Pays : Label : Genres et styles : Americana / Indie Pop / Pop / Synth-Pop Année :

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

· par Alain Brunet

Given the immense popular pressure, the idea is to become candidly Swiftie later, that is, at the end of this never-ending listening, listening to the album everyone’s been talking about since Friday: The Tortured Poet Department : The Anthology, Taylor Swift’s eleventh album. No matter how hard we try, we’re not sure we’ll get through it.

Of course, Tay Tay isn’t alone at the top of the pop Everest for nothing, as we’ve known for a while: she’s the absolute mirror of her generation, white, shiny, American. She is an absolute role model for the next generation: beautiful, independent, wealthy, in full control of her destiny. A conqueror’s talent, to be sure. Owner of her means of production at the highest level, capable of prodigious public image engineering. Self-reliant, feminist, tolerant and open-minded, pro-LGBTQ+, happily in love with a highly gifted NFL player. All in all, relatively progressive and hopeful in the American context of a real upcoming fascist threat.

Artistically? Tay Tay is the triumph of the self-constructed, the self-made pop superstar. It’s the total conquest of the public, which is fully satisfied with comfort food and pop efficiency at the expense of creative risk and aesthetic uniqueness. The talent of the now-billionaire lies rather in rigorous productivity (between world tours and Chiefs matches, the factory releases 31 tracks, no less), in the ability to reproduce a cool style without giving it a twang of its own.

As she points out in the title track of this 31-track album, she’s (really) not Patti Smith. Among the nicknames stuck to her, isn’t there outright The Music Industry ?

For 2 hours and 2 minutes, then, we witness (another) deployment of generic pop, stylistic exercises supervised by their own designer. This is the judicious mix of intelligent pop crafted alongside directors Jack Antonoff (Bleachers) and Aaron Dessner (The National). Pop, americana, folk pop, synth pop, indie pop.

In 2024, to the delight of the more mature hipsters who join the millions of swooning teenagers and young adults, Taylor Swift makes music from the 2000s and regurgitates it to the younger generations, thus producing an apparent unanimity where the absolute majority seem to find themselves, from the willing midinette to the self-righteous adult.

Yes, there’s a profusion of efficiently constructed songs, cleanly produced by a judicious name-dropping of producers and embellished by an array of guests: Post Malone, one of pop’s master sausage-makers, and Florence Welch, who hasn’t rewritten history either, failing to conquer vast audiences in the teeming hipster scene.

Yes, you get hooks and more hooks. Earworms squat in the auditory pavilions, we gorge ourselves on so many direct evocations, not to say imitations. Take “So Long London” or “I Can Fix It” and think a little of T-swizzle’s friend (we observed at the Grammys), the great Lana Del Rey, who has a real angle. Poetry in Taylor? Mmm yeah… maybe sometimes, but generally speaking, there are ruminated, digested and duplicated ways of doing things. This doesn’t rule out evocations of past love troubles that fans revel in, one thinks of Joe Alwyn in “So Long, London” or Matt Healy (The 1975) in “The Black Dog”. 

We listen and listen and listen to this indie pop /synth pop /americana that has become pop for the widest market, praised by millions and millions of Swifties who are not about to curb the hallucinatory enrichment of their empress, let alone question her so real reign.

Tout le contenu 360

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

Pays : Label : Genres et styles : americana / indie pop / pop / synth-pop Année :

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

· par Alain Brunet

Vu l’immense pression populaire, l’idée est de devenir candidement swiftie sur le tard, soit au terme de cette écoute qui n’en finit plus de finir, écoute de l’album dont tout le monde parle depuis vendredi: The Tortured Poet Department : The Anthology, onzième album de Taylor Swift. On a beau faire des efforts candides, vraiment pas sûr d’y parvenir.

Certes, Tay Tay n’est pas seule au sommet de l’Everest pop pour rien, nous l’avions compris depuis un moment : elle est le miroir absolu de sa génération, blanche, rutilante, américaine. Elle est un modèle absolu pour celle qui suit: belle, autonome, riche, en pleine maîtrise de sa destinée. Talent de conquérante à n’en point douter. Propriétaire de ses moyens de production à l’échelon suprême. Capable de sa prodigieuse ingénierie publique. Autonome, féministe, tolérante et ouverte, pro-LGBTQ+,  enfin heureuse en amour avec un surdoué de la NFL. Somme toute relativement progressiste et porteuse d’espoir dans le contexte américain d’une véritable menace fasciste à l’horizon.

Artistiquement ? Tay Tay est le triomphe de l’auto-construction, de l’auto-fabrication, de la self-made pop superstar. C’est la conquête totale du public qui se satisfait pleinement du comfort food chansonnier, de  l’efficacité pop au détriment du risque créatif et de l’unicité esthétique. Le talent de la désormais milliardaire se trouve plutôt dans la rigoureuse productivité (entre les tournées mondiales et les matchs des Chiefs, l’usine sort 31 titres, rien de moins), dans la capacité de reproduire un style cool sans pour autant lui conférer un twang qui lui est propre.

Comme elle l’indique dans la chansons titre de cet album constitué de 31 titres, elle n’est (vraiment) pas Patti Smith. Parmi les surnoms qu’on lui colle, n’y a-t-il pas carrément The Music Industry ?

Pendant 2 heures et 2 minutes, donc, on assiste à un (autre) déploiement de pop générique, exercices de style supervisés par leur propre conceptrice. Voilà le judicieux mélange de pop intelligente concoctée aux côtés des réalisateurs Jack Antonoff (Bleachers) et Aaron Dessner (The National). Pop, americana, folk pop, synth pop, indie pop. Ben coudon.

Au grand plaisir des hipsters les plus assagis qui se joignent aux millions d’ados et jeunes adultes pâmés, Taylor Swift fait en 2024 de la musique des années 2000 et la régurgite aux générations plus jeunes pour ainsi produite une apparente unanimité où tout la majorité absolue semble s’y retrouver, de la midinette consentante à l’adulte bien-pensant. 

Oui, il y a  profusion de chansons efficacement construites, proprement produites par un judicieux name dropping de producteurs et enjolivée par un florilège d’invités : Post Malone, un des maîtres saucissiers de la pop, ou encore Florence Welch qui n’a pas non plus réécrit l’histoire à défaut de conquérir de vastes auditoires dans la foisonnante branchouille.

Oui, on se prend des accroches et encore des accroches. Des vers d’oreille squattent les pavillons auditifs, on se gave de tant d’évocations directes pour ne pas dire imitations. Prenez So Long London ou I Can Fix It et pensez un tantinet à l’amie de T-swizzle (a-t-on observé au Grammys), la grande Lana Del Rey qui, elle, a un véritable angle d’attaque. De la poésie chez Taylor ? Ouais… peut-être parfois mais, généralement, on y des façons de faire ruminées, digérées, dupliquées. Cela n’exclut pas les évocations de troubles amoureux passés dont se délectent les fans, on pense à Joe Alwyn dans So Long, London ou Matt Healy (The 1975) dans The Black Dog. 

On écoute, on écoute, encore et toujours cette indie pop /synth pop /americana devenue carrément pop pour le plus vaste marché, prisée par les millions et les millions de swifties qui ne sont pas prêts de freiner l’enrichissement hallucinant de leur impératrice, encore moins remettre en question son règne bien réel.

Tout le contenu 360

Maneige se remet à tourner sur les scènes et sur les platines

Maneige se remet à tourner sur les scènes et sur les platines

Martyn Bootyspoon au Piknic Electronik

Martyn Bootyspoon au Piknic Electronik

Concert Bourgie : Sa Majes-Théotime

Concert Bourgie : Sa Majes-Théotime

Jeremy Gignoux – Odd Stillness

Jeremy Gignoux – Odd Stillness

Ensemble vocal jazz Bémol 9 – Hiatus

Ensemble vocal jazz Bémol 9 – Hiatus

Femmes lyriques d’aujourd’hui : découvrez 3 nouveaux opéras entièrement féminins à Bourgie

Femmes lyriques d’aujourd’hui : découvrez 3 nouveaux opéras entièrement féminins à Bourgie

Sarah Jerrom – Magpie

Sarah Jerrom – Magpie

Festival Classica | La Grande messe des morts de Gossec, peu connue et visionnaire

Festival Classica | La Grande messe des morts de Gossec, peu connue et visionnaire

Le Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble célèbre à Montréal avec la SMCQ

Le Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble célèbre à Montréal avec la SMCQ

Jacques Kuba-Séguin – Parfum no 2

Jacques Kuba-Séguin – Parfum no 2

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : bilan de la programmation après un an d’exil

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : bilan de la programmation après un an d’exil

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : un an après l’incendie, des nouvelles svp!

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : un an après l’incendie, des nouvelles svp!

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Festival Classica | Marc Boucher nous cause de la mouture 2024… et même de la suite !

Festival Classica | Marc Boucher nous cause de la mouture 2024… et même de la suite !

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gee Tee – Prehistoric Chrome

Gee Tee – Prehistoric Chrome

Robert Johnson & Punchdrunks – Surfopiates

Robert Johnson & Punchdrunks – Surfopiates

Quatuor Molinari | Mère et fille nous parlent du programme Nouvelle ère

Quatuor Molinari | Mère et fille nous parlent du programme Nouvelle ère

Pokey Lafarge – Rhumba Country

Pokey Lafarge – Rhumba Country

Violons du Roy | Rêves fantastiques par une nuit de chevaux volants

Violons du Roy | Rêves fantastiques par une nuit de chevaux volants

Les différents masques de Radiant Baby

Les différents masques de Radiant Baby

FIMAV 2024 | Un 16 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 16 mai à Victo

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre