×

Akurion: A Labour of Love

Interview by Christine Fortier

Akurion first appeared in 2015 on a promotional CD featuring the song “Yet Ye See Them Not”. The years went by with no indication as to whether the band would ever see the light of day again. We now know that between the formation of Akurion in 2012 and the release of “Come Forth to Me” on April 10, 2020, the founding members, guitarist Rob Milley (Neuraxis, Necrotic Mutation) and singer Mike DiSalvo (Come Cluster Void, ex-Cryptopsy), went through a period of mourning. It must also be said that the other musicians of this supergroup, bassist Oli Pinard (Cryptopsy, Cattle Decapitation, Vengeful) and drummer Tommy McKinnon (Conflux), haven’t been twiddling their thumbs.

Genres and styles : metal

Additional Information

PAN M 360: The album was written and recorded before the passing of important people in your life. Mike, it was your wife, and Rob, it was your dad. How does it feel to promote it?

Mike Di Salvo: What’s past is past. You know, personally speaking, I live in every day. It’s in the past, so when I listen to that record, it’s a record that speaks to me of perseverance and strength. We were one unit that put this album out together, even through all that craziness that was happening. It’s an album that I can listen to and feel quite good about, actually. 

Rob Milley: I can never be in Mike’s shoes and he’s not in my shoes, but, basically, the album is like a moment in time for all of our lives, and unfortunately, some sad events happened. Now that the album is out – and I only speak for myself – but it’s kind of putting a finality to whatever I was feeling through the making of it. I definitely feel good, now that the album is out. That, in a way, I can move on?

PAN M 360: If we say that an album captures a moment in time, do you feel that Come Forth to Me is still prevailing because you began working on it in 2012 and we are now 2020? 

MD: The album is still fresh to me, even though we started this up in 2012. I think it’s sort of a testament of my belief in the record and the songs. When I listen to it, there’s not a moment where I want to fast-forward through it. The record was built through a bonding, you know. We wrote this album collectively, even though Rob and I had some ideas before we brought the other two in [bassist Oli Pinard and drummer Tommy McKinnon], but ultimately, this is a real testament of four people putting together an album that in the end I still feel is very, very fresh. 

PAN M 360: Did you have a goal when you started working together?

RM: It was basically just me and Mike. We just wanted to get together for the pure goal of creating music. Just the creativity, not to make a name for ourselves or anything like that. It was just to create music together because we’ve been friends for a long time and were also jamming prior to that. It was just pure creativity, right, Mike?

MD: Yeah, it was for the love of music. Rob would come in with songs pretty much already seasoned out. And then, I had some words. We crafted the two together and then it just spun out to where we are now.

PAN M 360: Did you want to explore a specific style of music together, or just go with the flow?

MD: Everything that you hear on the record was by design. We didn’t want something that was gonna be cookie-cutter, everything just sort of 1-2-3-4. We did want something that was gonna be technically sound, but also progressive in ways that could expand the sound and head in different directions. These songs were written for us. So that’s the starting point. We wanted to expand on the sound and bring people into another territory that perhaps they wouldn’t be expecting. I think that we achieved what we were looking for.

RM: We spent about four to five years, taking our time, like Mike was saying. We were doing it for ourselves. There was no deadline, where we had to have something finished and then maybe have regrets after. We took as much time as we thought we needed and that’s why we’re saying that we are very, very satisfied. 

PAN M 360: You could have worked another five years.

MD: That’s true! (laughs)

PAN M 360: So who told you to stop?

RM: We could have, but I mean, we also realized that we felt like it was nearing the completion. We can tell these songs are now complete. You asked about our goals, and one of our main goals was to record this album with all the musicians together in one room. Kind of old-school, like they used to. So that when we listen to the album, we can actually feel the human energy. I don’t want to sound mystical but you can feel it’s humans playing this. Not like nowadays, everybody recording everything on a computer where everything is separated and it’s very robotic. 

PAN M 360: My favourite song on the album is “Souvenir Gardens”. This is your cinematic song.

MD: I think that’s largely thanks to Luc Lemay’s talent and generosity. We had been speaking with Luc, because we are obviously big fans of his. He was also very motivated and interested in doing something for us. When we heard the results of what he sent us, we were blown away! Basically, we were not expecting what we heard, in a good way. It is very cinematic in a way, and it complements perfectly the rest of the songs, once it gets into the heaviness. It’s a perfect combination to have that.

PAN M 360: The first songs on the album reflect what I was expecting from Akurion. Then come “Souvenir Gardens”, that show us that Akurion is more than that.

MD: We did want that, for sure. We did want people to have a journey with this album. We wanted to have an experience that was going to hopefully bring something new to the table. Then again, when we were putting this album together we weren’t thinking about what people were gonna think. It was really if we’re listening to this, we want to have this soundscape, this projecting kind of album that brings you in different directions at every turn. Then, of course, once everything is realized, then you can start to sort of say, well, hopefully people fall on the same sort of path that we’ve been on.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Akurion : un album fait avec cœur

Interview réalisé par Christine Fortier

Akurion s’est d’abord manifesté en 2015 sur un CD promotionnel comprenant la chanson Yet Ye See Them Not. Les années ont ensuite passé sans qu’on sache si le groupe verrait le jour. On sait maintenant qu’entre la formation d’Akurion en 2012 et la sortie de Come Forth to Me le 10 avril 2020, les membres fondateurs, le guitariste Rob Milley (Neuraxis, Necrotic Mutation) et le chanteur Mike DiSalvo (Come Cluster Void, ex-Cryptopsy) ont vécu des deuils. Il faut dire aussi que les autres musiciens de ce supergroupe, le bassiste Oli Pinard (Cryptopsy, Cattle Decapitation, Vengeful) et le batteur Tommy McKinnon (Conflux), ne se tournent pas les pouces.

Genres et styles : metal

renseignements supplémentaires

PAN M 360 : Come Forth to Me a été enregistré avant le décès de personnes importantes pour vous. Mike, ta femme est décédée, et Rob, ton père aussi. Comment vous sentez-vous à faire la promotion de cet album?

Mike Di Salvo : Ce qui est passé est passé et je vis dans le présent. Quand j’écoute cet album, il me parle de force et de persévérance. Ensemble, on a réussi à le faire malgré tout qui est arrivé, et quand je l’écoute, je peux dire que j’en suis satisfait.

Rob Milley : Je ne pourrai jamais me mettre à la place de Mike et lui se mettre à la mienne, mais en gros, l’album représente un moment dans nos vies malheureusement marqué par des événements tristes. Maintenant que l’album est sorti – et je parle seulement pour moi – c’est comme si ça mettait une conclusion à tout ce que j’ai vécu en le faisant. Je suis content qu’il soit terminé, maintenant je peux passer à autre chose.   

PAN M 360 : Si on dit qu’un album capte un moment précis dans le temps, avez-vous l’impression que Come Forth to Me est toujours actuel puisque vous avez commencé à y travailler en 2012 et qu’on est en 2020?

Mike : L’album reste frais à mes oreilles même si on l’a commencé en 2012. Je pense que ça montre bien la confiance que j’ai en ce disque et ses chansons. Quand je l’écoute, il n’y a pas un moment où j’ai envie de sauter une chanson. Le disque a été construit grâce une amitié. On l’a écrit collectivement même si Rob et moi avions déjà des idées avant l’arrivée des deux autres (N.D.L.R. : le bassiste Oli Pinard et le batteur Tommy McKinnon), mais au bout du compte, c’est le produit du travail de quatre personnes et l’album qui en résulte reste encore très très frais.

PAN M 360 : Aviez-vous un objectif quand vous avez commencé à travailler ensemble?

Rob : Au début, c’était juste Mike et moi. On voulait juste faire de la musique ensemble. Juste pour le plaisir de la création, pas pour se faire un nom ou quoi que ce soit du genre. On voulait juste créer de la musique ensemble parce qu’on est des amis depuis longtemps et qu’on avait déjà « jammé » ensemble avant. Juste pour le plaisir, pas vrai, Mike?

Mike : Oui, c’était pour l’amour de la musique. Rob arrivait avec des chansons qui étaient déjà pas mal complètes et moi, j’ajoutais quelques paroles. On a assemblé le tout et voilà où ça nous a menés.

PAN M 360 : Vouliez-vous explorer un style précis de musique ou simplement y aller comme ça venait?

Mike : Tout ce qui est sur l’album a été conçu tel qu’on l’entend. On ne voulait pas quelque chose de préfabriqué, pas de la musique à numéros. On voulait quelque chose de techniquement solide, mais aussi qui puisse amener les chansons dans différentes directions. Ces chansons ont été écrites pour nous. C’est le point de départ, mais on voulait également développer le son et amener les gens vers des territoires inattendus. Je pense que nous y sommes arrivés.

Rob : On a passé 4-5 ans à prendre notre temps, comme dit Mike. On l’a fait pour nous. Comme on n’avait pas d’échéance, on ne se sentait pas obligés de terminer quelque chose pour risquer de le regretter ensuite. On a pris tout le temps dont on avait besoin et c’est pour ça qu’on peut dire qu’on est très, très satisfaits.

PAN M 360 : Vous auriez pu travailler sur les chansons 5 ans de plus! 

Mike : C’est vrai ! (rires)

PAN M 360 : Qui vous a dit d’arrêter?

Rob : Ç’aurait pu être nous. En fait, quand ç’a été presque terminé, on l’a senti. On peut dire que ces chansons sont maintenant terminées. Tu nous as demandé si nous avions un objectif? L’un d’eux était d’enregistrer l’album avec tous les musiciens dans la même pièce. Un peu comme ça se faisait avant, de sorte que lorsqu’on écoute l’album, on peut sentir l’énergie humaine. Je ne veux pas avoir l’air d’un mystique, mais on sent que ce sont des êtres humains qui jouent les chansons. Pas comme souvent d’aujourd’hui où tout est enregistré sur ordinateur et ensuite séparé et où ça sonne très robotique. 

PAN M 360 : Ma chanson favorite est Souvenir Gardens. C’est votre chanson la plus cinématographique.

Mike : Je pense que c’est en grande partie grâce au talent et à la générosité de Luc Lemay (Gorguts). On a contacté Luc parce qu’on est de grands fans de son travail. Il était aussi très motivé et désireux de travailler avec nous. Quand on a entendu le résultat de ses efforts, ça nous a soufflés! On ne s’attendait pas à être si agréablement surpris. Elle est très cinématographique en effet et cadre bien avec les autres chansons lorsqu’elle devient plus pesante. C’est une combinaison parfaite.

PAN M 360 : Les premières chansons de l’album reflètent ce à quoi je m’attendais d’Akurion. Puis arrive Souvenir Gardens qui montre qu’Akurion est bien davantage.

Mike : C’est ce qu’on voulait. On voulait faire voyager les gens avec cet album. On voulait que ce soit une expérience qui amène quelque chose de nouveau. Mais quand on faisait l’album, on ne pensait pas à ce que les gens allaient en penser. C’était plutôt, on veut avoir tel paysage sonore, le genre d’album qui nous projette dans toutes sortes de directions inattendues. Et puis, évidemment, quand tout a été fait, on a commencé à se dire : « espérons que les gens seront prêts à nous suivre dans ces directions-là ».

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre