×

Listings 360

Full listings 360
  • No results

Pro Musica : First concert of 2022 with Andrew Wan

Sun 23 Jan 2022 • 03:00 pm Classical
Centre Phi - Montréal Regular: $55 - 65 and over : $49 - 35 and under: $35
· by Rédaction PAN M 360

The new season of Pro Musica’s “Cartes blanches” series will be inaugurated by a first concert with the trio composed of Andrew Wan on violin, Brian Manker on cello, and Ilya Poletaev on piano. This concert, which will be recorded on January 23 for online broadcast, offers us a German program with works by Clara Schumann and Felix Mendelssohn.

Program :
Clara Schumann, Trio for piano, violin and cello in G minor, op.17
Felix Mendelssohn, Trio for piano, violin and cello No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49

Clara Schumann, born Clara Wieck (1819-1896) was one of the greatest musicians of the Romantic era. Wife of composer Robert Schumann, she is considered the most outstanding pianist of her time, having considerably influenced the piano repertoire. She was the primary interpreter of her husband’s works and composed over 40 works, including the one performed in this concert.

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1947), born in Hamburg, was a conductor, pianist, and composer of the early romantic period. He left a very impressive body of work for his short life of 38 years (symphonies, concerti, oratorios, piano music, and chamber music). The trio in D minor op 49 is considered one of his masterpieces.

Musicians :
Andrew Wan, violin
Brian Manker, cello
Ilya Poletaev, piano

Andrew Wan was appointed concertmaster of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) in 2008. As a soloist, he has performed throughout the world under such conductors as Vengerov, Petrenko, Labadie, Rizzi, Oundjian, Stern, and DePreist. He has performed with many artists including the Juilliard String Quartet, Repin, Hamelin, Trifonov, Pressler, Widmann, Ax, Ehnes, and Shaham.

Principal cellist with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra since 1999, Brian Manker pursues a diverse musical career as a performer and teacher. In addition to being a frequent performer with the MSO, Mr. Manker is a member of the Juno- and Opus-Award-winning New Orford String Quartet.

A musician with a fiercely inquisitive mind, impeccable technique, and an intensely poetic vision, Ilya Poletaev is equally at home on the modern piano and the historical keyboards: harpsichord, fortepiano, and chamber organ. Hailed as “one of the most important pianists of his generation” by the Süddeutsche Zeitung, he launched his career after winning first prize at the prestigious International Johann Sebastian Bach Competition in Leipzig in 2010 – the only Canadian to have won the competition.

Recording on Sunday, January 23, 2022 at 3:00 pm at the Phi Center, 315 St. Paul Street West, Montreal. Buy your tickets here.

Available online from March 6 to 20. Information and tickets here.

Pro Musica content adapted by Pan M 360.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Agenda 360

Agenda 360 complet
  • Aucun résultat

Pro Musica : premier concert de 2022 avec Andrew Wan

dim 23 Jan 2022 • 15:00 classique
Centre Phi - Montréal Tarif ordinaire : 55 $ - 65 ans et plus : 49 $ - 35 ans et moins : 35 $
· par Rédaction PAN M 360

La nouvelle saison de la série Cartes blanches de Pro Musica sera inaugurée par un premier concert avec le trio composé d’Andrew Wan au violon, Brian Manker au violoncelle et Ilya Poletaev au piano. Ce concert qui sera enregistré le 23 janvier pour une diffusion en ligne, nous propose un programme « Allemagne » avec des œuvres de Clara Schumann et Felix Mendelssohn.

Programme :
Clara Schumann, Trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle en sol mineur, op.17
Felix Mendelssohn, Trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle no. 1 en ré mineur, op. 49

Clara Schumann, née Clara Wieck (1819-1896) est l’une des plus grandes musiciennes de l’ère romantique. Épouse du compositeur Robert Schumann, elle est considérée comme la pianiste la plus remarquable de son époque, ayant considérablement influencé le répertoire pianistique. Première interprète des œuvres de son mari, elle a composé plus de 40 œuvres, dont celle interprétée lors de ce concert.

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1947), né à Hambourg, a été chef d’orchestre, pianiste et compositeur du début de la période romantique. Il laisse une œuvre très imposante pour sa courte vie de 38 ans (symphonies, concerti, oratorios, musique pour piano et musique de chambre). Le trio en ré mineur op 49 est considéré comme l’un de ses chefs d’œuvres.

Musiciens :
Andrew Wan, violon
Brian Manker, violoncelle
Ilya Poletaev, piano

Andrew Wan a été nommé violon solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) en 2008. À titre de soliste, il a joué à travers le monde sous la direction de chefs d’orchestre tels Vengerov, Petrenko, Labadie, Rizzi, Oundjian, Stern et DePreist. Il s’est produit en concert avec plusieurs artistes, dont le Juilliard String Quartet, Repin, Hamelin, Trifonov, Pressler, Widmann, Ax, Ehnes et Shaham.

Violoncelliste solo à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal depuis 1999, Brian Manker poursuit une carrière musicale diversifiée comme interprète et professeur. En plus d’être fréquemment concertiste avec l’OSM, M. Manker est membre du Nouveau Quatuor à cordes Orford, qui a été primé aux prix Juno et Opus.

Musicien à l’esprit farouchement curieux, à la technique irréprochable et à la vision intensément poétique, Ilya Poletaev est un artiste aussi à l’aise sur le piano moderne que sur les claviers historiques : clavecin, pianoforte et orgue de chambre. Salué comme « l’un des pianistes les plus importants de sa génération » par le Süddeutsche Zeitung, il a lancé sa carrière après avoir remporté le premier prix au prestigieux Concours international Johann Sebastian Bach de Leipzig en 2010 – le seul Canadien à avoir remporté ce concours.

Enregistrement le dimanche 23 janvier 2022 à 15 h au Centre Phi, 315, rue Saint-Paul Ouest, Montréal. Achetez vos billets ici.

Disponible en ligne du 6 au 20 mars. Renseignements et billets ici.

Contenu de Pro Musica adapté par Pan M 360.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre