouvelles sont plus empathiques, elles ne voulaient pas être grandes et grondantes, elles se voulaient plus discrètes. C’est ce qu’elles sont censées être pour les gens. Elles sont assez tristes parfois, mais elles sont aussi douces et réconfortantes. Alors que celles de l’autre album peuvent être assez dramatiques. Elles aussi sont reliées aux mêmes grandes questions, mais le résultat est différent.

Ane Brun. Crédit photo : Stian Andersen

ELISAPIE : C’est presque comme si tu te réconfortais toi-même !

ANE BRUN : Comme tu dis !  Et, oui, j’ai essayé quelque chose de différent. Mais toi, Elisapie, chantais-tu quand tu étais adolescente ?  

ELISAPIE : Comme toi, Ane, je n’ai découvert la chanteuse en moi que plus tard, ce qui est une bonne chose. J’avais 23 ans. Nouvelle vie pour une jeune Inuk, crise d’identité et tout le bazar… Bien sûr, je chante depuis que je suis petite, d’abord à l’église… J’aimais ça parce que c’était le seul endroit où je pouvais chanter ! Et nous n’avions pas d’école de musique ou d’autres institutions pour apprendre la musique. Il y avait aussi l’épatant groupe de rock de mon oncle, j’aimais donc déjà la musique quand j’étais adolescente, mais j’étais tellement timide que j’ai mis du temps à croire que, oui, je pouvais chanter.  

ANE BRUN : Je viens de regarder ta session de Tiny Desk, super !

ELISAPIE : Merci ! Ça s’est passé il y a un an et mon dernier album est sorti il y a deux ans. De nouvelles choses s’ajouteront sans doute à mon agenda créatif cette année. Depuis le printemps, je suis censée écrire de nouvelles chansons, mais je n’y arrive pas. Beaucoup de choses se sont produites, en particulier pour les autochtones du Québec. Beaucoup de prises de conscience en même temps que des choses tragiques se sont produites dans l’univers autochtone, à la lumière de Black Lives Matters. Un événement a été très important : une femme autochtone est morte dans un hôpital régional des mauvais traitements qu’elle a subis, l’horreur. Mais avant de mourir, à l’aide de son téléphone elle a pu filmer ces mauvais traitements qu’on lui infligeait, et ç’a créé une onde de choc ici. Il existe maintenant un mouvement appelé Justice pour Joyce (son nom) et il touche de nombreuses personnes, y compris les enfants des écoles primaires. « Bonjour Elisapie, je chante une chanson en inuktitut ! », m’a dit un enfant. À l’école secondaire de ma fille aînée, les enseignants ont parlé de cet événement tragique et de toute cette laideur. Les gens sont aussi de plus en plus conscients de la relocalisation des populations autochtones qui a eu lieu dans le passé et de toutes les horreurs qui ont été vécues dans les pensionnats pendant des années. Toute cette nouvelle prise de conscience est très positive. J’espère que cet hiver, je saurai me taire et écrirai de nouvelles chansons dans ma petite bulle, inspirée par le vent et la nature.

ANE BRUN : Peut-être seras-tu aussi inspirée par ces événements.

ELISAPIE : Oui ! Par un certain espoir et une certaine beauté. Il y a beaucoup de beauté qui demande à s’exprimer.

ANE BRUN : Vas-tu écrire en inuktitut ?

ELISAPIE : J’ai le sentiment que mon inuktitut n’est pas aussi limité qu’il l’était. Notre langue est très simple, très quotidienne. Avoir une approche poétique à la Bob Dylan n’est pas une façon très inuite de voir les choses mais… il se passe tellement de choses que je découvre du nouveau vocabulaire dans notre langue. Ce sera beaucoup plus amusant pour moi de jouer avec les mots. Donc, oui, l’élastique est plus lâche.

ANE BRUN : Peut-être es-tu en partie responsable de cette expansion de la langue.

ELISAPIE : Oui, c’est possible ! Les gens veulent entendre qui nous sommes surtout, pas qu’on vient du froid. Nous sommes aussi des êtres humains avec des sentiments, passionnés, intenses. Nous sommes tous beaucoup plus que des gens qui viennent d’un pays de froid et de neige blanche. Alors, Ane, restons en contact !

ANE BRUN : Oui ! Je vais parler à des organisateurs de festivals de musique pour qu’ils t’invitent en Scandinavie !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre